Originally posted by the Bear:i wish interest rates would go up here..
the banks pay us crap interest rates while inflation eats away at our savings
they are just taking the cue from the goverment .. which takes your money and lend it back to you for a profit ...
oioi morning folks, and kapow! cpf limit got upped to 106k!
that's to make sure you have enough money for them to take and support other people who'd live longer than you do when the annuity scheme finally comes along ...
which, of course ... is the signal for me to start voting for the opposition, even if it's chee soon juan or a smart chimpanzee ....
I am really hoping for the latter ...
Originally posted by the Bear:i wish interest rates would go up here..
the banks pay us crap interest rates while inflation eats away at our savings
In Oz, unless you have a huge amount of $$$, it's not worth having the $$ sitting in the bank account to earn interest. It will get taxed anyway.
I get annoyed with the way things are run over here. You feel that you get penalised for working hard. That's why there are so many people rather just sit back and do nothing and receive welfare $$ from the government which is paid by our tax money. Big sigh!
exactly, if a pack of dogs comes to contest my GRC i'd still vote for em, and anyways i got a sick feeling that they're gonna cut up my Aljunied GRC in the next election.
back from duty
amazingly my CO was in the office till late yesterday
i will be giving the ass force one last chance before i bring it up to the MP about my issue. The answer they have given is non satisfactory at all.
so i talked to my CO and told him that if i get a crap answer one more time, i'm bringing it to the top (prepare him for being chromed by higher ups). so he told me to write an email, and he will forward it to the top person in charge of this instead of letting some DXO answer. he said if i'm still not happy then its out of his control and i will have to talk to a MP.
mr kopi wots ur issue?
Originally posted by honeymouse:In Oz, unless you have a huge amount of $$$, it's not having the $$ in the bank account to earn interest. It will get taxed anyway.
I get annoyed with the way things are run over here. You feel that you get penalised for working hard. That's why there are so many people rather just sit back and do nothing and receive welfare $$ from the government which is paid by our tax money. Big sigh!
thing about people is that wherever a person is, they'll look across and wish they were the other side...
anyway, when the mad boss is on her medical leave, i'll take a day to figure out some investments... instead of letting that pittance i have in the bank rot away some more
my contract. they are not keeping to their word.
i have to serve a 4 yr bond after my course finishes.
i am given 2 yrs to finish the course.
i finished my course before the given 2 yrs, therefore my bond has to start since i've started work as a qualified technician at that point.
but now they are telling me, even though i'm qualified, i'm still under the 2yrs training period.
WTF? i went to Tsunami relief as a trainee?
they can't give me a good answer except "its policy"
policy? what policy? does that make the paper i signed totally useless?
regarding the 2 years, its like i give u 3 yrs to get your diploma but you get it in 2. what are u gonna do? hang around campus for another year?
gaaawd thats so farked...did the contract states what happen if u finishes before 2 yrs, or else u have nuthin much to argue anyway. even if that's policy...that would be some really screwed up policy!!!
is it just me or most HRs seem to be run by people resembling Catbert?
Originally posted by honeymouse:In Oz, unless you have a huge amount of $$$, it's not worth having the $$ sitting in the bank account to earn interest. It will get taxed anyway.
hey honey, can i come here and sit back and do nothing for retirement..?
my colleagues suggested new zealand if i want to stay in a peaceful farmhouse kinda of environment....calm, peaceful, fresh air....
Originally posted by the Bear:is it just me or most HRs seem to be run by people resembling Catbert?
erm..... ah juice? hahahaha
Originally posted by sebosebo:gaaawd thats so farked...did the contract states what happen if u finishes before 2 yrs, or else u have nuthin much to argue anyway. even if that's policy...that would be some really screwed up policy!!!
the contract states that i have to do teh 4 yr bond after the course finishes
i'm arguing over the fact that my course has finished before 2yrs. so therefore my bond by right should start when my course finishes.
there is no such policy, they made it up so they don't have to change the records.
they are gonna be so surprised that someone isn't gonna accept that kind of answer
Originally posted by kopiosatu:the contract states that i have to do teh 4 yr bond after the course finishes
i'm arguing over the fact that my course has finished before 2yrs. so therefore my bond by right should start when my course finishes.
there is no such policy, they made it up so they don't have to change the records.
they are gonna be so surprised that someone isn't gonna accept that kind of answer
i think it's a dereliction of duty if they don't want to work and lie..
in fact, if they lie in the course of their duties, they can be courtmartialled and thrown in the slammer... that is if they are in uniform..
if they are not, their services can be terminated immediately and some disciplinary action taken against them...
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
hey honey, can i come here and sit back and do nothing for retirement..?my colleagues suggested new zealand if i want to stay in a peaceful farmhouse kinda of environment....calm, peaceful, fresh air....
got money can retire anywhr lor....
Originally posted by tare:
got money can retire anywhr lor....
i aint rich mah...so must find budget country to retire...
har? complete it in 2 yrs they dun wanna let it go?
I think they just wanna keep you... manpower shortage... lol
I want to retire in tahiti .......
but, in a pinch, hawaii, northern california or the oregon coast would do just fine ...
Originally posted by the Bear:i think it's a dereliction of duty if they don't want to work and lie..
in fact, if they lie in the course of their duties, they can be courtmartialled and thrown in the slammer... that is if they are in uniform..
if they are not, their services can be terminated immediately and some disciplinary action taken against them...
even recruitment centre which is fighting for me is fed up with them
ask them where is the market, they will tell u the market is a place to get fish. SMLJ?
hey honey, can i come here and sit back and do nothing for retirement..?my colleagues suggested new zealand if i want to stay in a peaceful farmhouse kinda of environment....calm, peaceful, fresh air....
Like what Tare said, if you have loads of $$, you can choose where you want to stay. Just don't rely on the government/welfare. While you might get help from the government, it's not enough for you to live comfortably given the cost of living is pretty high.
I think it's just like degree
you complete it in 3.5 yrs based on MCs... tat 1/2 yr stay in e Uni campus can flood it?
i aint rich mah...so must find budget country to retire...
thailand would be a good place ....
do what many ang mohs do ...
get a PR from one of those countries that pay you not to work ... retire in a thai beach cottage, line up at the bank once a month for your dole cheque to be remitted, then enjoy for the rest of the month ...
Originally posted by sbst275:har? complete it in 2 yrs they dun wanna let it go?
I think they just wanna keep you... manpower shortage... lol
in their records, it took me 2 yrs to complete the course... so with the bond, its is 6 yrs
i finished my course 7 months ahead of the given time.
the reason is still f*cking stupid. "policy"
hmm mr kopi, contract is black and white, they can argue anyway they want it seems, but is there anyone in the same situation as u? if there is, by all means go blow this up as big as u can man!