Originally posted by littlestream:management courses. not that i wan a promo or anything 'cos i am winding down liao. besides i work from home 3 days in a week. it's almost like working part-time for a full-time salary. but 'cos this bank lah....must have employee or personal development lah. so, gotta take something. aiyoh, they even asked me to take up spanish ah!!!!
Spanish? Why? It's not as if you're living on the TexMex or CalMex border, like jetta...
Originally posted by Rhonda:What classes leh? What what classes??
I'm also working and studying now.
But I seem to have become slower and stupider leh!
wow.....how is it coming along? it's not easy to do both at the same time eh? do u go in as a day student or night?
oh, i doubt. once u get the hang of the juggling both, u will be alright. jia you. ;-)
so, what kind of work schedule do u keep?
Actually, MG, are you aware that I still have not learnt how to drive? ![]()
So what's the use of buying a car now? ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Yo, you think so easy ah?!
Like what mom used to say, "I don't print money, ok!"
Then you're not using the right color laser printer! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Actually, MG, are you aware that I still have not learnt how to drive?
So what's the use of buying a car now?
Didn't know in Aust, as long as you have ppl w/ driving license, they can teach you driving liao
Originally posted by sbst275:MG, you got notice wat e minister said abt e degree tie up?
I'll have to go back and read the linked article...
I still have this nick, it turns out.![]()
Originally posted by littlestream:wow.....how is it coming along? it's not easy to do both at the same time eh? do u go in as a day student or night?
oh, i doubt. once u get the hang of the juggling both, u will be alright. jia you. ;-)
so, what kind of work schedule do u keep?
I'm on this hospital Critical Care Course. I will spend eight weeks in the Cardiac Surgery ward, and then eight weeks in the ICU. Next year, I will be sponsored for a Deakin University Post-Grad Dip. ![]()
Nowadays, I work five 12-hour shifts + attend the course for 2 days in a fortnight. After completion of the course, I think I will be working six 12-hr shifts a fortnight. And in a month, just have to work one 7.6 hr shift to complete the no. of hours I'm contracted to work for. ![]()
hee hee.......actually, the bank has a very strong influence in the latin american market. the biggest canadian bank there. so now, they are encouraging us to take up spanish. actually hor, i handle international projects. although "international", i hardly get stuff for asia pacific. mostly from the caribbean and south america. i tink all you can hear me say will be "si" "si". LOL
Originally posted by SBS2601D:I still have this nick, it turns out.
16/f/lonely?
Originally posted by Rhonda:Actually, MG, are you aware that I still have not learnt how to drive?
So what's the use of buying a car now?
Ya know, I was wondering about that. I couldn't recall if you mentioned you had a license.
Do you intend to get one soon? I'm assuming the driving exam is much easier in Australia than in Singapore.
Originally posted by sbst275:
Didn't know in Aust, as long as you have ppl w/ driving license, they can teach you driving liao
Yeah! But did you also know that in Australia, everyone's busy with their own personal lives or they live too far away to bother meeting, or that their preferred way of spending their leisure is to get pissed drunk in some pub and not to teach their friend how to drive? ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Yeah! But did you also know that in Australia, everyone's busy with their own personal lives or they live too far away to bother meeting, or that their preferred way of spending their leisure is to get pissed drunk in some pub and not to teach their friend how to drive?
I see
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:
Ya know, I was wondering about that. I couldn't recall if you mentioned you had a license.
Do you intend to get one soon? I'm assuming the driving exam is much easier in Australia than in Singapore.
I do intend to get one... but not 'soon'. My priority is to clear all my bills and then beef up savings, so that I can start on the course next year. Once I start, my work hours decrease and income decreases by up to 50%!!!
And this goes on for the duration of the course, which will last the whole year.
Well, actually, eight months or so, to be exact.
However, I am toying wiht the idea of doing just the elective next year whilst saving up, and then taking the course the year after, when I have enough savings to do so.
See how... I do want to get it over and done with.
hee hee........MG.....i answered that question liao.
hey, are you getting loads of rain? :X
*me mysteriously appears in a puff of smoke*
Just got back from jogging.
I brought along that heart rate monitor for field-testing.... works as it says it would. ![]()
The chest strap takes a little getting used to, though.
fudgie... our neighbours caused a stir again
They want PB back... mata rape poor 17 yr old girl... and now tis:
http://thestar.com.my/lifestyle/story.asp?file=/2008/5/31/lifefocus/21411456&sec=lifefocus
Originally posted by Rhonda:Yeah! But did you also know that in Australia, everyone's busy with their own personal lives or they live too far away to bother meeting, or that their preferred way of spending their leisure is to get pissed drunk in some pub and not to teach their friend how to drive?
You could always ask the least drunk of your friends to teach you how to drive. The lessons would be... interesting. ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:I'm on this hospital Critical Care Course. I will spend eight weeks in the Cardiac Surgery ward, and then eight weeks in the ICU. Next year, I will be sponsored for a Deakin University Post-Grad Dip.
Nowadays, I work five 12-hour shifts + attend the course for 2 days in a fortnight. After completion of the course, I think I will be working six 12-hr shifts a fortnight. And in a month, just have to work one 7.6 hr shift to complete the no. of hours I'm contracted to work for.
wow.......good for you, Rhonda *thumbs up* ;-)
i've got many nurse friends here and i enjoy listening to their stories. one lady was with the OP. she shared that one time, a wrong leg was marked for amputation (by someone, not her). fortunately, she double-checked. i tink she said something about the x-ray. like one can either read it as left or right leg. i tot tht was scary.
Originally posted by littlestream:hee hee........MG.....i answered that question liao.
hey, are you getting loads of rain? :X
Yeah, we had a stretch of about 5 days last week when the weather was doing a pretty good impersonation of Seattle, but the past few days have just been absolutely gorgeous.
Originally posted by littlestream:wow.......good for you, Rhonda *thumbs up* ;-)
i've got many nurse friends here and i enjoy listening to their stories. one lady was with the OP. she shared that one time, a wrong leg was marked for amputation (by someone, not her). fortunately, she double-checked. i tink she said something about the x-ray. like one can either read it as left or right leg. i tot tht was scary.
Back in Singapore, I was a student nurse when the surgeons made a mistake on an Indonesian maid. She was meant to have her gall bladder removed but they removed her appendix instead... or was it the other way round... but anyways, it was a terrible mistake. ![]()
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:You could always ask the least drunk of your friends to teach you how to drive. The lessons would be... interesting.
Rhonda's got her priorities right ah. do the papers first ah....i am assuming public transportation in your area is okay? where i live? it is quite necessary to have a car. the bus schedule runs like at every half hour. weekend schedule is worse. at every hour. jia lat. summer okay, but if winter......siong ah...........
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:You could always ask the least drunk of your friends to teach you how to drive. The lessons would be... interesting.
*presses laugh button*
You know what... tomorrow is Day 1 of my four days off work!!
Yippee Yippeeeee!! Wahoo Wahooooo!!! ![]()