Originally posted by sbst275:evening..
hoh hoh hoh MRT ridership hit 52m last month
Now SBS carries 2.682m passengers daily
I was laughing at the Melbourne news just now. Their "Myki" card system, which is Singapore's Transitlink card, took YEARS to develop, and double-digit MILLIONS of investment, and it still cannot be rolled out, needing another two bloody years before it can be used by the public!!
What the hell... very difficult meh? Singapore had it for donkey years liao! They should have sub-contracted the project to Transitlink!
By the time they roll it out, it will be obsolete liao! ![]()
n my cousin actually finished med school!
Waaaah!! Admire! Admire!!
n my cousin actually finished med school!
My cousin is finishing med school on PAP scolarship
The gov will own her till she finish her bond :X
Originally posted by elindra:I think the worst position to be in are the 'New Middle Class' like me and MPB
Coz according to the Government, we are not middle class but with the current living standards, we think otherwise
Actually, you and MPB are living very comfortably.
There are families in Singapore with four mouths to feed and their pay is only about half of yours. Sad...
Originally posted by stellazio:i'm surprised the gahmen actually classed people into different categories..
i thought it was only either ministers and the people.
elite & non elite
My cousin is finishing med school on PAP scolarshipThe gov will own her till she finish her bond :X
At one stage, the govt wanted to stop sponsoring as many female med students because they graduate, marry fellow doctors, and then stop working to be housewives! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:I was laughing at the Melbourne news just now. Their "Myki" card system, which is Singapore's Transitlink card, took YEARS to develop, and double-digit MILLIONS of investment, and it still cannot be rolled out, needing another two bloody years before it can be used by the public!!
What the hell... very difficult meh? Singapore had it for donkey years liao! They should have sub-contracted the project to Transitlink!
By the time they roll it out, it will be obsolete liao!
wat? Magnetic card somemore... ppl alrdy gone into contactless card liao
Originally posted by Rhonda:Actually, you and MPB are living very comfortably.
There are families in Singapore with four mouths to feed and their pay is only about half of yours. Sad...
>.<"
I dunno I think is how they manage their life?
Like my mum she was out of the workforce for like 20 years but she went back with a vengence and she is drawing a very good salary for her age (much much more than HM)
Originally posted by Rhonda:At one stage, the govt wanted to stop sponsoring as many female med students because they graduate, marry fellow doctors, and then stop working to be housewives!
sighz... I still remember e marriage debate many many yrs ago
Originally posted by Rhonda:I was laughing at the Melbourne news just now. Their "Myki" card system, which is Singapore's Transitlink card, took YEARS to develop, and double-digit MILLIONS of investment, and it still cannot be rolled out, needing another two bloody years before it can be used by the public!!
By the time they roll it out, it will be obsolete liao!
their technology is always behind.. i rmb their computer shops still selling those low end comps that have been outdated in singapore since few years back..
what they took years to develop the transitlink card? erm is that the ez link card or the old fare card where u slot into the machine?hahaha
Originally posted by Rhonda:At one stage, the govt wanted to stop sponsoring as many female med students because they graduate, marry fellow doctors, and then stop working to be housewives!
LOL My cousin is studying life sciences
She is going for her PhD now :x
Youngest amongst us and the most accomplished :)
Very very proud of her coz she was a very shy and timid child and was always crying when she had to go to school
LOL My cousin is studying life sciencesShe is going for her PhD now :x
Youngest amongst us and the most accomplished :)
Very very proud of her coz she was a very shy and timid child and was always crying when she had to go to school
wa.. not bad not bad
i went aus a few years back and no, they dont even use the card that we slot into the validator for bus rides..
u gotta queue up bloody ages at a bus stop cos u ride by paying cash
and everyone is so keen on counting out exact change. >.<
Originally posted by stellazio:i'm surprised the gahmen actually classed people into different categories..
i thought it was only either ministers and the people.
Putting people into categories is kinda necessary for social and budgetary planning.
At least, I hope that's what they're doing it for! ![]()
Over here, I have my own categorisation for the populace :
- The Centrelink folks, ie. the too-lazy-to-work unemployed / drug addicts / alcoholics / geng sick folks who tap into the welfare funds;
- The working class taxpayers like me and the majority;
- The filthy rich and richer class.
Speaking of which... I should go check how much taxes I paid this fortnight!
Originally posted by sbst275:
wa.. not bad not bad
I tell u la in my family I am like the most useless :(
I still remember last time before e days of Transitlink magnetic cards as in e OMO days... SBS had installed coin changing machines at all bus interchanges
I have bloody hell paid about AUD1,200 this month in taxes!!!!!!
how come?
dun ever feel in tis manner
why =(
Haaaaar?!! Thought you're doing much better than your bro?
tmr i gotta work at 6am..argh!!...
Facebook can be evil...
Recently, I found a few old old friends, and subsequently, a few other old old friends found me too.
One guy whom I was very very close to, and we would have pak tor'd if not for the fact that he couldn't forget his first love and got reunited with her, is now married to her, and they have two beautiful kids, boy and girl, and they have lived for the past few years in Washington, D.C. and he works for the International Monetary Fund!!! ![]()
When I saw his profile, I burst into tears and told God that He must not love me very much at all!
I wasn't supposed to end up this way... ![]()
Originally posted by stellazio:tmr i gotta work at 6am..argh!!...
Start early, finish early!
Originally posted by Rhonda:
Facebook can be evil...
Recently, I found a few old old friends, and subsequently, a few other old old friends found me too.
One guy whom I was very very close to, and we would have pak tor'd if not for the fact that he couldn't forget his first love and got reunited with her, is now married to her, and they have two beautiful kids, boy and girl, and they have lived for the past few years in Washington, D.C. and he works for the International Monetary Fund!!!
When I saw his profile, I burst into tears and told God that He must not love me very much at all!
I wasn't supposed to end up this way...
well, who knows.. you might end up meeting with a doctor.. just like pilots and stewardess..hahahah..
Actually, come to think of it, most of my old old church friends are doing so very well.
A few of us have migrated! And those who remain in Singapore are married with kids and earning good incomes.
Envious...