Originally posted by sbst275:
cos tat time they launched Canola, theirs cheaper ma.. their bottle 2kg, Sime's 2L lehnow got dunno wat brand like New Moon, but I'm still staying w/ old brand Lam Soon
I'm still using the Cock Brand pure groundnut oil.
My doc says I should use healthier oils so I did buy a bottle of canola oil... but then I miss my favourite groundnut oil... ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:I'm still using the Cock Brand pure groundnut oil.
My doc says I should use healthier oils so I did buy a bottle of canola oil... but then I miss my favourite groundnut oil...
Cock brand groundnut oil has tat HPB label wat ![]()
Knife dun get cos it uses palm
Cock brand groundnut oil has tat HPB label watKnife dun get cos it uses palm
My ang moh Aussie GP still thinks it's baaaad stuff!
But... it's the most fragrant oil. ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:My ang moh Aussie GP still thinks it's baaaad stuff!
But... it's the most fragrant oil.
dunno liao
anyway I'm wondering so long till now, how do you travel around MEL?
Originally posted by Rhonda:My ang moh Aussie GP still thinks it's baaaad stuff!
But... it's the most fragrant oil.
Wah liao for chinese cooking groundnut oil is like the best man!!
From what I read groundnut oil is ok but it has no benificial properties like Canola
i hardly use oil in my cooking these days. but i love olive oil to bits and since i hardly fry or stir fry stuff, won't matter much.
Cock brand is like so ancient
I don't even see it here anymore
The joke around the industry is that last time all the oils had brands of animals like Cock la duck la and dunno what else
Than Lam Soon came out with the Knife brand and slaugthered them all
dunno liaoanyway I'm wondering so long till now, how do you travel around MEL?
Horsepower, or public transport.
I walk a lot more here than back home in SG.
Originally posted by cassie:i hardly use oil in my cooking these days. but i love olive oil to bits and since i hardly fry or stir fry stuff, won't matter much.
I love olive oil too
I have like a few different types of oil at home for different kinds of cooking :x
Originally posted by elindra:Cock brand is like so ancient
The joke around the industry is that last time all the oils had brands of animals like Cock la duck la and dunno what else
I like how there are so many Asians here that the Asian grocery shops sell almost everything that I need. ![]()
Originally posted by elindra:Cock brand is like so ancient
got, but now 1 2kg bottle cost $10 leh
got Yellow Cock and Red Cock
used to belong to 1 chinese co, later Sime Darby ate it up
Originally posted by Rhonda:Horsepower, or public transport.
I see
cos I heard something... one of e bus co in Melbourne kena eaten up by ComfortDelgro
I love olive oil tooI have like a few different types of oil at home for different kinds of cooking :x
oh you should try olive oil with truffles! dip your bread in it...heavenly!
I love olive oil tooI have like a few different types of oil at home for different kinds of cooking :x
Me too! Trouble is, I cook for one and often, I end up throwing food away because I can't consume them fast enough.
These days, I often consume food months after expiry because I can't bear to discard them.
But of course, dairy products get tossed immediately upon expiry cause I don't want to die from food poisoning. ![]()
Oh I love olive oil with bread
I use it in my salads with different kinds of vinegar and I love it sooooo much
Speaking of bread... only the Noble Rise brand and Bread Top brands here can make it. The other artisan / homemade whatever breads they have here, very deng-kok-kokz!!! When I bought a fresh loaf from the market for the very first time when I got here, I finally realised why the folks here needed a special serrated long bread knife - you don't slice the bread here, you SAW the bread! Harharhar!! And you can literally fling a loaf at someone's head and concuss him! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:Sayang panda... what is 'san-chol'??
sayang missy....
i mean Sanguine-Choleric
Originally posted by Rhonda:Horsepower, or public transport.
tat time i went mel for 5 days.. i walked ALOT too... the weather is nicer mah, here in sg step out of the house perspire liao >.<
Originally posted by Rhonda:Speaking of bread... only the Noble Rise brand and Bread Top brands here can make it. The other artisan / homemade whatever breads they have here, very deng-kok-kokz!!! When I bought a fresh loaf from the market for the very first time when I got here, I finally realised why the folks here needed a special serrated long bread knife - you don't slice the bread here, you SAW the bread! Harharhar!! And you can literally fling a loaf at someone's head and concuss him!
oh that's how bread is supposed to be...not like the gardenias here (which i don't fancy too much). i miss the bakeries in france and the bread...somehow the ones here just don't cut it. yup, you need the serrated knife - but you gotta be careful! they're extra sharp.
I like my bread soft
Especially those kopitiam baked type
For the artisan types of breads it depends on the types but I do not like to eat hard rolls
I dun like crispy crust for some reason
Heck I don't even eat the crust :P
I don't like my bread deng kok-kokz!
They can be crusty, but not deng kok-kokz like the country-style loaves here!
I don't like sawing my bread! ![]()
going out liao
cassie, think you'll love the baby sweet salad leaves that Coles sell in 100g bags here. I wait till the price gets marked down to AUD 3.00 before buying. There's a selection of pre-washed leaves in there, including Red Coral, Mizuna, Snow Pea Tendrils, Red Tatsoi, Green Oak, Green Coral, and Sweet Fennel.
I use them for making sandwiches or salads. Sometimes, when bored and in need of amusement, I'll just pop a leaf into my mouth and chew it from end to end, bovine-style. ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:I don't like my bread deng kok-kokz!
They can be crusty, but not deng kok-kokz like the country-style loaves here!
I don't like sawing my bread!
actually there should be loads of variety over there...shouldn't be a prob for you.
Originally posted by Rhonda:cassie, think you'll love the baby sweet salad leaves that Coles sell in 100g bags here. I wait till the price gets marked down to AUD 3.00 before buying. There's a selection of pre-washed leaves in there, including Red Coral, Mizuna, Snow Pea Tendrils, Red Tatsoi, Green Oak, Green Coral, and Sweet Fennel.
I use them for making sandwiches or salads. Sometimes, when bored and in need of amusement, I'll just pop a leaf into my mouth and chew it from end to end, bovine-style.
aiks! i don't eat my "leaves" au naturel; prefer it drizzle with olive oil or dressing.