Originally posted by udontknowme:bread
toast it
spread with LOTS of mayo
top with chunky salsa
i now know what heaven is
Mayo is lovely!!
Whole egg mayo... mmmmmmMMMMMmmmm!!! ![]()
I remember when I was a teen, I got a couple of professional cooking mags from a 2nd-hand bookstore. A lot of the featured cuisine very atas type, like Terrines, Rabbit, Poached Fish that's first cooked in that fish-shaped metal container and then decorated to the nines, Rack of Lamb nicely arranged in a ring...
I was sooo fascinated with a particular recipe that showed how to make REAL mayo! Ooooh!!
Originally posted by Rhonda:Depends. If already lao a lot in a short period of time, will definitely take Lomotil or Activated Charcoal or Dhamotil to stop it. How many times liao? Over how long a period?
I don't know if it's available OTC in Singapore pharmacies but there is a powder that one can mix into a drink to replace the electrolytes and minerals lost during continuous bouts of diarrhoea.
ok it's not me
I ended up gotta take my neighbour's kid to A&E cos his diahorrea didn't stop after 3 days even on MC period... It sounded my alarm bell of dehydration and at e same time his folks was not at home.. apparently he has been having diahorrea since Sunday night
at e A&E, he showed those pills e camp doc (he's in NS now) prescribed to e A&E doc.... apparently heard from him is tat e A&E doc immediately told him to stop eating those pills after seeing it cos it just slowen down stomach movement which they find is no good cos it just lengthen e diahorrea
ended up e A&E there prescribed him charcoal pills + rehydration salt
I got e name of e pills from him as well
but my lunch gotta be rice or noodle staple
ok ok Rhonda....my inklish sucked nowadays.
But yah. its irritating talking to people who must insist they are of certain nationality.
Like a indian boy telling me he is british citizen.
i did made a boo boo about it because he is not actually indian. he is actually sri lankanian.
And sri lankanian is british citizen.
then there is also another chap who claims to be a angmoh. I even asked him specifically if he is caucasian and he replied yes. Turns out, he is a indian boy in NS trying to get his citizenship.
I do not mind different races of people, but I do mind when they lie.
goodness
e NCSS prog on CNA.. ended up w/ one corporate organisation used as example of partnership - SMRT w/ e CEO interview
I am thankful I have no TV.
Last night, a Singaporean nurse and I worked side-by-side. We had the corner of the ICU to ourselves because our patients, both confused, were side-by-side. ![]()
It was exasperating, but also quite hilarious! Our patients were restless, agitated, confused... you said it, they were it.
They fidgeted non-stop, had to be restrained cause they tried to pull out lines and their oxygen masks.
At one stage, my colleague's patient yelled at her, "You PSYCHOTIC BITCH!!"
because she was trying to suction him and he was struggling.
Then when he calmed down and the ICU Doc was there asking about whether he slept during the night, I told him that "This patient has burnt many calories with his mouth!" because he talked non-stop and was an absolute motor mouth the whole night! ![]()
When one is sedated or confused, one often leaks out secrets.
One minute, he was yelling out for "Jenny! Jenny!!" (his Filipino girlfriend 30 years his junior
). The next, he was yelling out for "Amy!!" (his recent ex-wife, think he has a few ex-wives
). Then when my colleague went to restrain him, he stroked her arm and I said, "Eeeeee-yerrrrh!! Look at the way he's stroking your arm!!" and she suddenly realised it and quickly swiped his hand away!
Worse, I didn't tell her that prior to her returning to his bedside, I caught him erm... doing the self-service in full view with all blankets kicked asunder. ![]()
Eeeeee-yeeeeerh!!!
mainly...singaporeans.
and yeah. we used to make our own mayo. but it was such a waste of effort (have you ever tried hand-beating all that stuff for such a long period of time >.< ). and they don't keep very long. and once you make, it's not possible to make a tiny bit. because you had to have SOMETHING in the bowl to beat. not worth it imo. i'd rather just buy the stuff. haha. and i love mayo =P
Originally posted by sbst275:but my lunch gotta be rice or noodle staple
i liked rice mixed with mayo and ketchup.
mayo makes it stickier. more like jap-type rice. and mayo is sweet. makes the rice taste good.
Originally posted by Rhonda:Last night, a Singaporean nurse and I worked side-by-side. We had the corner of the ICU to ourselves because our patients, both confused, were side-by-side.
It was exasperating, but also quite hilarious! Our patients were restless, agitated, confused... you said it, they were it.
They fidgeted non-stop, had to be restrained cause they tried to pull out lines and their oxygen masks.
At one stage, my colleague's patient yelled at her, "You PSYCHOTIC BITCH!!"
because she was trying to suction him and he was struggling.
Then when he calmed down and the ICU Doc was there asking about whether he slept during the night, I told him that "This patient has burnt many calories with his mouth!" because he talked non-stop and was an absolute motor mouth the whole night!
When one is sedated or confused, one often leaks out secrets.
One minute, he was yelling out for "Jenny! Jenny!!" (his Filipino girlfriend 30 years his junior
). The next, he was yelling out for "Amy!!" (his recent ex-wife, think he has a few ex-wives
). Then when my colleague went to restrain him, he stroked her arm and I said, "Eeeeee-yerrrrh!! Look at the way he's stroking your arm!!" and she suddenly realised it and quickly swiped his hand away!
Worse, I didn't tell her that prior to her returning to his bedside, I caught him erm... doing the self-service in full view with all blankets kicked asunder.
Eeeeee-yeeeeerh!!!
I am glad I didnt missed this by showering and going off somewhere, logging off my laptop.
