Originally posted by Rhonda:SMRT's train frequency used to be pretty good. However, I keep reading about how bad it has become nowadays.
I just wish they had left a good thing alone.
ever since tat lady from DFS and KL became e CEO of SMRT
SL went back to Singapore recently, and returned to tell me that prices have increased drastically and that it's no longer a pleasure to shop there anymore.
Whenever my Aussie patients ask me about Singapore, I used to tell them that it's a good place to go to for food and shopping and how good our public transport system is.
Now, I don't know what Singapore's selling points are anymore. The last time I returned, I found it way too crowded and didn't enjoy getting jostled about. I also felt a tad breathless with the sweltering crowd of people rushing everywhere. I stood in the middle of the pathway outside the Orchard MRT Station one weekday evening and just got overwhelmed by the sheer number of people, all in a hurry!
I don't think I can return home liao because unknowingly, my pace has slowed down and I've given up on the ratrace and am now used to stopping to smell the roses on a very frequent basis so I guess I can no longer return to SG for good.
I'm sure I'll be rudely shoved out of the way by my fellow Singaporeans! ![]()
I"m still seething over my income tax ![]()
MPB somemore KNS rub it in say he pay more
Fark man
Originally posted by sbst275:to me, increase food prices w/ same portion is still ok
but not w/ both
anyway it isn't just food prices tat gone up, even electricity tariffs has gone up as well... some hawkers just cannot tahan anymore
in fact now it's Singapore Power tat's making profits from electricity tariffs hike
Although I'm not directly affected by the situation in Singapore in any way, I do feel disgruntled at how the govt is handling the situation.
From what you guys have been saying, and from mom's angst, it seems as if the govt is not only unsympathetic, they don't really have their finger on the pulse of the heartlanders and they just aren't listening to the cries of the masses.
So sad. ![]()
Originally posted by elindra:I"m still seething over my income tax
Fark man
maybe it's time to have pinky junior. ![]()
Originally posted by elindra:I"m still seething over my income tax
Fark man
Income tax?
Ah well, it's hard for me to sympathise with you re income tax because you know how much I pay, right?
A Singaporean ex-colleague who visited the week before told me that she pays SGD 90.00 tax annually. That is such a gleeful distant memory! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Although I'm not directly affected by the situation in Singapore in any way, I do feel disgruntled at how the govt is handling the situation.
From what you guys have been saying, and from mom's angst, it seems as if the govt is not only unsympathetic, they don't really have their finger on the pulse of the heartlanders and they just aren't listening to the cries of the masses.
So sad.
you say it correctly
Originally posted by SevenEleven:
maybe it's time to have pinky junior.
hanor.. at least got some tax rebates
joking la
Originally posted by Rhonda:SL went back to Singapore recently, and returned to tell me that prices have increased drastically and that it's no longer a pleasure to shop there anymore.
Whenever my Aussie patients ask me about Singapore, I used to tell them that it's a good place to go to for food and shopping and how good our public transport system is.
Now, I don't know what Singapore's selling points are anymore. The last time I returned, I found it way too crowded and didn't enjoy getting jostled about. I also felt a tad breathless with the sweltering crowd of people rushing everywhere. I stood in the middle of the pathway outside the Orchard MRT Station one weekday evening and just got overwhelmed by the sheer number of people, all in a hurry!
I don't think I can return home liao because unknowingly, my pace has slowed down and I've given up on the ratrace and am now used to stopping to smell the roses on a very frequent basis so I guess I can no longer return to SG for good.
I'm sure I'll be rudely shoved out of the way by my fellow Singaporeans!
I think for non-essentials prices are still reasonable. Depends on what you are shopping for
Even for food around my office there have been no increase in price.
But the crowd is overwhelming
Originally posted by Rhonda:Income tax?
Ah well, it's hard for me to sympathise with you re income tax because you know how much I pay, right?
A Singaporean ex-colleague who visited the week before told me that she pays SGD 90.00 tax annually. That is such a gleeful distant memory!
How is it even possible to pay 90 tax annually
Originally posted by Rhonda:Income tax?
A Singaporean ex-colleague who visited the week before told me that she pays SGD 90.00 tax annually. That is such a gleeful distant memory!
my father pays less in a year than what I pay for in a month in Canada .... ![]()
Originally posted by elindra:I think for non-essentials prices are still reasonable. Depends on what you are shopping for
Even for food around my office there have been no increase in price.
But the crowd is overwhelming
hawkers either you increase price or try to tahan to get more turnover lor
essential items has gone costier tat's true
Awww... this American man adopted a dog from the RSPCA and gave it a good home. He named the dog Maggie, and her favourite toy is a football carcass!
I guess it was once a football that kena bitten and punctured and chewed to bits, until just half of it is left! ![]()
you just need a smart accountant .....
When I was a nurse back in SG a few years back, I paid SGD 60.00.
THAT tells you how bloody 'much' nurses earn! ![]()
Ya lor non-essential item prices about the same
Originally posted by Fatum:you just need a smart accountant .....
oh .... and children are tax breaks too .... ![]()
ah yeah now realise how could diesel prices gone up so sharply
generators :x
Originally posted by Fatum:my father pays less in a year than what I pay for in a month in Canada ....
After my pay increase, every freakin' fortnight, I get about AUD 600.000 deducted from my income!! ![]()
That makes it... more than AUD 31K annually! ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:you just need a smart accountant .....
I think we need one
Our combined income tax is ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:After my pay increase, every freakin' fortnight, I get about AUD 600.000 deducted from my income!!
That makes it... more than AUD 31K annually!
Ok u 're paying more than me and MPB
But still that is in Oz -_-"
I think we need oneOur combined income tax is
But your lifestyle is still cushy despite the high income tax. ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:But your lifestyle is still cushy despite the high income tax.
It looks cushy nia
We been paying off this reno loan and what not though by next year we will have more disposable income
We consider ourselves as middle income folks
We're living in a 4 room HDB nia :P
Ok u 're paying more than me and MPBBut still that is in Oz -_-"
I think wages here are way too high. On top of that, the cost of employee benefits is also high and I can imagine the stress that exerts on employers. I mean, the gross income of an average nurse is equivalent to a manager's pay in Singapore! And there are so many of us! No wonder healthcare is bloody expensive!
That's why my friends and I think that should there be a recession and a drought, Australia will be hard-pressed to survive because the costs of doing business are simply way astronomical! They have absolutely no competitive advantage at all!
It looks cushy niaWe been paying off this reno loan and what not though by next year we will have more disposable income
We consider ourselves as middle income folks
We're living in a 4 room HDB nia :P
Still, a cushy life. ![]()
I know of way more Singaporeans who are struggling. There are too many families with less than your combined income, and they have four mouths to feed... or more. ![]()