Originally posted by Fatum:i can see why these two are boyfriend and girlfriend, their mentality is exactly the same .....
of course it's bullshit ... if there's a will, there's a way ... remember i told you guys about my indian lawyer friend, whom some of you have met at baden's before ? ... he was a poly engineering grad like me, got commissioned as a officer, lived in at tekong as a platoon commander, and still found time to complete a part time biz admin degree, going down all the way from tekong to downtown and back again on nights when there's no night training .... (that's how he got into law school, that extra piece of paper)
best of all, he still performed well enough as a PC, that he ORD'ed as a company 2IC ...
that's called fortitude ......
this chap here, if he really is in depression over a little bump like this ... then I'd say he's pretty screwed in life, cos there will be much bigger bumps ahead, which there's no way he'd be able to handle ...
That is why I replied in the thread if there is a will, there is a way!
I know of people who did that too!!!!
KNS la
sigh
What kind of man that can take stress go into depression coz he can't get what he wantsOMFG
Are youths these days that soft?
its simply chao geng....i have seem too many. U can find alot of excuses from those nsf. Some can even bring up family problem even there is none...just to make them stay out. Some even find excuses to excuse dust so he can avoid staying in camp ![]()
so what do he/she/they expect everyone here to do? not like anyone here can do anything (ok, maybe except kill them)...person(s) to look for is SAF. or maybe they mistook sgf = saf?
As Fatum pointed out..... that girl probably just wants affirmation and not real advice.
Reminds me of that messed-up idiot who suggested that all L-plate drivers be banned from the roads. It's obvious that he just wanted to whine about a bad experience and to get people to agree with him.
He certainly didn't expect every single person to whack him to high heaven. ![]()
Originally posted by SpeedStar:
its simply chao geng....i have seem too many. U can find alot of excuses from those nsf. Some can even bring up family problem even there is none...just to make them stay out. Some even find excuses to excuse dust so he can avoid staying in camp
Actually in NS you can more or less know from there how each person will make it out in life after they leave I think
The dodgers will be dodging and hiding for the rest of their lives -_-"
another thing I don't get, is that why must special excemptions be made for you, when it's you who farked up your own studies ? .... whose fault is it really ? ....
it's like those A level kids who flunked and wanted to request for the same thing so they can study for their retakes ... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:i can see why these two are boyfriend and girlfriend, their mentality is exactly the same .....
of course it's bullshit ... if there's a will, there's a way ... remember i told you guys about my indian lawyer friend, whom some of you have met at baden's before ? ... he was a poly engineering grad like me, got commissioned as a officer, lived in at tekong as a platoon commander, and still found time to complete a part time biz admin degree, going down all the way from tekong to downtown and back again on nights when there's no night training .... (that's how he got into law school, that extra piece of paper)
best of all, he still performed well enough as a PC, that he ORD'ed as a company 2IC ...
that's called fortitude ......
this chap here, if he really is in depression over a little bump like this ... then I'd say he's pretty screwed in life, cos there will be much bigger bumps ahead, which there's no way he'd be able to handle ...
Whether he can complete his studies while serving is one thing, the only thing i cannot stand with the that gal is she used beautiful excuse like "depression" and knee injury to excuse stay in and work 8 to 5. Wana chao geng, chao geng lar, why go thru all this excuses to cover the lies..damn childish and low life
Originally posted by Fatum:this fellow is getting into a "depression", because his request for an 8-5 to study part time, was rejected .....
this is planned malingering ... and you can never justify malingering .... whether one hated, liked, or was ambivalent towards NS, it is an obligation all men have to go through ....
disagree. If he can get away with it, then he can do it.Besides, no idea in the first place if it's malingering.
no obligation to do just because you are legally forced to do so.
Originally posted by elindra:Actually in NS you can more or less know from there how each person will make it out in life after they leave I think
yeps ... same theory .... it's where much of a man's character gets exposed ....
it's not about being a garang or siao on soldier, not about rank or vocation ... but about doing what you have to do, and facing up and discharging your responsibilities.
that short period of time is really a sort of a trailer or a preview to a man's life ...
Originally posted by elindra:Actually in NS you can more or less know from there how each person will make it out in life after they leave I think
Not true. Those who successfully chao geng might not be those who cannot make it. I have met some chaps who open business and earn alot while in ns but still chao geng. Chao geng to me is a personal thing, if u can out smart the army, then u deserved to relax. If not, please dun complain or whine to us like some kids. Its sound so stupid and weak. ![]()
What kind of man that can take stress go into depression coz he can't get what he wantsOMFG
Are youths these days that soft?
