it's easy to diss men to take on an MOB as DOMs or sociopaths who can't meet a woman normally .....
but it's not always the case ....
take my friend for example .... some emotional scars run deep .. despite him being a strapping, handsome and urbane chap with a successful, high-rolling career ....
for other people ... there's no choice, really ... take the average Mr Tan Ah Kow from the blue collar heartlands for example .... what options does he have ? ... he has needs too ... and i don't mean just physiological needs .... if Mr Tan Ah Kow wants to fark, pardon my french, there's always geylang .... but he needs someone to care for, to love, too .... we all need emotional succor .... and for some, it's all that they can get .....
people don't die from being unloved .... people die from not being able to love .....
but personally I don't think I can tahan this kind of arrangement, no matter how chio the MOB.
strange wor, u seem quite excited abt a russian MOB b4.... things have changed since ca... oops... okie okie no say no say liao
Originally posted by Rhonda:I also think men who look for MOB's are in some kinda power trip. They don't want independant women who are ' hard to control'. They want someone submissive and 'powerless' and therefore, easy to control.
know something...i actually do subscribe to the principle of "obeying your husband". ![]()
no, seriously. it's in the bible.
Originally posted by Rhonda:Your friend sounds really sweet.
But you know what, sometimes, we end up with the kind of partners that we unconsciously seek. I know lots of men who go for women they consider a 'challenge', a 'trophy', because outwardly, they are swee-swee, appear polished and 'friendly' to all, etc but they are actually manipulative with the notorious princess syndrome and they WILL make you buy them expensive gifts and make you feel like you have to keep working hard to continue being their boyfriend. Some men just go for this kinda 'challenge', whether consciously or not.
So, you never know... he may be putting himself out there to be trampled upon...
this brings to mind a thread i came across recently .. here
men and women seek the thrill and excitment of "bad" women/men .. but ultimately when they marry, they want a very guai partner ..
hey, come to think of it.. i vaguely recall this in my psychology course!! there were even experiments .. men are more prone to this.. they want to date hot, sexy women but when they marry, they want a women who's not so hot and sexy..
I think some men just want a quiet peaceful lifeAs long as both parties are happy, why not?
but personally I don't think I can tahan this kind of arrangement, no matter how chio the MOB.
Hanor!
I look at the construction workers around my neighbourhood... very manly and young, virile, rippling muscles with sweat glistening under the sun... I walk past, they look up at me, give me that awesome sweet smile and a wink and I almost get a cardiac arrest but have to look kewl, walk on, BREATHE, girl!!
But then you think about it, you start a relationship with them, 'some' aspect of the relationship is bound to be sizzling hot, but then, WHAT do you talk about afterwards?
I know myself and I know how pai si I can be when I feel that the men do not match up intellectually and pai seh... I've been pretty nasty in my younger days.
Like basically, if you put yourself out there for me to trample on, it was hard to resist the urge to trample, esp in my hot-headed, hot-blooded younger days... ![]()
So yeah... nice to look at, will be a hot fling, but won't be everlasting.
Worse, maybe you pass by the REAL man of your dreams in the neighbourhood whilst you're hopelessly flirting with the object of your lust, and that man goes tsk tsk... another slut, thus destroying all hopes of future communication with him.
If you analyze it, it's not worth it.
those who do it for that reason are quite silly. there are plenty of places for paid sex in singapore alone and in the long run cheaper than getting married. somemore can sample different flavours. chinese, vietnamese, eastern european etc
Wah.... macam going for dinner like that......
'Hmm.... should I go Chinese, Vietnamese, or Thai tonight?'
Originally posted by Fatum:it's easy to diss men to take on an MOB as DOMs or sociopaths who can't meet a woman normally .....
take my friend for example .... some emotional scars run deep .. despite him being a strapping, handsome and urbane chap with a successful, high-rolling career ....
for other people ... there's no choice, really ... take the average Mr Tan Ah Kow from the blue collar heartlands for example .... what options does he have ? ... he has needs too ... and i don't mean just physiological needs .... if Mr Tan Ah Kow wants to fark, pardon my french, there's always geylang .... but he needs someone to care for, to love, too .... we all need emotional succor .... and for some, it's all that they can get .....
people don't die from being unloved .... people die from not being able to love .....
I always think that it's much harder for a man to get over his emotional scars because they don't really talk or share it like how we women do.
However, some girls always go for the wrong guys and some guys the wrong girls like what Rhonda said.
Originally posted by elindra:What makes him think that his MOB won't run away with another man and what not?
Those happen quite frequently it seems or they get home sick and wanna go home and what not
And from what I read in Sammyboy, most MOBs try to milk their husband as much as possible to send money back home and you must know how to deal with it.
Apparently a lot of guys on Sammyboy have MOBs so maybe go read if he is interested.
Hanor! A lot of them treat the marriage like a financial transaction for better financial security for themselves and their family back home.
Don't think that they are all sweet, innocent, naive and rose petals what-not.
Skarli run off with your savings!
Or worse, get a hold on you using the kids as some kinda 'ransom'.
Originally posted by Fatum:it's easy to diss men to take on an MOB as DOMs or sociopaths who can't meet a woman normally .....
Fair enough. I agree with everything you say here, but my beef is with those old fuckers in their 50s and above who still want to marry 20 something year olds. And they make up a significant portion of those who buy MOBs.
Originally posted by fudgester:Wah.... macam going for dinner like that......
