Originally posted by elindra:I wonder did they get the inspiration from this Travel & Living section on TV lehOver there there was this section I happened to watch where parents in China meet up in parks to matchmake their children >.<"And in other news I think men these days are cluckier than womenWe were talking about the stupid incentives for more childrenWe were saying that's dumb coz which company will wanna hire women with the longer maternity leaveAnd also the money they give it's for those people who don't see very far >.<"
The PM apparently mentioned that anecdote in his speech.
i finished 10km this morning too! er, you walked in mid day? how's the weather holding up? it's spring, right?
Yes, weather is warming up... nice and sunny, max 15 deg today. Nice day for a walk. 2 of my colleagues usually go for a walk at lunch time and I thought I tagged along today. I might start doing that from now on since weather is getting better. I need the exercise! ![]()
Originally posted by SevenEleven:
go for it. not just for the baby bonuses. It's fun and fullfilling
anyway my jogging is still stuck at 4-5 km =(
Originally posted by elindra:OMG this is a nightmare
80 parents turn up for first matchmaking session at Hong Lim Park
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/cna/20080907/tap-355-80-parents-turn-matchmaking-sess-231650b.html
Channel NewsAsia - Monday, September 8
SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong first mooted the idea in his National Day Rally Chinese speech.
And now, for the first time in Singapore, dating agency Clique Wise has organised a matchmaking session, aimed solely at the parents.The usually quiet Hong Lim Park was bustling with activity, as over 80 eager parents turned up for the matchmaking party.
They may be camera—shy, but when it comes to finding a spouse for their child, they are anything but coy.
One parent said: "A girl normally is very shy, and more cautious than a boy. And so the parents should make the first move and you know, nudge her along."
When asked whether their daughter knew of their presence there, another parent said: "I told her, and she didn’t react, just gave her silent consent."
So it’s the daughters, it seems, who need help the most.
And these parents certainly came prepared — exchanging personal information such as job and educational histories, contact details, and photographs.
Most have children who are degree—holders in their mid—20s and 30s.
Organisers say the response had gone beyond their own expectations, and they are planning to hold more of such events in the future. — CNA/de
comparing this to them encouraging to have babies, you're lucky. hmm...i wonder would my children need such help too?
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:The PM apparently mentioned that anecdote in his speech.
we have a group of advanced bootlickers.....i mean entrepurners ![]()
Originally posted by SevenEleven:comparing this to them encouraging to have babies, you're lucky. hmm...i wonder would my children need such help too?
Originally posted by hisoka:
you could try for little miss 7-11. 19 le right? =X
nah....i don't want to have to feel another mouth
*kills Hisk*This is the unfortunate part that came along with the other parts which I knew I wanted
*presses laugh button* ![]()
go for it. not just for the baby bonuses. It's fun and fullfilling
-_-"
I already have problems taking care of myself
hmm...I think I'd die if I tried to run 10km ![]()
Originally posted by Ferret:dunch chiu mean a 6km... scamper ?
me think Fer fer has played too much mousehunt.....
they say the children at the match making session are mostly mid-20s and 30s mah. should be pretty independent le
yeah! right.
"Daddy, I want an ipod."
Originally posted by SevenEleven:comparing this to them encouraging to have babies, you're lucky. hmm...i wonder would my children need such help too?
The most KNS thing is that my dad can say give me a grandchild to play with but dun ask me look after
KNS man
My auntie was saying like that dun wan better. Just wanna play but dun wan look after. Lulz
actually i doubt most pple know what they really want in a partner anyway. I mean yeah every one has this list of what they want : rich, pretty, nice, smart, etc. But what are they really looking for..............
nearly all my married colleagues told me they ended up marrying people quite different from their original requirements![]()
nearly all my married colleagues told me they ended up marrying people quite different from their original requirements
Well I had tall dark and handsome and fit in my ideal
But now I have someone tall dark and handsome and cuddly -_-
-_-"I already have problems taking care of myself
what problem? cut down on unnecessary expenses. go for house brand goods, eat at kopi-tiam, share household workload with MPB. Adjust! there's a saying " 船 到 矫 头 自然 值"
Originally posted by av98m:hmm...I think I'd die if I tried to run 10km
you wont lar! my friend who started jogging/running 2 months back already finished one 10km run last month. he's more gung ho...aiming for 21km at the stanchart and 42km next year.
The most KNS thing is that my dad can say give me a grandchild to play with but dun ask me look afterKNS man
My auntie was saying like that dun wan better. Just wanna play but dun wan look after. Lulz
i'm just guilty of that
but mrs seveneleven has the overwriting power ![]()
i can't seem to do that. been stuckat 4+ km since forever.......
then you should just go for the 5km runs...maybe askl AV to tag along with you.
what problem? cut down on unnecessary expenses. go for house brand goods, eat at kopi-tiam, share household workload with MPB. Adjust! there's a saying " 船 到 矫 头 自然 值"
-_-"
That is the thing lor
Have kid have to make sacrifices on lifestyle >.<"
Plus hor now the spare room meant for the kid is now filled with our luggage and MPB's toys aka his RC planes, fishing rods etc
Housebrand not everything is good la. Some things we buy the housebrand coz I'm sure of the quality. Other things I dun lor.
nearly all my married colleagues told me they ended up marrying people quite different from their original requirements
er....requirement? pls elaborate.
omg, this weekend can die lah
saturday whole day got shoot, because have to squeeze 2 concepts in one day.
sunday another shoot, but half day.
then have to process both sets of photos before i leave for BKK on the 18th!
that's 2 days for post processing!!!! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGH!
-_-"That is the thing lor
Have kid have to make sacrifices on lifestyle >.<"
Plus hor now the spare room meant for the kid is now filled with our luggage and MPB's toys aka his RC planes, fishing rods etc
Housebrand not everything is good la. Some things we buy the housebrand coz I'm sure of the quality. Other things I dun lor.
so true about housebrands...once i bought the watson's hand cream coz it was cheap. it's was more like buying white-coloured water.