*gulp*
haven't go NS >.<
Not true. Those who successfully chao geng might not be those who cannot make it. I have met some chaps who open business and earn alot while in ns but still chao geng. Chao geng to me is a personal thing, if u can out smart the army, then u deserved to relax. If not, please dun complain or whine to us like some kids. Its sound so stupid and weak.
Yes, want to geng must do it with style! ![]()
Originally posted by hisoka:disagree. If he can get away with it, then he can do it.Besides, no idea in the first place if it's malingering.
'If he can get away with it, then he can do it....'
Please..... don't have kids.
If this is what you will teach them, I dread what will happen to them in their lives.....
Originally posted by fudgester:Win lah.....
In the first place, how the *bleep* does he plan to study part-time while doing full-time NS? Even weekend classes won't be easy - I lost count of all the weekends and holidays burnt due to all sorts of nonsense I got thrown at in my NSF days.
I knew one who completed his degree part time in NS. can be done, the problem though is if the pple in charge of him want to let him use the down time (at night) to go attend classes. I've seen both sides, some the camp allows them to book out to do so, some don't. Same vocations, similar background. really down to the OC/CO to decide i guess.
Originally posted by hisoka:disagree. If he can get away with it, then he can do it.Besides, no idea in the first place if it's malingering.
yeah, of course .... if one can get away with something one dislikes, why not do it ?
I don't like paying income tax too ... even though i'm legally forced to do so .... can i just fark it ? ...
say there's that girl drunk in the corner ... there's no one around, i can go fondle her boobs and get away with it, should i just do it ? ....
Originally posted by tare:
*gulp*haven't go NS >.<
I'm sure you'll slap him until he wakes up his idea if he whines ![]()
Not true. Those who successfully chao geng might not be those who cannot make it. I have met some chaps who open business and earn alot while in ns but still chao geng. Chao geng to me is a personal thing, if u can out smart the army, then u deserved to relax. If not, please dun complain or whine to us like some kids. Its sound so stupid and weak.
Generally as a whole it is true la
There are always the handful is smart and capable and able to do it but the majority as a whole will turn out to be losers.
We cannot take exceptions as the rule ma because it does tell about your charc
Originally posted by Fatum:yeps ... same theory .... it's where much of a man's character gets exposed ....
it's not about being a garang or siao on soldier, not about rank or vocation ... but about doing what you have to do, and facing up and discharging your responsibilities.
that short period of time is really a sort of a trailer or a preview to a man's life ...
Sorry but i have to disagree on this. Not all geng ppl are irresponsible in character...personal opinion ![]()
Originally posted by SpeedStar:Sorry but i have to disagree on this. Not all geng ppl are irresponsible in character...personal opinion
no ... genging is not really about being irresponsible ......
it's about something more staining on a person's character ... it's about integrity ...
That's like saying "If I can get away with murder, I will kill" -_-
So basically to you, it's ok to murder, rape, steal etc because you are not obligated not to do it, just because the law says it's illegal
-_-"
I remember this joker during BMT who would walk around with a limp during training hours. and walk normally afterwards. his mother was a JC principal whose name I shall not say. ![]()
and hisk wins today's foot in mouth award.
Originally posted by fudgester:'If he can get away with it, then he can do it....'
Please..... don't have kids.
If this is what you will teach them, I dread what will happen to them in their lives.....
That's whats happening now isn't it?
anyway only applies to ns.
I'll be worried if you tell your kids you must do every by the books and follow procedures all the time without applying flexibility. i.e. just because the law says tailgating is an offence (though not enforced) he drives 10 car lengths behind the car in a jam.
Originally posted by SpeedStar:Sorry but i have to disagree on this. Not all geng ppl are irresponsible in character...personal opinion
Seriously you can geng and twang all you want but as long as the results are delievered at the end of the day, no one is going to say a single thing
But the problem is that most ppl who think all day to chao geng, put their energy into the wrong thing. If they spent half the energy they put into trying to chao geng in getting the things they need to do done, they would have plenty of free time after.
We cannot take exceptions as the rule ma because it does tell about your char
Rules are meant to be broken. This is how I view the army. ![]()