Originally posted by sbst275:
ok it's not meI ended up gotta take my neighbour's kid to A&E cos his diahorrea didn't stop after 3 days even on MC period... It sounded my alarm bell of dehydration and at e same time his folks was not at home.. apparently he has been having diahorrea since Sunday night
at e A&E, he showed those pills e camp doc (he's in NS now) prescribed to e A&E doc.... apparently heard from him is tat e A&E doc immediately told him to stop eating those pills after seeing it cos it just slowen down stomach movement which they find is no good cos it just lengthen e diahorrea
ended up e A&E there prescribed him charcoal pills + rehydration salt
I got e name of e pills from him as well
THREE DAYS?!!! You have got to be kidding me!!!
If one has diarrhoea more than five times in one day, one had better go see the doctor because one will be at risk of dehydration and electrolyte imbalance!!
That's kinda what happened to my stubborn dad once. Had diarrhoea more than seven times in half a day, refused to see a doc, in the end, legs became so weak mom had to drag him to A&E where he was put on a drip, then sent home. ![]()
Activated Charcoal is good because if the diarrhoea is due to food poisoning, the charcoal acts to detoxify the digestive system as well. I wouldn't pop anti-diarrhoea tablets without first finding out the cause of the diarrhoea. That would be masking the symptom, but not solving the root cause of the problem.
Erm.... I think it's time to start the 100th edition?
Who wants to have the honour of doing so? ![]()
Wasabi cream now stand next to those japanese Mayo in my fridge.
Also a big can shaker of kraft parmesan cheese.
Wasabi cream for the bread, mayo for the marshed eggs & parmasan cheese for mixing into eggs and milk for scramble eggs.
Originally posted by Rhonda:THREE DAYS?!!! You have got to be kidding me!!!
If one has diarrhoea more than five times in one day, one had better go see the doctor because one will be at risk of dehydration and electrolyte imbalance!!
That's kinda what happened to my stubborn dad once. Had diarrhoea more than seven times in half a day, refused to see a doc, in the end, legs became so weak mom had to drag him to A&E where he was put on a drip, then sent home.
Activated Charcoal is good because if the diarrhoea is due to food poisoning, the charcoal acts to detoxify the digestive system as well. I wouldn't pop anti-diarrhoea tablets without first finding out the cause of the diarrhoea. That would be masking the symptom, but not solving the root cause of the problem.
he reported sick in camp at first, got MC... but I realised by Wed he was still having diahorrea and stomach discomfort hence decided to take him to A&E
but they prescribed him two pills... I got e names and found out 1 lengthen stomach movement which might length diahorrea, another though relaxes stomach but it can still cause abdominal pain or discomfort
I think he's feeling better aft taking e charcoal pills instead
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
I am glad I didnt missed this by showering and going off somewhere, logging off my laptop.
You know, it was really quite disgusting. He was fully absorbed in his act. It was FULL ON.
He had that kinda spaced-out expression on his face... and his hands, they were busy as! ![]()
I quickly pulled the blankets over him and told him firmly, "Stop doing that!" and then I thought, the poor man has just had his don't know 2nd or 3rd wife divorce him, his kids from don't know which marriage don't want to let his most recent ex-wife visit him, and in the meantime, he has this much younger Filipino lady who's obviously after his money / PR or both 'servicing' him... oh what the hell... just let the guy have a little bit of good news in his life! ![]()
I then stepped aside and let the man have his fun.
Shall we say he jerked the dog's chain many many times?!
Hey! I like this new expression of mine - jerking the dog's chain!! ![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:Erm.... I think it's time to start the 100th edition?
Who wants to have the honour of doing so?
Thank you for not fighting with me for the honour.
You're a true blue gentleman!
You're a thoroughbred! ![]()
Actually, we haven't reached the 2000th post yet.
Hi..:)
Originally posted by Rhonda:You know, it was really quite disgusting. He was fully absorbed in his act. It was FULL ON.
He had that kinda spaced-out expression on his face... and his hands, they were busy as!
I quickly pulled the blankets over him and told him firmly, "Stop doing that!" and then I thought, the poor man has just had his don't know 2nd or 3rd wife divorce him, his kids from don't know which marriage don't want to let his most recent ex-wife visit him, and in the meantime, he has this much younger Filipino lady who's obviously after his money / PR or both 'servicing' him... oh what the hell... just let the guy have a little bit of good news in his life!
I then stepped aside and let the man have his fun.
Shall we say he jerked the dog's chain many many times?!
Hey! I like this new expression of mine - jerking the dog's chain!!
Hey Ronda,
I'm into blogging and i'm reproducing the article on the recession from the Sunday Times in my blog. should finish updating soon nd will forward you the link once completed.
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:Hi..:)
Did you eat the true blue peranakan food in Malacca?
Originally posted by Rhonda:Because the other day I saw a painted canvas bag for summer that I really really loved, but told myself, "Cannot buy!" but I couldn't stop thinking about it, so buay tahan, this morning, after night duty, came home for a while, then off I went.
missy..... I really worry about your impulsive buying......
LF, I am moving out of my place by 01 Dec.
You best find time to come take the Copperhagen Lotus cups from me soon.
Originally posted by Rhonda:Actually, we haven't reached the 2000th post yet.
It's okay. Just three more posts and we'll shut this down.
*me prepares the TNT* ![]()
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:LF, I am moving out of my place by 01 Dec.
You best find time to come take the Copperhagen Lotus cups from me soon.
LF, for sio ark, i can help but must not clash with my timetable ![]()
Okay.... 2000th post!
*me plants the TNT*
Everybody stay clear!
*presses the detonator*![]()