Originally posted by the Bear:i'm cynical about cynics...
Well, I look around me and at what's happening in the world...and I don't trust people, including myself, to do the right thing anymore.
Originally posted by Fatum:posted this last night ..... I thought I saw a crazy ang moh ......
and yes ... it turned out to be another mad british .......
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/in_depth/7656537.stm
Y'know, in my course of work as a nurse, it astounds me how many people are walking around with borderline personality disorders, eg. Anxiety Attacks, Panic Disorders, Body Dysmorphic Disorders, Borderline Mania and Psychosis, etc that may be inherited, a result of drug abuse or ethanol abuse, or in Singapore's case, the sad result of living in a ratrace culture since young.
These people are 'normal', but may snap at any minute. They are like tightly-strung wires that may just snap at the tension one fine day without warning.
Dealing with these people is incredibly incredibly stressful and exhausting. Sometimes, my colleagues and I say, "Oh no... not yet another nut case!" ![]()
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Well, I look around me and at what's happening in the world...and I don't trust people, including myself, to do the right thing anymore.
I totally empathise.
but....who is to say what is the 'right' thing and what is the 'wrong' thing....??
at the end of the day, no matter what it is that you do, there will be people who say that it is right. and there will be people who say that it is wrong.
mehhhhh....-.-
Originally posted by udontknowme:but....who is to say what is the 'right' thing and what is the 'wrong' thing....??
at the end of the day, no matter what it is that you do, there will be people who say that it is right. and there will be people who say that it is wrong.
mehhhhh....-.-
There are certain things that are definitely right or definitely wrong.
For instance, giving up your seat on the bus / train / tram for an elderly / pregnant person - definitely right.
Torturing pets - definitely wrong.
u know rhonda. that's why i hate seeing doctors or any sort.
because i hate knowing that there is a slight possibility that i might be the joke/discussion topic at their dinner table that night. or the night after. or whichever night it is that people require 'entertainment'......
i mean...i had this psych prof. and he's a psychologist by day, prof by night. a great guy. but in class, he will sometimes give examples. and the person he's telling us about most probably won't know that people are discussing abt him in class. but....then i started thinking...what if...pple started to discuss about me like that in class one day too??
and stuff that you tell doctors are usually/sometimes relatively private >.<
Originally posted by udontknowme:hmm.....yeahh...hope they'll lemme donate. tsk.
fatum! did you ever donate blood while you were in school in Canada?? The blood bank is coming to my school on thursday....=P
yes I did .... I think they were suspicious about me, cos I have no medical history in canada ......
and they use a bigger needle (so it seemed to me) in canada too ....
do you have a provincial health card ? .....
'Right' is too vague then...the word should be 'responsible'. We may not agree on the course of action but there are people who remain completely apathetic towards the environment and favour "growth" instead, manipulate others for their own gain, do not practise graciousness if it doesn't seem to benefit them, and so on.
Originally posted by udontknowme:u know rhonda. that's why i hate seeing doctors or any sort.
because i hate knowing that there is a slight possibility that i might be the joke/discussion topic at their dinner table that night. or the night after. or whichever night it is that people require 'entertainment'......
i mean...i had this psych prof. and he's a psychologist by day, prof by night. a great guy. but in class, he will sometimes give examples. and the person he's telling us about most probably won't know that people are discussing abt him in class. but....then i started thinking...what if...pple started to discuss about me like that in class one day too??
and stuff that you tell doctors are usually/sometimes relatively private >.<
It's a way of dealing with the stress of the profession. Kinda like some patients think that surgeons should not listen to music whilst operating, but when I did my attachment in the Operating Theatres, I realised how strenuous it was for the surgeons to keep that level of concentration for that many hours at a stretch and so, whatever turns them on!
Confidentiality is still maintained because the people remain 'faceless'. It used to bother me until I realised that hell, gossipping is a very natural part of life. It's inevitable that we talk about one another. That's part of what life is all about. The daily grind is sometimes proferred a little lubricant in the way of pleasant diversions like gossips, analogies, anecdotes, etc, all of which involve some unfortunate person or other.
Someone out there is the subject of my jokes, just like I am the subject of someone else's jokes.
I'm no longer sensitive to such issues. I can imagine how certain patients / colleagues will talk about me. *winces and squirms... but hell, it goes both ways!
Sometimes, I think, "Hell, they must think I'm a paranoid schizophrenic!", guffaw about it for a while, then move on to the next interesting thing. ![]()
I'm sure teachers talk about (and curse) certain students behind their backs .... ![]()
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:'Right' is too vague then...the word should be 'responsible'. We may not agree on the course of action but there are people who remain completely apathetic towards the environment and favour "growth" instead, manipulate others for their own gain, do not practise graciousness if it doesn't seem to benefit them, and so on.
