Most domestic stoves do not have enough 'firepower' laThe biggest flame I have at home is no match for the ones outside at all
No way to get the huo wei out
If you invest in those huge-ass ones like those pro-series types from Viking, then yes, you will get the BTU's BUT, I'm sure that Singapore being Singapore, it won't be too long before HDB knocks on your door saying that it's some kinda fire hazard or what-not! ![]()
I don't think I can handle high 'firepower' either... it'll probably scare the bejesus outta me! ![]()
Originally posted by SevenEleven:
when was the last time i went the kitchen??? I used to make paperbag chicken for the kids.
What is paperbag chicken?
Originally posted by Rhonda:I used to love Goodwood Hotel's Porridge Buffet... all the giam giam stuff go so well with porridge! Everything you have mentioned, and even the salted black beans too!
I love the porridge you can get at those 24-hr stalls too, like the one near some Bt Batok or something MRT Station and the ones near Tiong Bahru.
yes....salted black bean with deep fried promfet.....salted black beans with mince meat.....salted black beans with bitter gourd and bak kut....slated black beans with fish meat/fish head.....
such food bring back childhood memories
Originally posted by honeymouse:What is paperbag chicken?
marinated chicken in tracing paper and you deep fried them
Originally posted by honeymouse:Ya... I think the "firepower" makes a big difference in the food flavour.
Tremendous! If the 'firepower' is massive enough, you can 'flash-fry' food so that the exterior is quickly cooked, sealing in the juices of the meat and yet, the overall meat is cooked both inside and outside... 'ping2 jun1'. ![]()
Siiiigh... so sad that I've finished watching Da Chang Jing this morning... loved to watch them prepare food in the kitchens!
Originally posted by honeymouse:What is paperbag chicken?
Zhi3 Bao1 Ji1 in Mandarin or Ji2 Bao1 Gai1 in Cantonese.
Hmm... I guess the Hokkien will be Zhua4 Bao1 Gway1!!
&-11 u tried the paper chicken at this place near Maju camp just before SIM? They have really nice paper chicken
Honeymousey, we can prepare more interesting things to grill on your BBQ! Like, pandan chicken, sambal sting ray, and even Korean Bulgolgi although for the latter, we'll need a tin foil tray, unless your BBQ stove comes with a griddle.
Originally posted by Rhonda:Tremendous! If the 'firepower' is massive enough, you can 'flash-fry' food so that the exterior is quickly cooked, sealing in the juices of the meat and yet, the overall meat is cooked both inside and outside... 'ping2 jun1'.
Siiiigh... so sad that I've finished watching Da Chang Jing this morning... loved to watch them prepare food in the kitchens!
My dad actually installed that special gadget at home for my mum so my mum's cooking tastes like those from restaurants.
So how long did you take to complete the Da Chang Jing?
I like teriyaki salmon at BBQs :x
Originally posted by deathwish:&-11 u tried the paper chicken at this place near Maju camp just before SIM? They have really nice paper chicken
the one near Ngee Ann Poly or the one at bus terminal? I go for the cheaper one in Changi Village. $2 per bag. If you add "Hua Diao" into the chicken, you can eat the fragance of the Hua Diao too...XO would even be better!
marinated chicken in tracing paper and you deep fried them
So you actually fried the paper too? Can you use baking paper?
Originally posted by Rhonda:Honeymousey, we can prepare more interesting things to grill on your BBQ! Like, pandan chicken, sambal sting ray, and even Korean Bulgolgi although for the latter, we'll need a tin foil tray, unless your BBQ stove comes with a griddle.
How do you make pandan chicken and where do we get sting ray?
the one near Ngee Ann Poly or the one at bus terminal? I go for the cheaper one in Changi Village. $2 per bag. If you add "Hua Diao" into the chicken, you can eat the fragance of the Hua Diao too...XO would even be better!
Where at Changi Village?
I prefer the fragrance of Hua Diao leh!!!
Originally posted by honeymouse:So you actually fried the paper too? Can you use baking paper?
Baking paper maybe not... cause it has a layer of greaseproof material on it which may prevent the oil from permeating it thoroughly. Not sure, have never tried it yet, but just guessing.
Originally posted by honeymouse:So you actually fried the paper too? Can you use baking paper?
yes....fried the paper too. so long if the paper don't burn, i think that's OK. Last time mrs seveneleven insisted on using glue when i use stapler to put them together. stapler is easier.glue is too much work
Where at Changi Village?I prefer the fragrance of Hua Diao leh!!!
one hor fan stall at the end of the market.
Originally posted by honeymouse:How do you make pandan chicken and where do we get sting ray?
Sting Ray is seasonal here, I think. I've seen it before in Victoria St seafood shops near my place. Not all the time though. I'm sure Boxhill or Glen Waverly would have them too.
The banana leaves for the Sambal Sting Ray would be easy to get.
Pandan chicken, have to marinade first, then cut the pandan leaves and fold around the chicken. Never done it before, but game to try. Maybe have to slice the chicken flesh differently and fold a bit differently cause we won't be deep-frying it but will be grilling it instead and we want it to cook throughly without getting burnt.
yes....fried the paper too. so long if the paper don't burn, i think that's OK. Last time mrs seveneleven insisted on using glue when i use stapler to put them together. stapler is easier.glue is too much work
Huh.. glue in the food? ![]()
Originally posted by honeymouse:Huh.. glue in the food?
glue the paper bag
Originally posted by honeymouse:My dad actually installed that special gadget at home for my mum so my mum's cooking tastes like those from restaurants.
So how long did you take to complete the Da Chang Jing?
Hmm... think took me slightly less than a week to watch it, not counting my days at work.
glue the paper bag
I hope you meant cornstarch 'glue' and not adhesives glue! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Hmm... think took me slightly less than a week to watch it, not counting my days at work.
From Episode 1? As far as I know... that's a super long series...
Ngee Ann poly that 1 damn shiok
Originally posted by Rhonda:I hope you meant cornstarch 'glue' and not adhesives glue!
yes...cooked corn-starch glue. god...i must be ageing...all these food brings back childhood memories. Nowaday all the food at home taste so blend....low salt....less oil....steam in preferance to fried....
haiz...