Originally posted by the Bear:wah lau eh..
but there's a weekend for The Fear to set in..
monday will be panic..
Hopefully, the bailout talks, which are scheduled to resume today, will produce some positive results and help to allay investor fears, thereby preventing another round of panic selling come Monday.
Hopefully...
Dupe deleted.... gomen!
there's another meeting today .... there's got to be an agreement ....
if there is ... monday first thing may be a good time to pick up some pieces .....
I may go pick up some myself ..... I've been shafted recently ....
Originally posted by Fatum:there's another meeting today .... there's got to be an agreement ....
if there is ... monday first thing may be a good time to pick up some pieces .....
I may go pick up some myself ..... I've been shafted recently ....
Shafted? What happened, if you don't mind my asking?
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Shafted? What happened, if you don't mind my asking?
what else ? ...
I offloaded a lot when it's right down ... and missed out when it picked up .....
my parents did better .... they hold onto stuff long term .... and resisted the initial panic ....
there's got to be an agreement ..... this is liquidity that i can barely afford at this time ...
but i was speaking to my banker buds at the pub the other night .... this is going to be a long and cold winter regardless of what happens .... AIG probably wouldn't last out the decade even if it survives for now .....
Originally posted by Fatum:what else ? ...
I offloaded a lot when it's right down ... and missed out when it picked up .....
my parents did better .... they hold onto stuff long term .... and resisted the initial panic ....
there's got to be an agreement ..... this is liquidity that i can barely afford at this time ...
but i was speaking to my banker buds at the pub the other night .... this is going to be a long and cold winter regardless of what happens .... AIG probably wouldn't last out the decade even if it survives for now .....
Ouch! Sorry to hear that, dude. But don't be too hard on yourself, as you're in the same boat as others who dumped their stocks in a fit of panic selling. If it helps, think of the present depressed market as a buying opportunity!
My 401(k) retirement savings have collectively lost about 15% of their value since the beginning of this year, so you'll understand if I'm watching the market with more than just a bit of trepidation...
Originally posted by Fatum:what else ? ...
so it might be a good idea to dump my long term policy with AIA and forfeit what I've paid up instead of throwing good money after the bad? ![]()
and keep only my term policies?
Originally posted by av98m:so it might be a good idea to dump my long term policy with AIA and forfeit what I've paid up instead of throwing good money after the bad?
and keep only my term policies?
think of it this way ..... who else would sign up with AIG as new customers now ? .....
this affects the way they can raise new funds ..... moody's downrated them ... they are now one notch above banana republic banks .... what do you think ? ....
however, i cannot tell you wat to do with your policies .... cos nobody knows how they'd go out ......
I know an AIA agent ... a friend of mine .... who just changed his hp number today ... one can only guess why ....
Sounds like a buying opportunity for Temasek Holdings. Paging Ho Ching, paging Ho Ching!
Originally posted by Fatum:think of it this way ..... who else would sign up with AIG as new customers now ? .....
this affects the way they can raise new funds ..... moody's downrated them ... they are now one notch above banana republic banks .... what do you think ? ....
however, i cannot tell you wat to do with your policies .... cos nobody knows how they'd go out ......
I know an AIA agent ... a friend of mine .... who just changed his hp number today ... one can only guess why ....
crap ![]()
I have to go think this over.
it sure doesn't help that other insurance companies like ntuc income and great eastern life fucking suck.
F1 Free Practice on TV
Originally posted by Fatum:think of it this way ..... who else would sign up with AIG as new customers now ? .....
mrs seveneleven's agent called her to dump all the investment she has with AIA. She did that. fortunately of the 3 investment, 2 is still postive while 1 is in the red. She still make some money from the CPF investment
Originally posted by av98m:crap
I have to go think this over.
it sure doesn't help that other insurance companies like ntuc income and great eastern life fucking suck.
scary huh? even banks can turn turtle
hmmm.
Originally posted by SevenEleven:
scary huh? even banks can turn turtle
crap, I also have investments with AIA. however I'm less worried about those as I'll die before I can collect my CPF anyway. ![]()
Sweden faced this before.. the beat it.. by doing what the US is refusing to do...
crap, I also have investments with AIA. however I'm less worried about those as I'll die before I can collect my CPF anyway.
What? You mean you're not planning on living past 80? ![]()
anyway, this shitstorm must have all the property developers owning unsold units being built right now shitting bricks! not to mention the speculators who bought units hoping to sell for profit!
time to look out for cheap bargains bear! ![]()
back home!
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:
What? You mean you're not planning on living past 80?
I'm not even confident of living past 40. ![]()
Originally posted by cassie:back home!
hooray! had dinner?
I'm not even confident of living past 40.
Originally posted by av98m:anyway, this shitstorm must have all the property developers owning unsold units being built right now shitting bricks! not to mention the speculators who bought units hoping to sell for profit!
time to look out for cheap bargains bear!
yeah.. i put my folks on it.. and they put their cronies on it too ![]()
hooray! had dinner?
as i'm surfing here, checking emails etc. you? how was jappy?
dinner at that cozy little restaurant is always good. made the disturbing discovery that there are now prc staff in the kitchen but hey, the service and the food is still as good. ![]()
had a nice hot bowl of udon, followed by a dish of stewed potatos, carrots, meat and chopped spring onion, gyoza, rice, and miso soup with bean curd and mushroom and seaweed. simple and hearty food.