Originally posted by hisoka:they have reserves too. and I guess it would have been folly to just put it in a bank to rot?
I would expect them to put the money inside the bank to rot .....
their job is to spend it wisely for the public good .... not to grow it and score brownie points .... and now to lose it ....
if they want to do this sort of thing, they should go join temasek or GIC instead ....
Originally posted by Fatum:I would expect them to put the money inside the bank to rot .....
their job is to spend it wisely for the public good .... not to grow it and score brownie points .... and now to lose it ....
if they want to do this sort of thing, they should go join temasek or GIC instead ....
I guessing that their bonuses are also somehow tied to how much they can 'grow' the money
its a deterrent for people to press it for anything.
what happens if someone presses it when they see what appears to be a suspicious looking package left on the train only for it to be a false alarm?
it's a double edged sword. the penalty and discourages pple from pressing when they should *shrugs*
Originally posted by Fatum:I just choked on my second cup of kopi ....
why stats board are invested in private financial instruments ? ...
because of senile management assholes who have delusions of reaching the dizzying heights of mediocrity...
a past and not missed No.1 in the past wanted us to invest a pile of cash of our rec club into such instruments.. i was the treasurer and i refused to release the funds to do that.. the poor president of the rec club was stressed to hell at that time.. stuck between a kuailan treasurer and a delusional no.1
imagine if i just went along, you'd be seeing my organisation in that list too ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:I would expect them to put the money inside the bank to rot .....
I would expect them to at least buy some bonds or whatever that is very low risk.
part of spending wisely includes making use of the money even if it's just to rot. But iguess the problem is more of even if they make money, it doesn't get rolled back to us.
the mystery of why so many of the DVDs we duplicated failed is solved!!
dunno what the guy was doing.. knn "copy disc" can already.. he had to go copy each of the files onto the blank DVDs..
then when it came to copying a wmv file into a CD, he went and "create video" out of it... resulting in a low-quality VCD instead of a disgustingly high resolution wmv...
i tried to explain why but after 5 minutes of a blank look, i decided to just tell him what to do and to follow explicitly the rules of thumb: 1 file = "make data disc"... VCD = copy disc in CD mode.. DVD = copy disc in DVD mode...
okay.. now my section has 67% people who can't be taught anything IT..
Originally posted by the Bear:the mystery of why so many of the DVDs we duplicated failed is solved!!
dunno what the guy was doing.. knn "copy disc" can already.. he had to go copy each of the files onto the blank DVDs..
then when it came to copying a wmv file into a CD, he went and "create video" out of it... resulting in a low-quality VCD instead of a disgustingly high resolution wmv...
i tried to explain why but after 5 minutes of a blank look, i decided to just tell him what to do and to follow explicitly the rules of thumb: 1 file = "make data disc"... VCD = copy disc in CD mode.. DVD = copy disc in DVD mode...
okay.. now my section has 67% people who can't be taught anything IT..
I feel your pain. I even have people who are supposed to keep the printers up and running by making sure there's paper and sufficient toner/supplies installed.........who are unable to change the toner, drum, cleaning and transfer kits no matter how many times I show them. And there's no need to remember anything even. Just follow the instructions that come with the supplies! and there are illustrations even!!!!!
*phew* the new PA has appeared... she's just late, well not tis late lah.. i was caught up in covering backside and shooting back at client...
and yes, most of the people at my place do not know how to burn or duplicate CDs
Originally posted by av98m:and yes, most of the people at my place do not know how to burn or duplicate CDs
if put on the spot...i might have a wee bit of a prob too. but i guess i'll figure it out...eventually.
When people ask, I show them and explain slowly. but when they keep coming back to ask me the very same thing again and again after I've already explained...irritation sets in. And the concept of reading the manual seems to be lost on lots of folks. ![]()
Originally posted by av98m:and yes, most of the people at my place do not know how to burn or duplicate CDs
ok great, are they farmers? ![]()
Originally posted by SpeedStar:
ok great, are they farmers?
probably senior management coz these stuff are usually done by underlings and secretaries.
quick question - how do i "reduce" the "pain" from blisters, apart from not doing anything?
When people ask, I show them and explain slowly. but when they keep coming back to ask me the very same thing again and again after I've already explained...irritation sets in. And the concept of reading the manual seems to be lost on lots of folks.
most people seem to lack brains. a lot of the stuff is just common sense. you don't even need to read the damed manual..........
and yes, I find it a lot faster to just replace the supplies and top up the paper myself. somehow even when the printers run out of paper and start beeping, these people cannot seem to hear and go replace the paper.
but they don't get away scot free. its sorta reflected in their yearly evaluation.
probably senior management coz these stuff are usually done by underlings and secretaries.
wrong, they are the underlings.
Originally posted by cassie:quick question - how do i "reduce" the "pain" from blisters, apart from not doing anything?
more injuries from your pole sessions?
and no, no idea
Originally posted by cassie:quick question - how do i "reduce" the "pain" from blisters, apart from not doing anything?
moisturiser?
printer and copier...
in my office, i am sitting near to the printer.
and when the mgrs need to collect their printout, the printer runs out of paper for all trays....they will look at the printer and pass a remark to me "zora, printer no paper leh...."
i will turn and look at them "put in paper lor if no paper.."
There is this champion that's even better. She's been wondering why she has never been promoted.........when I've been doing a chunk of her work for her ![]()
Originally posted by zoragirl:printer and copier...
in my office, i am sitting near to the printer.
and when the mgrs need to collect their printout, the printer runs out of paper for all trays....they will look at the printer and pass a remark to me "zora, printer no paper leh...."
i will turn and look at them "put in paper lor if no paper.."
They dunno how to put in paper ar
Originally posted by elindra:They dunno how to put in paper ar
sadly, i know of a lot of people who don't even know that the printer and photocopier require paper..
"why is it not printing?"
"you're out of paper"
"paper?"
you know, I can live with management types being clueless about this kinda stuff. but when the people who are actually employed to do it(office assistants) are also clueless, I really don't know what to say ![]()
Originally posted by av98m:you know, I can live with management types being clueless about this kinda stuff. but when the people who are actually employed to do it(office assistants) are also clueless, I really don't know what to say
sort of agree, the senile management are not paid to do these anyway. and with the lack of experiience and exposure to such things, not a surprised they don't know how to handle them.
but those who are supposed to be doing these stuff...... I guess it's the same with the idiot IT guys who don't know how to do anythign..