Originally posted by elindra:HUH??? Howard's solution was to 'Pray to the Rain God' for rain?????
Sure or not?????
Pinky, here's the article from THe Age :
Prime Minister John Howard has urged Australians to pray for rain as hard-hit agricultural regions face zero water allocations due to drought.
Mr Howard warned last week that farmers in the Murray-Darling Basin faced having no water for the coming irrigation year unless heavy rain fell in the next six to eight weeks.
On Sunday he said he intended to meet irrigators over coming weeks to discuss the grim situation.
Meanwhile, he encouraged people to seek divine intervention.
"It's very serious, it's unprecedented in my lifetime and I really feel very deeply for the people affected," Mr Howard told ABC Television.
"So we should all, literally and without any irony, pray for rain over the next six to eight weeks."
Mr Howard urged state governments to waive water allocation charges for farmers who would not receive any irrigation water.
He said the federal government would continue to provide exceptional circumstances assistance to farmers and would consider "reasonable extra help" for irrigators.
"We can't underwrite people's incomes ... but we can provide some extra help, and we would also like to see the states kick in a bit," he said.
Final decisions on water allocations will depend on rainfall during the next few weeks.
I woke up too early today for an off day ![]()
HmmmShould be food ma
Singapore is all about food
We already have a Durian
Maybe a Mangosteen now lor so we have the King and Queen of Fruits. Muahahhaha
Speaking of Mangosteen I"m lately hooked on the Mangosteen juice by Marigold? I think it's Marigold....
How about a structure that looks like satay? ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:It was in the local papers, front page!!
I hope it was not annouced on 1st April
LOL
Originally posted by elindra:Rhonda, let's go on a rampage instead of killing ourselves LOL
tis is a much better idea... the rest can go die while i enjoy my life.... ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:
How about a structure that looks like satay?
Dun wan la
I think BBQ Stingray better
I hope it was not annouced on 1st AprilLOL
Perhaps it was originally meant to be released on that date... but the good ol'Aussie efficiency meant that the article was released 22 days late! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Actually, I am wondering what I'm paying high taxes over here for.
Infrastructure SUCKS. Royally sucks. Singapore's infrastructure, by comparison, is truly world-class.
Education... it ain't 'free'. Even for the citizens here, they are all footing heavy HEX debts upon graduation. And the Uni fees in Singapore is spare change compared to the uni fees here, even for citizens.
Healthcare, it sure ain't free cause we have to pay some sorta penalty if we use Medicare and do not have private health cover. And the treasury did some huge miscalculation this year which will see the public system being severely overstretched. Oh joy... nurses will remain in high demand and if resources get stretched to the max, we might see another demonstration for even higher wages.
Don't waste your breath telling that to the deluded gits in SC. ![]()
Originally posted by elindra:Maybe tthey love
lots u never know
Or they might be desperate enough for you to settle down again
the keyword is settle down...
given
age and status, tat would be many yrs later lor...
Pinky, you know what, recently, a leading economist released his findings on Australia's future, warning that if we do not do something about the impending global warming crisis that will befall us, Australia won't be able to survive.
Let's see... that report was released in July 2008... let's see how long it takes for them to respond. ![]()
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Don't waste your breath telling that to the deluded gits in SC.
wah Howard said that in April? Looks like it's a late April Fools' Joke :P
The Gits in SC is still insisting that China is extremely democratic, so much more compared to Singapore and I think they said Malaysia is much more democratic and fair to their citizens too compared to Singapore which is run by despots
Originally posted by Rhonda:Actually, I am wondering what I'm paying high taxes over here for.
Infrastructure SUCKS. Royally sucks. Singapore's infrastructure, by comparison, is truly world-class.
Education... it ain't 'free'. Even for the citizens here, they are all footing heavy HEX debts upon graduation. And the Uni fees in Singapore is spare change compared to the uni fees here, even for citizens.
Healthcare, it sure ain't free cause we have to pay some sorta penalty if we use Medicare and do not have private health cover. And the treasury did some huge miscalculation this year which will see the public system being severely overstretched. Oh joy... nurses will remain in high demand and if resources get stretched to the max, we might see another demonstration for even higher wages.
Uni.. actually many students esp poly grads are kinda 'forced' to go overseas and study ma
HmmmShould be food ma
Singapore is all about food
We already have a Durian
Maybe a Mangosteen now lor so we have the King and Queen of Fruits. Muahahhaha
Speaking of Mangosteen I"m lately hooked on the Mangosteen juice by Marigold? I think it's Marigold...
yes by Marigold
finally one decent juice by them LOL
Speaking of global warming, lots of people now associate it with "Al Gore's lies". It's a real problem but it needs a more credible face.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Don't waste your breath telling that to the deluded gits in SC.
I still say, ship them all on a slow boat to Queensland, transport them via cattle express to Alice Springs, and see them build their own version of Nirvana. ![]()
Provided, they don't die from poisonous snake bites / spider bites / whatever bites before then! ![]()
Oh such glee to see them playing an active part in the food chain and finally becoming a useful member of planet earth! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Perhaps it was originally meant to be released on that date... but the good ol'Aussie efficiency meant that the article was released 22 days late!
erm.... thot only emperiors in ancient china will pray for rain in times of drought >.<
wah Howard said that in April? Looks like it's a late April Fools' Joke :P
The Gits in SC is still insisting that China is extremely democratic, so much more compared to Singapore and I think they said Malaysia is much more democratic and fair to their citizens too compared to Singapore which is run by despots
PRC chap too much things tat dun bother them, yet insist others chap too much on their affairs these days
Anyway they 'feel' PRC got democracy ma.. .even PRC themselves also feel wat
Originally posted by sbst275:yes by Marigold
finally one decent juice by them LOL
Ya it's very very very nice
I never buy Marigold juice but I keep drinking this one after we bought 1 to try
Initially MPB say buy to try and I told him skeptically that it's by Marigold....how good can it be :P
I've like finished a few cartons already ![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:
PRC chap too much things tat dun bother them, yet insist others chap too much on their affairs these daysAnyway they 'feel' PRC got democracy ma.. .even PRC themselves also feel wat
Actually I salute the PRC Gov that they can manage to brainwash the PRC into thinking there is democracy and even the idiots here in SG
if talking abt going green...
some are just using it as slogan...
It's SMRT again. They say go green, their one and only new bus after 7 yrs is green cos it's Euro V... but problem is, for going green, the electronic board displaying bus service number is too small to be seen in comfort...
might as well dun install, lagi go green
wah Howard said that in April? Looks like it's a late April Fools' Joke :PThe Gits in SC is still insisting that China is extremely democratic, so much more compared to Singapore and I think they said Malaysia is much more democratic and fair to their citizens too compared to Singapore which is run by despots
I used to be on their side, until I realised that they were twisting stats, news and even personal tragedies for their agenda. Between the LKY-haters it's just mutual masturbation.
Ya it's very very very niceI never buy Marigold juice but I keep drinking this one after we bought 1 to try
Initially MPB say buy to try and I told him skeptically that it's by Marigold....how good can it be :P
I've like finished a few cartons already
I still only drink juices made by F&N.. haha
Actually I salute the PRC Gov that they can manage to brainwash the PRC into thinking there is democracy and even the idiots here in SG
you know now how SC ppl get their news on our gahmen now?
from SDP webbie ![]()
Ya it's very very very niceI never buy Marigold juice but I keep drinking this one after we bought 1 to try
I've like finished a few cartons already
How much mangosteen stuff is in it, according to the label?
I like the Sunkist pulpy orange juice.
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:i am hungry...munching in baby carrots now...
go for lunch lar