Originally posted by Rhonda:
How come you used the sad smiley instead of the angry smiley? Does LF stir shit so often that you become sian liao and no energy to get angry?
its sian x 1000
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
so...av, u thinking of getting a PRC or Viet bride soon?
I'll rather cut off my balls and feed them to a stray dog.
Why no give it to me? I forget to bring them to work this morning lol
Originally posted by Rhonda:Actually, did it occur to you that our ancestors came from China?
In fact, I think most Singaporean Chinese can trace our ancestry to China.
Consider it as a 'restart' of some sort. If the scenario you mentioned does happen, we are just 'refreshing' the Singaporean Chinese population! Harharhar!!
I think no matter what, if we can't get Singaporean Chinese to reproduce, we at least have to do something to keep in the majority.
yah...that's what i meant lor..hey...we chinaporean alloveragain..! ![]()
erh..i cannot trace my ancestry...grandparents passed away before i could ask them...
well, at least, i get to eat my fav xiaolongbao with the influx of chinese...![]()
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
so...av, u thinking of getting a PRC or Viet bride soon?
He said he wants one from Russia or Eastern Europe before.
Originally posted by deathwish:Better still later all go back China and we are back to square 1
it's not so easy to go back China when they are pretty much settled down in SG ......
Originally posted by fudgester:Oh yeah.... I read about that....
Some of the attitude of the kids are downright scary.
It's A$3000 per baby, no questions asked, right?
I think the govt has been considering other ways of doling out the incentive money, including giving the money out in installments in the form of grocery vouchers or baby product vouchers. I think that's more sensible since honeymouse is right about what the young couples tend to splurge the money on.
They either use the money to feed their gambling / drug habits or they buy that LCD or spend it on the Wii and video games. ![]()
There are kids here who go to school hungry and they exist in numbers substantial enough for a charity to be formed to help provide breakfast for them on schooldays. I was appalled to find out about the charity and asked an Aussie colleague, "Why are there kids going to school hungry when there's govt assistance here?!"
She explained that there are moms who get the dole and for the next three days, the family eat like kings, and then the money runs out and they live on scraps until the next dole is paid out. ![]()
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:He said he wants one from Russia or Eastern Europe before.
those are like..super chio man, and they speak English!!
I've got a friend who went that route, he's a happy man. And damn his wife is HOT x 100
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:He said he wants one from Russia or Eastern Europe before.
I think those will just cunningly suffocate him with their humoungous boobies... and then they will collect his CPF money and liquidate his assets and "Buh bye! Thank you very muchy!" fly off to their next 'conquest'! ![]()
Mabbe subsidized food vouchers from NTUC would be a start. But only to be spend on staple diet.
Originally posted by deathwish:Wow all this about babies has me feeling my age >.>
ni diam diam!!!! gggrrr~~~~~
Originally posted by InnoHippo:it's not so easy to go back China when they are pretty much settled down in SG ......
If they are gainfully employed and contributing to Singapore's economy and they aren't criminals, let them stay. ![]()
Originally posted by av98m:Seriously, PRC emmigration is the only way to replenish our population now. Our people certainly are not going to listen to the CB PAP when it comes to getting married and having babies. Even some of my married colleagues with monthly household income exceeding 10k say they can't afford a kid LOL
Actually what they say is true!!!!!
Originally posted by tare:
ni diam diam!!!! gggrrr~~~~~
tare, you need sedation or not? *squirts a few drops of IV sedative through the needle of the syringe...
Originally posted by Rhonda:I think the govt has been considering other ways of doling out the incentive money, including giving the money out in installments in the form of grocery vouchers or baby product vouchers. I think that's more sensible since honeymouse is right about what the young couples tend to splurge the money on.
They either use the money to feed their gambling / drug habits or they buy that LCD or spend it on the Wii and video games.
There are kids here who go to school hungry and they exist in numbers substantial enough for a charity to be formed to help provide breakfast for them on schooldays. I was appalled to find out about the charity and asked an Aussie colleague, "Why are there kids going to school hungry when there's govt assistance here?!"
She explained that there are moms who get the dole and for the next three days, the family eat like kings, and then the money runs out and they live on scraps until the next dole is paid out.
in canada it was drugs .... you know canada's the world's biggest exporter of weed to the US now ? ... ![]()
then they get high, put their babies on a stroller and wander around the streets a 2am at night ... even in winter ! ... -_-
Can't be bah! There are so many families surviving on half that household income!
I guess it depends on whether the kids wear clothes bought from the HDB shops or from Osh Kosh B'Gosh. ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:If they are gainfully employed and contributing to Singapore's economy and they aren't criminals, let them stay.
I'd add, "attempt to integrate with the locals" to that. That's not to say that we aren't cliquish ourselves when we go abroad.
yeah..if they wish to maintain a certain standard of living. after all, work so hard must enjoy life. who cares about replenishing the population.
My parents started to dig back their roots in China after my Grandfather's death
He kept his family in China from us due to a hell lot of reasons which came to light after he passed away.
Originally posted by Rhonda:If they are gainfully employed and contributing to Singapore's economy and they aren't criminals, let them stay.
at least av no need to pay for air tickets to get them overseas.
can local pick them liao..![]()
Can't be bah! There are so many families surviving on half that household income!
I guess it depends on whether the kids wear clothes bought from the HDB shops or from Osh Kosh B'Gosh.
i agree
Originally posted by Fatum:in canada it was drugs .... you know canada's the world's biggest exporter of weed to the US now ? ...
then they get high, put their babies on a stroller and wander around the streets a 2am at night ... even in winter ! ... -_-
I hope they at least have the cow sense to keep their babies warm because it's so easy for the tiny tot to get pneumonia! ![]()
I've seen two drugged up couples on the trams on separate occasions. They looked dirty and worse, their babies were dressed in filthy clothes with old old food stains!!
I wanted to smack them silly and grab their babies to take care of them myself! First thing I'd do is give them a good bath and put them into nice, clean clothes!
What a horrid existence, poor babies! ![]()
I guess it depends on whether the kids wear clothes bought from the HDB shops or from Osh Kosh B'Gosh.
having kids = drastic fall in standard of living and quality of life.
unless of course you're making minister salary.
Do you know the sacrifices you have to make to have a child!!
Your lifestyle changed a lot and no more dining at fancy resturants every other day
Nor the shopping on buying things you want immediately coz you need to think of the child's education fund etc
So no at 10k combined income it is impossible to have a child while maintaining the lifestyle you want