'Hmm.... should I go Chinese, Vietnamese, or Thai tonight?'
and got tall one short one, big boobs small boobs, real boobs fake boobs etc etc etc !
Originally posted by Rhonda:Hanor! A lot of them treat the marriage like a financial transaction for better financial security for themselves and their family back home.
Don't think that they are all sweet, innocent, naive and rose petals what-not.
Skarli run off with your savings!
Or worse, get a hold on you using the kids as some kinda 'ransom'.
I think most guys have this illusion of a sweet village girl who is docile and does the housework and obeys him without question.
know something...i actually do subscribe to the principle of "obeying your husband".no, seriously. it's in the bible.
is this a dream?
know something...i actually do subscribe to the principle of "obeying your husband".no, seriously. it's in the bible.
It is. And if the man is sensible, logical and respectable, I will agree and follow.
But if he's dumb and on some power trip fueled by his ego or testosterone, then to hell with him.
I've dated an MCP and no way in hell will I submit!
Part of the reason why I'd never date a Greek.
I'm quite stubborn... the man has to be of strong character. It's like... I'm a shrew that needs to be tamed first. ![]()
is this a dream?
You invite gossip, and then when tare or others pick up on it and start teasing you, then you get
Men!!
Originally posted by av98m:Fair enough. I agree with everything you say here, but my beef is with those old fuckers in their 50s and above who still want to marry 20 something year olds. And they make up a significant portion of those who buy MOBs.
Add in riddled with health problems and what not
I find it really scary when I see a 50+ old man with a young wife and a baby in their arms
I mean dude you are properly dead before your kid hits 20
i'm TOTALLY for the "wife obey your husband" teaching... dun luff, REALLY!!
cos tat submission is a reaction to the love the husband give... "husband love ur wife as Christ love His church"... and we all know He DIED for His church....
simply put, if u ain't willing to die for me, dun expect me to obey u!!! wahahahaahahahaaaa
Originally posted by Rhonda:It is. And if the man is sensible, logical and respectable, I will agree and follow.
But if he's dumb and on some power trip fueled by his ego or testosterone, then to hell with him.
I've dated an MCP and no way in hell will I submit!
Part of the reason why I'd never date a Greek.
I'm quite stubborn... the man has to be of strong character. It's like... I'm a shrew that needs to be tamed first.
x2
I don't have problems listening and following as long as it is logical and not coz of some ego or power trip
If that is the case I would jolly well kick him in his family jewels to wake him up
Har har
I always think that it's much harder for a man to get over his emotional scars because they don't really talk or share it like how we women do.However, some girls always go for the wrong guys and some guys the wrong girls like what Rhonda said.
I always go for men who kinda ignore me or who aren't really into me.
I treat those who are really into me quite badly sometimes...
Don't know why, I just feel like I'm a cat hunting mice when they approach me... ![]()
I think I've got an inner lioness seeking to be tamed by a man who's lion enough...
Originally posted by av98m:Fair enough. I agree with everything you say here, but my beef is with those old fuckers in their 50s and above who still want to marry 20 something year olds. And they make up a significant portion of those who buy MOBs.
Very true.
I remember reading an interview with the head of some Muslim matchmaking agency.
He said that he was quite used to (but still very disturbed by) having 55 year old men specifically asking for 18 year old brides.
*shakes head*![]()
I always think that it's much harder for a man to get over his emotional scars because they don't really talk or share it like how we women do.However, some girls always go for the wrong guys and some guys the wrong girls like what Rhonda said.
what gets me going, is the perception that people who go for MOBs are doing it just to get an easy lay ....
like i said ... if tan ah kow wants to bonk, he can easily go to geylang .... why get a wife ? ....
yes, it's true ... there are rapacious girls out there who'd want to marry their way to a better life ... and true too, that there are dirty old men who just want to shack up with a sweet young thing ....
but, looking at a life time of back-breaking work in the paddy fields, who can blame them ? .... and when you're a 45 years old, coarse and pot-bellied, blue collar worker earning literal peanuts in singapore ... what are your chances of true love, if you've missed the boat ? ....
true love, is a luxury that not everyone in this world can afford, or aspire to ... so can't they settle for what little they can get ? ...
I don't think we should get on our high horses on this ....
Originally posted by tare:
cos tat submission is a reaction to the love the husband give... "husband love ur wife as Christ love His church"... and we all know He DIED for His church....
simply put, if u ain't willing to die for me, dun expect me to obey u!!! wahahahaahahahaaaa
Later really treat you like a holy place and no sex than you know ![]()
*runs away* ![]()
is this a dream?
nope. see rhonda's post after yours.
strange wor, u seem quite excited abt a russian MOB b4.... things have changed since ca... oops... okie okie no say no say liao
believe you me I have given the subject a lot of thought, esp after meeting my friend's hot eastern european wife. but end of the day, what kind of marriage is that going to be. ok, assuming we have hot sex often, but how long will that last? and looks don't last either. what else are we going to do with each other then?
and life can be quite funny, the worst case scenario is that you 'settle' just to get out of singlehood and then later meet the person you really want to spend the rest of your life with. that would be far more tragic than never getting married, in my book.
Whoops.... the lecturer's here.
Seeya guys.
*me mysteriously disappears in a puff of smoke*
I want to have a partner who's a Christian and in Australia and who's a Singaporean or Malaysian Chinese or an Aussie who's exposed to Asian culture and fascinated with it.
Tough call... sigh...