Well said, KB! ![]()
Just like some people think, "High EQ" whilst others think, "Darn Faker and Hypocrite"!
Different strokes for different folks, and that's why birds of a feather inevitably flock together.
I dun know why but i just can't act naturally whenever i'm with a girl i'm interested in.....
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Morning...
Perhaps I've become cynical, but I think relationships are overrated.
KB, I was mulling over what you said...
I think a lot of situations, we find that people get into relationships because of boredom / fear of loneliness and they just really want someone to do thing and go places with.
It's very interesting to sit back and analyze the various types of relationships that people embark on around us.
I think the one uniting primary factor amongst it all is the fear of growing old alone. That fear alone drives certain people to resort to seemingly really amusing and interesting choices and decisions. ![]()
Originally posted by deathwish:I dun know why but i just can't act naturally whenever i'm with a girl i'm interested in.....
Poor thing... because you become self-conscious mah! You wonder how she's judging you, whether she will like you or not, etc. That's why you cannot act natural. ![]()
Don't worry... when I'm in the presence of a guy I like, I also cannot act natural. ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:
Well said, KB!
Just like some people think, "High EQ" whilst others think, "Darn Faker and Hypocrite"!
Different strokes for different folks, and that's why birds of a feather inevitably flock together.
assholes flock together eh ......
I noticed that pricks and bitches have a habit of getting together ...... but if one half is a softhearted, easy going darling, the other would be too ..... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:I'm sure teachers talk about (and curse) certain students behind their backs ....
As much as students talk about and curse certain teachers behind their backs!
It's a merry-go-round world we live in! ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:yes I did .... I think they were suspicious about me, cos I have no medical history in canada ......
and they use a bigger needle (so it seemed to me) in canada too ....
do you have a provincial health card ? .....
of course i do!!
Nova Scotia ones look pretty darn good too!! hahahaha. =P
other than the fact that i was born here, i don't exactly have any medical history here either. hohoho~~
which brings us to the thought .....
so to be in a successful relationship, the underlying character of both parties must be similar ? ....
Originally posted by Fatum:assholes flock together eh ......
I noticed that pricks and bitches have a habit of getting together ...... but if one half is a softhearted, easy going darling, the other would be too .....
Not true leh!
I've seen nice girls stuck with abusive bastards and good men stuck with demanding, selfish, manipulative bitches.
Depends on what we subconsciously look for, I guess! ![]()
yah.
i know of this professor here (not in my school) who teaches art. and she is always complaining about students with 'mental illnesses' like ADHD etcetc. and she'd tell me things like 'i wish i could keep her in a box' -.-
that's realll nice... >.<
Originally posted by Fatum:which brings us to the thought .....
so to be in a successful relationship, the underlying character of both parties must be similar ? ....
Nope. Egad, if I had to be with someone of similar character, one of us will die first but before that, there will be a prolonged, bloody battle! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Poor thing... because you become self-conscious mah! You wonder how she's judging you, whether she will like you or not, etc. That's why you cannot act natural.
Don't worry... when I'm in the presence of a guy I like, I also cannot act natural.
Haha i think i need to nurture an ego >.<
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:'Right' is too vague then...the word should be 'responsible'. We may not agree on the course of action but there are people who remain completely apathetic towards the environment and favour "growth" instead, manipulate others for their own gain, do not practise graciousness if it doesn't seem to benefit them, and so on.
what if...just...maybe perhaps what if...they really actually DO think that what they are doing is right...???? even if in this society it is 'wrong'...?
i mean. there are all kinds of people around in this world. and i won't be surprised if there are people who very honestly believe that they are better and should be treated better, be given more priviledges etcetc. (though i think in North American, they'd be labelled as mentally unstable) >.<
Originally posted by udontknowme:yah.
i know of this professor here (not in my school) who teaches art. and she is always complaining about students with 'mental illnesses' like ADHD etcetc. and she'd tell me things like 'i wish i could keep her in a box' -.-
that's realll nice... >.<
To be honest ah, dealing with such people is really really strenuous. At some point, you become so desperate to get away from them or for them to just bloody shut up that you start to get a bit scared about what you are actually capable of saying or doing. ![]()
That's why it's so important in my workplace to have cooperative colleagues. I have a small group of friends now and we 'cover' for each other. When we see one of us building up to boiling point, we go over to help relieve them for a while. Selective teamwork. ![]()
Originally posted by deathwish:Haha i think i need to nurture an ego >.<
Just need to slowly build up confidence.
You'll find that the minute you are no longer sensitive to other people's comments about you, and you are no longer afraid of being alone, you will achieve true confidence. ![]()