I think for New Year, I trooped down to Nando's and used a coupon to purchase one whole chicken with grilled corn and free large fries.
For the next few meals, it was Nando's and more Nando's until I think I can't eat Nando's anymore until next Quarter!
I ended up having Nando's neat, then Nando's as a salad tossed with a mixture of baby salad leaves, then Nando's with Pita bread, Nando's sandwich and the fries were eaten over three seatings. Guys, if you ever have leftover fries, do not discard them! Keep them refrigerated, then the next day, you can 'refresh' them by putting them under the grill or the overn for a short while so they no longer stay limp but become crisp again. I use the grill / oven to make 'lao hong' lame crackers crispy and crunchy again. Works everytime. If you think about it, anything that has gone lame probably just needs the extra moisture dried up then they'll be crisp and almost like new again. ![]()
And anything you want to remain moist in the microwave oven, wet a kitchen paper towel or cotton muslin if you're quite the pro, wring it out semi-dry, lay it over the rice or dumpling or bak chang or bao and make sure you cover it entirely, then microwave as usual. The water in the towel will become steam so you end up steaming your bao / rice and they bao will come out soft and nice without getting burnt-dry and your rice will remain fluffy and moist. Sometimes, I sprinkle water all over the rice before microwaving them. That works too. ![]()
since i moved here, i no longer have the prob of not finishing foodstuffs b4 they expires! waahahahahaaa
btw, we only just finished 1 carton of the bacon wor!
Originally posted by elindra:i'm too lazy to be like missy
If I cook it be something like a roast chicken so if there are leftovers I can have roast chicken sandwich, roast chicken noodles roast chicken with potatoes, roast chicken salad...pasta...u get the idea
I love cooking mah...
Wrong career... ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:I think for New Year, I trooped down to Nando's and used a coupon to purchase one whole chicken with grilled corn and free large fries.
For the next few meals, it was Nando's and more Nando's until I think I can't eat Nando's anymore until next Quarter!
I ended up having Nando's neat, then Nando's as a salad tossed with a mixture of baby salad leaves, then Nando's with Pita bread, Nando's sandwich and the fries were eaten over three seatings. Guys, if you ever have leftover fries, do not discard them! Keep them refrigerated, then the next day, you can 'refresh' them by putting them under the grill or the overn for a short while so they no longer stay limp but become crisp again. I use the grill / oven to make 'lao hong' lame crackers crispy and crunchy again. Works everytime. If you think about it, anything that has gone lame probably just needs the extra moisture dried up then they'll be crisp and almost like new again.
And anything you want to remain moist in the microwave oven, wet a kitchen paper towel or cotton muslin if you're quite the pro, wring it out semi-dry, lay it over the rice or dumpling or bak chang or bao and make sure you cover it entirely, then microwave as usual. The water in the towel will become steam so you end up steaming your bao / rice and they bao will come out soft and nice without getting burnt-dry and your rice will remain fluffy and moist. Sometimes, I sprinkle water all over the rice before microwaving them. That works too.
Left over fries?
I use it to make chowder . Coz it's pre-fried it taste better than the cut up potatoes you add in the soup and they soak up the soup better :P
Originally posted by elindra:Actually Missy if you marinate the minched pork in the fridge it can keep well for 5 days or so leh no need to cook
Just add soysauce and pepper and sesame oil can liao and the wine or whatever can be added at a later time for the variations to flavour
First day you know me? By the third day, I view anything raw that's been kept refrigerated with mucho suspicion.
I know I can probably keep them for a few days but it's with much trepidation.
I've thrown away raw chicken fillets on a few occasions because although they've not expired, I felt that they didn't smell nor feel right. I'd rather not risk it.
Hell, I've thrown away an entire small fish before because I think I've kept it frozen for far too long and it wouldn't taste nice anymore. ![]()
Originally posted by elindra:Left over fries?
I use it to make chowder . Coz it's pre-fried it taste better than the cut up potatoes you add in the soup and they soak up the soup better :P
Chowder is something I can never make because you can't ever make just one or two servings of chowder only. ![]()
Deep fried stuff I don't make either... because it's too much oil wastage... just for one person's one serving meal. ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:First day you know me? By the third day, I view anything raw that's been kept refrigerated with mucho suspicion.
I know I can probably keep them for a few days but it's with much trepidation.
I've thrown away raw chicken fillets on a few occasions because although they've not expired, I felt that they didn't smell nor feel right. I'd rather not risk it.
Hell, I've thrown away an entire small fish before because I think I've kept it frozen for far too long and it wouldn't taste nice anymore.
If it's raw and well marinated it can keep well way longer.
That's like wasting food :x
I'm one who eats stuff past expiry as long as they taste, smell and look ok visually with no problems
Drinking hot chocolate with marshmellows now.
Sis was stopping me buy those because she received a gift from someone for Christmas.
I told her. That is not real hot chocolate, its health food. She didnt believe me but let me buy the Hot Chocolate.
Just now, I saw the boxes of her chocolate presents chucked on the pantry food.....while my hot chocolate is sitting pretty at the kitchen counter.
If it's raw and well marinated it can keep well way longer.That's like wasting food :x
I'm one who eats stuff past expiry as long as they taste, smell and look ok visually with no problems
Especially if it's frozen. I usually freeze the meat as soon as I get home. Only take the meat off to defrost when we need it.
It's actually not "expired" as such... it's more "best before". Sometimes it just doesn't taste as nice as it would fresh. It's still edible.
