got shoes...here's a bloggie linky
looks like fun...I see some motorists were not so happy lol
only 1 dish this weekend? dessert? will it be hands-on or a demo thingy?i should have skipped the office today. still dehyrated from yesterday's run.
I think total of 3 dishes but I can't remember the other 2 because I'm just interested in the blue cheese sauce. Haha
I think it's a demo thingy by some chef from M Hotel
But ok la got goody bag free lunch with free wine
I think it's quite worth it considering I only paid slightly over 20 bucks per person
so pinky is making steak and blue cheese sauce for year end bbq
thank you pinky ![]()
Originally posted by av98m:so pinky is making steak and blue cheese sauce for year end bbq
thank you pinky
wahaahaaa arrow fly very fast.... but it's okie...
thank you pinky!!!! hahahaa
looks like fun...I see some motorists were not so happy lol
pls lar...i wasn't happy either. had to stop like 20m before finishing line coz traffic lights.
hmmm...maybe i leave early today and go massage?
pls lar...i wasn't happy either. had to stop like 20m before finishing line coz traffic lights.hmmm...maybe i leave early today and go massage?
20m? talk about an anti-climax ![]()
leave right away if you can get away with it. ![]()
| By Kimberly Spykerman | ||
|
Tissue Parody group member V. Kumar sending out a message for people to be more gracious when holding on to seats. -- ST PHOTO: ALAN LIM
|
||
But a group of undergraduates is on the warpath to wipe out this informal reservation system.
Last Saturday, seven students doled out 1,000 packets of tissue paper in the Chinatown Complex food centre. They were scrawled with the words: 'This seat is not taken, it's yours!'
The students are hoping to encourage patrons to tell others that the seat is occupied, rather than have diners face the tissues.
'We chose to target this aspect of social behaviour because our surveys showed it's a bugbear for a lot of people. Many gripe about the issue but no one takes an active stand,' said team member, 21-year- old V.Kumar.
The Singapore Kindness Movement (SKM), which aims to encourage Singaporeans to be more gracious through simple acts of kindness, has thrown its weight behind the group, named the Tissue Parody.
What started out as a classroom project has now become a full- fledged cause.
The group plans to push the initiative into eateries in the Central Business District, where the tissue reservations, known as 'chope-ing', are rife.
But it was not all smooth-sailing for the freshmen at the Singapore Management University.
The group approached at least three food centres before getting the go-ahead from the one at Chinatown Complex, which is run by the Jalan Besar Town Council.
Mr Kumar said his group was not against reserving seats at food centres. Rather, they wanted to encourage people to find a more gracious method.
The SKM paid for 10,000 tissue packets and loaned out its mascot, Singa the courtesy lion, last week.
'We want to help them because it's obvious that they're passionate and committed to long-term change,' a spokesman said. 'What they're trying to do is not something that can be achieved overnight.'
Last Saturday, the students put tissue packs on empty tables at the Chinatown food centre, located in Smith Street.
Diners, for the most part, welcomed the effort.
Mr Chan Cher Hua, a 30-year- old sales engineer, was glad to see the group being proactive about such a cause. He said: 'It just seems nicer to leave a person at the table rather than a tissue packet. It's about having the right social etiquette.'
The mass distribution of tissue packets piqued the curiosity of the lunch-time crowd.
Mr Wong Ah Chye, 62, chairman of the food centre, also lauded the students. 'It's for the good of the public. People get frustrated when they come to a food centre and the seats are all reserved by tissue packets. Hopefully, this will encourage people to be more thoughtful about others.'
What do you guys think of this article? Personally I don't have a problem with the use of tissue paper, or umbrellas, since practically anything else you leave on the tables will get stolen for sure. And I refuse to queue up for food unless I know I have seat.
I personally feel its better to leave a person at the table instead of leaving tissue around..
Originally posted by ä¸�如就æ»:I personally feel its better to leave a person at the table instead of leaving tissue around..
sometimes I eat alone so I need the tissue.
I think the real cause of the unhappiness is that singapore is horrendously overpopulated hence the sheer difficulty getting a seat anywhere.
i was watching 3 cushion billiards on tv
don't undertand wtf they are doing.
its billiards with no holes on the table!
sometimes I eat alone so I need the tissue.
I think the real cause of the unhappiness is that singapore is horrendously overpopulated hence the sheer difficulty getting a seat anywhere.
go mcdonalds and makan fries standing ![]()
no need to find seat or anything
I think it's better to leave a person too though I understand the need to leave tissue paper on the seat which is the reason why most of the time I just prefer to buy back my lunch to eat
Originally posted by ä¸�如就æ»:I personally feel its better to leave a person at the table instead of leaving tissue around..
well it's only right... and possible if u're not eating alone lor...
it's horrible to walk ard and wait for seat holding onto hot bowl of noodles or watever...
Originally posted by kopiosatu:go mcdonalds and makan fries standing
no need to find seat or anything
there was one time I sat on the floor at a food court to eat.
no, I'm not making this up. and I was wearing saf number 3 somemore. thankfully those were the days before stomp
there was one time I sat on the floor at a food court to eat.
no, I'm not making this up. and I was wearing saf number 3 somemore. thankfully those were the days before stomp
Usually if it s really bad I rather go buy a sandwich or burger to eat ><
strangely, i've never seen anyone use tissue paper packets to 'chope' seats before =P
Originally posted by udontknowme:strangely, i've never seen anyone use tissue paper packets to 'chope' seats before =P
You go to the CBD area a lot :P
But seriously I hate the lunch crowd where it's so noisy and crowded
Which is why I prefer to tabao back to eat in the office in peace
That's just me though
You go to the CBD area a lot :PBut seriously I hate the lunch crowd where it's so noisy and crowded
Which is why I prefer to tabao back to eat in the office in peace
That's just me though
its ok when you're in a group.
when eating alone at the food court or hawker centre it really is fucking sian.
anyway, those undergrads' campaign is confirmed doomed to failure.
singaporeans can't even queue up properly and give way to alighting passengers when taking bus and mrt.
i usually buy food back to my office to eat ![]()
went off for an early lunch to siam the droning on the telephone by the lunatic boss who called up to drone on the other guy...
feel a bit guilty for abandoning him but all for one and every man for himself ![]()
i hardly go to the CBD area...>.<
i do eat at hawker centers quite a lot. but when i do, it's usually in the mornings on weekends. most people are probably still sleeping =P hahaha
but i usually eat at home...so....
sky is still grey
weather still cool but not cold, which is good
Originally posted by av98m:anyway, those undergrads' campaign is confirmed doomed to failure.
singaporeans can't even queue up properly and give way to alighting passengers when taking bus and mrt.
Haiya it gets worst
Have you noticed that these days in the papers there are more and more cases of acts of violence
Though a lot of times they say it is a Chinese National
This tells you something doesn't it >.<"
Haiya it gets worstHave you noticed that these days in the papers there are more and more cases of acts of violence
Though a lot of times they say it is a Chinese National
This tells you something doesn't it >.<"
that the prc hate each other more than we hate them? as long as they only kill each other I'm ok with it I suppose