btw for the next Potluck should we have an Outback style BBQ or Hula Theme BBQ :P you know BBQ pig and Roasted Pineapple and stuff
Originally posted by elindra:btw for the next Potluck should we have an Outback style BBQ or Hula Theme BBQ :P you know BBQ pig and Roasted Pineapple and stuff
next potluck when ?
U can always come back for a holiday Rhonda :)
Outback with Ostrict and Veal and Crocodile meat sounds interesting too and Stingray
Originally posted by elindra:btw for the next Potluck should we have an Outback style BBQ or Hula Theme BBQ :P you know BBQ pig and Roasted Pineapple and stuff
where do we find a pit big enough for a whole pig?
Originally posted by Ferret:next potluck when ?
That one need to ask Fat Fat leh
He wanted have one soon instead of end of the yr
Coz for me, the potluck I try to make it a yearly end of the year event
Originally posted by the Bear:where do we find a pit big enough for a whole pig?
well we make do with pig parts :X
And even if we have it at the beach I don't think anyone will appreciate us digging a trench and BBQing a whole suckling pig in there :x
Originally posted by the Bear:where do we find a pit big enough for a whole pig?
probz we just buy it pre cooked ?
That one need to ask Fat Fat lehHe wanted have one soon instead of end of the yr
End of the year? Maybe I return home at the end of the year... ![]()
That one need to ask Fat Fat lehHe wanted have one soon instead of end of the yr
yeah he told me he wanna try for this mth >.<"
i thot it was kind of a rush....
actually i was thinking we could do something end july....
Originally posted by Ferret:yeah he told me he wanna try for this mth >.<"
i thot it was kind of a rush....
Ya lor..............I think if just a normal BBQ ok la
Anything fancy will need lots of planning
Ferret, your dream is really cute.
Sorry, I keep thinking of it, but forgot to comment. ![]()
I dreamt of Club 30 once. I dreamt that some newbie came in and split up the Mods in some petty fight and she then manipulated a few of the Mods to leave Club 30 and set up another forum altogether. And I was so heartbroken I deleted the entire club and cried buckets because ... hell, so much memories in here liao. It's been four years...
Ya lor..............I think if just a normal BBQ ok laAnything fancy will need lots of planning
When I return, let's have a BBQ with satay, lotsa lotsa satay, k? ![]()
I want to eat ngor hiang with everything selected, and lotsa nice chilli sauce and that sweet pink sauce poured over the dark bee hoon with tons of tau geh! *whimpers...
wah piang @@
Ya lor..............I think if just a normal BBQ ok laAnything fancy will need lots of planning
even normal bbq june also a bit the rush =x
ke ke just look at our crab threads...
Originally posted by Ferret:even normal bbq june also a bit the rush =x
ke ke just look at our crab threads...
Ya 1 mth advanced planning
Originally posted by Ferret:probz we just buy it pre cooked ?
i'm imagining the way they cook it in Bali...
stuff the pig with herbs and stuff, sew it up again, barbeque over hot coals on a spit, and basting it with coconut water to seal in the juices.. this means that the slow roast caramelises the sugars in the coconut water, making the seal.. the fat of the pig makes the skin crisp.. and since it's sealed, the melting fat slowly tenderises the meat.. and the juices mixed with the herbs and spices, flavours the meat from the inside...
when cooked, the skin will be crackly and crisp, while the meat will be so tender it'll burst in a juicy explosion of flavour...
mmm....
i wish i can try cooking something like that ![]()
however, it'll take a few hours of cooking and watching the spit..
Originally posted by Rhonda:Ferret, your dream is really cute.
Sorry, I keep thinking of it, but forgot to comment.
I dreamt of Club 30 once. I dreamt that some newbie came in and split up the Mods in some petty fight and she then manipulated a few of the Mods to leave Club 30 and set up another forum altogether. And I was so heartbroken I deleted the entire club and cried buckets because ... hell, so much memories in here liao. It's been four years...
heh, i remembered in the dream that u did a splendid job with the newsletter/mag.
hmmm. Any thoughts on making my dream come true ? ![]()
haiya, why u dream bad things de.
Ya 1 mth advanced planning
yeah, thats why i was thinking end july we could have another get together... mabbe a chalet or a bbq or something... either that or early aug... mabbe 1st-3rd ?
Originally posted by the Bear:i'm imagining the way they cook it in Bali...
stuff the pig with herbs and stuff, sew it up again, barbeque over hot coals on a spit, and basting it with coconut water to seal in the juices.. this means that the slow roast caramelises the sugars in the coconut water, making the seal.. the fat of the pig makes the skin crisp.. and since it's sealed, the melting fat slowly tenderises the meat.. and the juices mixed with the herbs and spices, flavours the meat from the inside...
when cooked, the skin will be crackly and crisp, while the meat will be so tender it'll burst in a juicy explosion of flavour...
mmm....
i wish i can try cooking something like that
however, it'll take a few hours of cooking and watching the spit..
OMG the ultimate Beach BBQ!!!
And we can have clam bake and crab bake and lobster bake too !!!!!!!
just back from 2 meetings and finished reading what I've missed.
Fatum: minimise the drama, and tell your parents lah. wah lau eh. machiam taiwanese melodrama.
Rhonda: I didn't know I was capable of intellectual conversation leh ![]()
Yoda: Gimme your fried oysters!!
Originally posted by Ferret:yeah, thats why i was thinking end july we could have another get together... mabbe a chalet or a bbq or something... either that or early aug... mabbe 1st-3rd ?
Too early la
I was thinking end of year
Get a chalet at Sentosa
I wonder if we can get away with a clam bake ><
Ferret and Bluejuice: I feel your pain. My mother gives me shit about it all the time