Oh wow!! I've just stewed a pot of naturally sweet and really fragrant Pear and Plum drink!
I'd kept the Nashi Pears for a tad too long and they weren't optimally fresh for eating neat so I decided to stew them for a refreshing summer drink and ooooh!! Lovely!!
Too bad I ran out of gei ji (Goji Berries), otherwise, oooh!
Originally posted by honeymouse:Especially if it's frozen. I usually freeze the meat as soon as I get home. Only take the meat off to defrost when we need it.
It's actually not "expired" as such... it's more "best before". Sometimes it just doesn't taste as nice as it would fresh. It's still edible.
I used to be damn fussy
But these days I don't care that much seriously as I view it as wastage
Plus I have a super finicky hubby at home who picks at his food if it is not nice and I end up having to finish everything
If it's raw and well marinated it can keep well way longer.That's like wasting food :x
I've tons of stuff that I eat past expiry. But I draw the line at raw meats and dairy products. Oh, and chocolates too, because stale chocolates just taste YUCKS!!
Maybe, it's the paranoid nurse in me.
I can't get the germs, toxins, bad poisoning cases out of my mind! ![]()
..... i am the fresh food group.
cos even if they look rikes they are ok, smell rikes they are ok, taste rikes they are ok...
my stomach will say NO SORRY I NO RIKES.
Originally posted by Rhonda:Oh wow!! I've just stewed a pot of naturally sweet and really fragrant Pear and Plum drink!
I'd kept the Nashi Pears for a tad too long and they weren't optimally fresh for eating neat so I decided to stew them for a refreshing summer drink and ooooh!! Lovely!!
Too bad I ran out of gei ji (Goji Berries), otherwise, oooh!
Hehehe
Oh ya to get rid of wind if you don't want the usual ginger drink
Boil some pandan leaves, lemongrass and kaffer lime and add in rock sugar
It taste super chilled. You can add in some slices of ginger too for the extra ooomph
For more zest, squeeze in a lime
Originally posted by Rhonda:I've tons of stuff that I eat past expiry. But I draw the line at raw meats and dairy products. Oh, and chocolates too, because stale chocolates just taste YUCKS!!
I can't get the germs, toxins, bad poisoning cases out of my mind!
Well if the meat discolour I won't eat it but if it's good I will eat it
I have drank milk 2 weeks past the expiry date coz it was still good
No i didn't get food poisoning
Remember the last time I cooked for the kids.
No matter how much I cooked, my neice will simply spit out the foodstuffs if she does not like them.
At that time, was plenty of experimenting to see what the kids like.
In the end, its the boiled quail eggs for my neice. Deep fried chicken nuggets for the boy and cheese, ham sandwich with chilli sauce for my sis.
If it was not so funny, I will be terribly stressed out then.
I used to be damn fussyBut these days I don't care that much seriously as I view it as wastage
Plus I have a super finicky hubby at home who picks at his food if it is not nice and I end up having to finish everything
Wah liao... if I had to cook for a fussy husband...
I hope I won't end up using the wok as a weapon!
I was happier cooking for my ex. He was fussy in the beginning, but I house-trained him.
In the beginning, he'd sulk and criticise endlessly, but did I care? Nope. To me, my tastebuds said, "Mmm, NIIIIICE!!" and that's all I heard! ![]()
I used to work, take the MRT home, and then on the day, drop by to pick up some fresh vegetables and fish or stuff at the wet market at Ghim Moh, then rush home to cook dinner and by 8pm latest, usually by 7:15pm, we'd both sit down and watch TV as we eat.
Five-day work week, not much OT and even if I had to go in on Saturdays to work, I pretty much liked my workplace then.
Siiiiigh...
minced meat can be frozen and kept for quite long de mah...
Originally posted by Ferret:..... i am the fresh food group.
cos even if they look rikes they are ok, smell rikes they are ok, taste rikes they are ok...
my stomach will say NO SORRY I NO RIKES.
You my sister for now. ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:I've tons of stuff that I eat past expiry. But I draw the line at raw meats and dairy products. Oh, and chocolates too, because stale chocolates just taste YUCKS!!
I can't get the germs, toxins, bad poisoning cases out of my mind!
You are just like my brother in law, he is a micrologist? And my sister was influenced by him, such that she has a germ phobia.
Though, its the super flu and cold germs that put her down for about 2 days everytime anyone else is sick besides her, got her paranoid about personal hygience and cleaniness.
Originally posted by tare:minced meat can be frozen and kept for quite long de mah...
I know, and I have done that. Separated into single-portion size ziploc bags and frozen them. But given a choice, I don't like it. I'd do it to save money and to be economical but like what Ferret declared, "I No Rikes!" ![]()
I rememberr buying two chunk of meat, have it grind, place in separate plastic bags so one can be frozen, the other for mixing in soy sauce, oyster sauce or powdered parmesan cheese.
Did also mash in tomatoes because I use the shell for something else.
Originally posted by Rhonda:You my sister for now.
my stomach has a violent way of protesting.
no rikes = 2-3 days of tummy upset.
Well, chinese cooking actually can help the meat not smell errr.....not fresh.
Plenty of lovely spices, maybe some ginger juice.......wah lah!
Not forgetting the power of Chinese cooking wine. Zhao Xing Jiu.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:I rememberr buying two chunk of meat, have it grind, place in separate plastic bags so one can be frozen, the other for mixing in soy sauce, oyster sauce or powdered parmesan cheese.
Did also mash in tomatoes because I use the shell for something else.
what do u do with it after u add the cheese to the meat !?