Originally posted by cassie:you're up early (relative to rest of world). what's planned for today? you're not working, are you?
I'm always up early in the weekends because I have tennis at 7am..
*me mysteriously appears in a puff of smoke*
Woohoo! I just ran 18km in two hours!
My 2 1/2 hr goal for the AHM is on track!
*me does the robot* ![]()
diam lar
*throws alarm clock at fudgie and goes back to sleep*
*me plays Metallica at full blast* ![]()
off to shoot liao bye bye
Originally posted by fudgester:*me mysteriously appears in a puff of smoke*
Woohoo! I just ran 18km in two hours!
My 2 1/2 hr goal for the AHM is on track!
*me does the robot*
pls dont remind me...i just signed up for the stanchart run. mini run i might add. and yet i still don't have a plan on how to tackle that.
just take it easy, don't stress yourself out
yeah & most important don't push urself too hard for the 1st part otherwise you won't have enough energy for the remaining laps..
sometimes i really do wonder why i do so much physical activites when the rest of the world whines just thinking of 1 sport. it's not that i don't enjoy them.
just do what you feel like doing & don't have to worry so much..
What category is that?
I'm thinking of going for the half-marathon..... but I have to pay $52 for that. ![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:What category is that?
I'm thinking of going for the half-marathon..... but I have to pay $52 for that.
welcome to singapore..![]()
Originally posted by QX179R:welcome to singapore..
It's a ^%^@#$@ rip-off!!!!
I paid just $25 for the AHM leh!
Originally posted by fudgester:What category is that?
I'm thinking of going for the half-marathon..... but I have to pay $52 for that.
i'm doing the women's 10 km - yeah it costs a bomb! $45. my friend signed up for the half and yeah it's $52. neither of us have a stanchart credit card, so nada discount. i guess on the positive side of things, i'm not starting from ground zero like my friend. this is one guy who has never run in his life and only started jogging in early july. aims to do a 10km this month and "hopefully" finish the stanchart half-marathon.
Originally posted by fudgester:It's a ^%^@#$@ rip-off!!!!
I paid just $25 for the AHM leh!
the organizers surely blame it on the cost increase..
i'm doing the women's 10 km - yeah it costs a bomb! $45. my friend signed up for the half and yeah it's $52. neither of us have a stanchart credit card, so nada discount. i guess on the positive side of things, i'm not starting from ground zero like my friend. this is one guy who has never run in his life and only started jogging in early july. aims to do a 10km this month and "hopefully" finish the stanchart half-marathon.
It's in December, right? You have four full months to prepare.
Since you're not starting from ground zero, then that's a good thing. Slowly start from, say, 2.4km and slowly ramp up the distance week by week until you can clear 10km easily.
Since this is your first time running 10km, just aim to finish the race in one piece. Give yourself a reasonable goal - say, finish the race in 1hr 45min.
Try going to websites like runnersworld.com. They should have week-by-week training guides for all sorts of distance races.
:O
Originally posted by QX179R:the organizers surely blame it on the cost increase..
so long as the goodie bag is still available and not filled with cheapo stuff. anyway if you keep your expectations low, you won't be that disappointed. you running as well?
Originally posted by fudgester:It's in December, right? You have four full months to prepare.
Since you're not starting from ground zero, then that's a good thing. Slowly start from, say, 2.4km and slowly ramp up the distance week by week until you can clear 10km easily.
Since this is your first time running 10km, just aim to finish the race in one piece. Give yourself a reasonable goal - say, finish the race in 1hr 45min.
Try going to websites like runnersworld.com. They should have week-by-week training guides for all sorts of distance races.
nope, i did it in 2005 and back then i was doing 10km runs 3-4 times a week. reduce my runs (significantly i might add) last year coz i couldn't feel the ground and was tripping even while walking. but since that problem has been cleared, doing about 1-2 runs a week. the cross trainer and weight training was never outta the pic.
so have you signed up yet?
Originally posted by QX179R:the organizers surely blame it on the cost increase..
To be fair to Stanchart, the SAF has el cheapo labour (i.e. NSFs).
Want to set up the tentages and signages? Just mobilize a couple of battalions.
Need medical support? Get a few units to send their BCS teams with all their equipment.
Overtime pay? Not a chance in hell. Just some off in lieu (which can be written off... grr....)
Still, I balk at paying more than double of what I had to pay for the AHM.
so long as the goodie bag is still available and not filled with cheapo stuff. anyway if you keep your expectations low, you won't be that disappointed. you running as well?
usually goodie bags are filled with those al-cheapo stuffs & I won't be participating, rather do my otot run..
Originally posted by fudgester:To be fair to Stanchart, the SAF has el cheapo labour (i.e. NSFs).
Need medical support? Get a few units to send their BCS teams with all their equipment.
Overtime pay? Not a chance in hell. Just some off in lieu (which can be written off... grr....)
what to do coz SAF mah (Super Active Force)..
Originally posted by fudgester:To be fair to Stanchart, the SAF has el cheapo labour (i.e. NSFs).
or you could just run the route with everyone on that day, unless you want a medal/cert etc. though this could be dangerous coz zero insurance etc. i ran part of the way of the 10km run one year - east coast part track.
Army is a place tat can have a pool of kakis easily at low cost and speed ma
ytd saw kakis at NDP area there, was at Suntec for Garden Festival
anyway AirAsia seem to be owing MAS $$ for airport terminal usage fee
Originally posted by sbst275:Army is a place tat can have a pool of kakis easily at low cost and speed ma
ytd saw kakis at NDP area there, was at Suntec for Garden Festival
anyway AirAsia seem to be owing MAS $$ for airport terminal usage fee
I thought they making more money than SIA or that is what they said last time