Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:
Personally, I dont know what's the need to go the length for a banquet, the only justification seems to be to show something off. Dont ask me what......I haven't reached that stage where I know yet.The cost is enough as a push factor for saying no to this...
No leh there are people who put themselves into debt just for the banquet
Ours was debt free and interest free
We paid up in cash :P
aiyo, now another news of more water safety thingy
pls lor, it's own repsonsibility lor...
Originally posted by sbst275:aiyo, now another news of more water safety thingy
pls lor, it's own repsonsibility lor...
Coz of the SMU student?
I know some ppl want to be 'gungho' and dun wanna wear a life jacket though it's required
Coz of the SMU student?I know some ppl want to be 'gungho' and dun wanna wear a life jacket though it's required
life is your, treasure it responsibly. others are not accountable for you at e end of e day
e Sis also pushed e blame too much
When accidents happen it is always easier to blame it on someone la
I mean they are upset right now so it's kinda understandable
But right now questioning the rules is too late coz it will not bring her brother back also
Coz of the SMU student?I know some ppl want to be 'gungho' and dun wanna wear a life jacket though it's required
You don't want to wear your life jacket? Fine. I respect your decision. Wearing a life jacket is cumbersome, not many people realise that.
BUT
If you fall into the water, and (choi!) drown.....not our parsah.
It doesn't help that to wear a life jacket properly, you need to wear it fairly tightly and thus it restricts your movements a little, but also not to the extent many people claim. If you don't make it tight, you sink and the life jacket floats without you.
You don't want to wear your life jacket? Fine. I respect your decision. Wearing a life jacket is cumbersome, not many people realise that.BUT
It doesn't help that to wear a life jacket properly, you need to wear it fairly tightly and thus it restricts your movements a little, but also not to the extent many people claim. If you don't make it tight, you sink and the life jacket floats without you.
Ya la this is what happened ma
No leh there are people who put themselves into debt just for the banquetOurs was debt free and interest free
We paid up in cash :P
I recall asking my colleague how much it actually costs per head.
The answer: $120.
I coughed up $60.
I'm only drawing an allowance...
Ya la this is what happened ma
Poor CPL Dave......KNN, after his 9 years, I think need to do another 7, because of stealing ammo. And still haven't consider the AWOL charge amongst other things.
Originally posted by elindra:When accidents happen it is always easier to blame it on someone la
I mean they are upset right now so it's kinda understandable
But right now questioning the rules is too late coz it will not bring her brother back also
it's personal neg
I recall asking my colleague how much it actually costs per head.The answer: $120.
I coughed up $60.
I'm only drawing an allowance...
Yrs different case la
If my friend is a student or jobless or my relative is student or jobless even if they give 10 bucks I understand lor and I'm happy they came ma
lets just say, i've co-ordinated weddings and dinners before.
$80 was the minimum i've given....only because I wa also involved in the wedding, helping here and there.
Poor CPL Dave......KNN, after his 9 years, I think need to do another 7, because of stealing ammo. And still haven't consider the AWOL charge amongst other things.
it could have been avoided
I'm going to make my french onion soup /w beef in abit! And... I found this. I know the bacon frenzy thing is long overdue but I think it's a very good idea. Haha.

Bacon cups!
More here, http://www.notmartha.org/archives/2008/02/27/bacon-cups/
Yrs different case laIf my friend is a student or jobless or my relative is student or jobless even if they give 10 bucks I understand lor and I'm happy they came ma
Then it goes back to the question of why have the banquet in the first place?
I know its not all about money.....but then celebrating is not all about money also.
Originally posted by elindra:I don't need expensive toys
Cheap toys like http://www.play.com/Gadgets/Gadgets/4-/5890943/World-Of-Warcraft-Talking-Murloc-Plush-Toy/Product.html make me happy too
LOL
we'll talk to MPB about a Hasselblad H3d II-39 ![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:
it could have been avoided
Some of the hokkien beng very poor thing. Like the NSF on my ship. He faces tremendous pressure and although he has not displayed sucidal tendencies, he has broken down more than once.
Yrs different case laIf my friend is a student or jobless or my relative is student or jobless even if they give 10 bucks I understand lor and I'm happy they came ma
for such friends, i rather do chalet bbq. less trauma for the guests.
i did that for my ROM. it was more comfy then a sit down dinner and i didnt have to worry about me being so fat in a wedding dress.
what spoiled that evening was a call by my ex's ex wife out of the blue to call him and ask him how he is.
it was kinda too coincidence that she should call to tell my hub she kinda went clean and isnt dallying with drugs, alcohol and men......
You don't want to wear your life jacket? Fine. I respect your decision. Wearing a life jacket is cumbersome, not many people realise that.BUT
I do remember putting one on during one of my camp outings in secondary school. Had to wear one, they brought us swimming at one of those quarries in Ubin. I never found it cumbersome or very tight.
Some of the hokkien beng very poor thing. Like the NSF on my ship. He faces tremendous pressure and although he has not displayed sucidal tendencies, he has broken down more than once.
better take note.. cos ppl w/ depression can do anything silly or take matters into their own hands w/o any tell tale sign
bacon ![]()
keiii, the bacon cup looks good. which restaurant can mae those??
i kinda now am craving for tahu telor or the yam bowl dish.
Originally posted by Keii:
I do remember putting one on during one of my camp outings in secondary school. Had to wear one, they brought us swimming at one of those quarries in Ubin. I never found it cumbersome or very tight.
It differs from people to people.
If you have to wear it in the sun and do your stuff, you'll find it a burden.
I do find it a burden when I have to clean my 76mm gun and wear a life-jacket. But I understand that it is for my safety.
Originally posted by Keii:I'm going to make my french onion soup /w beef in abit! And... I found this. I know the bacon frenzy thing is long overdue but I think it's a very good idea. Haha.
Bacon cups!
More here, http://www.notmartha.org/archives/2008/02/27/bacon-cups/
yum!!!
Originally posted by sbst275:
better take note.. cos ppl w/ depression can do anything silly or take matters into their own hands w/o any tell tale sign
x2.
The real shocker was this NSF on my ship who got sent to hospital for panic attack during a routine fire drill.
Apparently he had tolerated quite a bit over the period of the whole day before combusting in a rather spectacular way.