would anyone like some nasty info abt throwing up noodles??
you know those magicians who pull strings out from their mouths...??
oh yes. and the noodles smelt kinda sour-ish when i was boiling them >.<
and no they're not anywhere close to the expiry date >.<
Originally posted by udontknowme:oh yes. and the noodles smelt kinda sour-ish when i was boiling them >.<
and no they're not anywhere close to the expiry date >.<
Its udon noodles?
I made laksa today for the bozz and bozz lady with vietnamese rice noodles that looks like udon noodles.
Was yours left out on the open air too long?
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
Its udon noodles?I made laksa today for the bozz and bozz lady with vietnamese rice noodles that looks like udon noodles.
Was yours left out on the open air too long?
I also used the Vietnamese Rice Noodles for my laksa! Not the thin, flat types you use for Pad Thai, but the ones that resemble Loh Shee Fun aka Bee Tai Mak but is longer. ![]()
I really wish I had bought a larger fridge. I think sooner or later, I'll end up purchasing a separate freezer because I need it.
Someday, when I have my own large kitchen, I want to learn bottling, so I can make different types of sambal and vacuum bottle them up to keep well. Can distribute to my foodie friends here!
Can also learn how to make preserves! So all that berry picking will come to good use!
And oh, can make home-made Kaya, the way my ah mah did! ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:I also used the Vietnamese Rice Noodles for my laksa! Not the thin, flat types you use for Pad Thai, but the ones that resemble Loh Shee Fun aka Bee Tai Mak but is longer.
Same Same!
I wanted to buy some kway teow, but the kway teow here looks like rice vermiceli. They are so thin!
And then I was shopping for char kway teow kacap Manis (Sweet thick soy suace) but the ones here all contains wheat, and the bozzes are on a gluten free diet!
This is a gluten free household.
So in the end, didnt make char kway teow today, only made laksa, and the porridge for the bozz lady cos she was sick.
And there was century eggs with japanese ginger slices, glass canned chai sim, salted duck egg & I stir fry some chinese vege, but she cannot take them saying I cook them too sweet.
Kayah!!!!
I should go practise making them!
and Rhon,
dont borther about that lion fella.
I have a branch of family members like that.
The worse was the very first, very popular, went overseas to study archietecture cousin, we call him 'Little big brother'. "Xiao Ge".
He went off to China and came back the strangest man ever. He can just walk on the pavement, suddenly stopped, scold scold some chinese fella and the movement can be from eye level to machiam that imaginery china fella is kneeling and begging for forgiveness kinda scolding.
Originally posted by Rhonda:I really wish I had bought a larger fridge. I think sooner or later, I'll end up purchasing a separate freezer because I need it.
Someday, when I have my own large kitchen, I want to learn bottling, so I can make different types of sambal and vacuum bottle them up to keep well. Can distribute to my foodie friends here!
Can also learn how to make preserves! So all that berry picking will come to good use!
And oh, can make home-made Kaya, the way my ah mah did!
kaya easy to make .. i made it when i was in NZ b4 ..
I ask my mum for the recipe ..
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Kayah!!!!
I should go practise making them!
It requires a lot of patience and work. Plus you have to have a source where you can get hold of fresh coconuts. And a charcoal stove is best. A lot of stirring is required periodically.
I remember grandma putting on a bandana and tying a handkerchief around her wrist to wipe off her sweat when she made kaya. I remember the heat in the kitchen from the charcoal stove. I was always in her way in the kitchen because I always wanted to participate in the cooking process, and I always got too near and then kena stepped on by her or elbowed accidentally.
But I was easily pacified... when I kena injured cause I got too close, all she had to do was give me some snacks, and I stopped crying liao.
I was born to be a foodie... ![]()
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:and Rhon,
dont borther about that lion fella.
I have a branch of family members like that.
The worse was the very first, very popular, went overseas to study archietecture cousin, we call him 'Little big brother'. "Xiao Ge".
He went off to China and came back the strangest man ever. He can just walk on the pavement, suddenly stopped, scold scold some chinese fella and the movement can be from eye level to machiam that imaginery china fella is kneeling and begging for forgiveness kinda scolding.
Wah... so ba4 dao4 one!
This kind of quarrelsome people not good to be around. ![]()
easy????!!!!
have to stir and stir and stir and stir and stir...omg...my mom made me help her once....never again thank you =P thank goodness im not crazy over kaya. hehe
Haiz... they are building so many new townhouses and apartments near me... and I can't afford any of them yet.
I want to have a well-equipped and large kitchen so I can cook for friends and invite them over for feasts.
And I also want a generous balcony for BBQ parties! ![]()
The family I am with now, is looking for another bigger house.
The one they are in now is big already, but they need somewhere bigger so the kids can get a bigger den cum playroom.
Its worse that the living room area is decorated with expensive furnitures meant for entertaining. And the den is like so small! Smaller then my bedroom at the moment!
Originally posted by udontknowme:easy????!!!!
have to stir and stir and stir and stir and stir...omg...my mom made me help her once....never again thank you =P thank goodness im not crazy over kaya. hehe
That's what I thought... EASY?!!
I remember grandma got flushed cheeks from being near the heat and the almost ceaseless stirring. Once, she tried to enlist my help in stirring, but I was a toddler and even after standing on my favourite red plastic stool, I still couldn't reach it, so I got shooed away. ![]()
I remember a large bunch of pandan leaves tied up in a knot thrown inside too. And grandma made grandpa get the coconuts and eggs from the market.
Last time, people do most of the prep work themselves. We had live chickens that grandma / grandpa had to slaughter and I was forbidden to ever watch the process. I always squatted in the bathroom watching the chooks before they got slaughtered and grandma always said, "Siow! The guay will tok your eyes, then you know!" (in Hokkien) ![]()
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:The family I am with now, is looking for another bigger house.
The one they are in now is big already, but they need somewhere bigger so the kids can get a bigger den cum playroom.
Its worse that the living room area is decorated with expensive furnitures meant for entertaining. And the den is like so small! Smaller then my bedroom at the moment!
That family must be doing pretty well financially with secure jobs. People are downsizing in this climate and only a few lucky ones are able to afford to upsize.
Think in different industry, got different group of people that can still stay afloat because their services is very needed.
hint: Personal Injury Trial Lawyer.
the recipe that mum use now, no need to stir much .. just stir a bit then leave it to cook
that was what i remember her telling me .. she was quite happy when she got that recipe.
the recipe that i used to have needs a lot of stirring. i remember i would stand over the pot, and have a book open and i read while i stir. .
Good thing was NZ weather is so cool that i find it nice to stand beside the stove..
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Think in different industry, got different group of people that can still stay afloat because their services is very needed.
hint: Personal Injury Trial Lawyer.
Orh!! Yeah... won't be left hungry! In that case, this is a good situation for him cause property would be cheaper!
Originally posted by ä¸�如就æ»:the recipe that mum use now, no need to stir much .. just stir a bit then leave it to cook
that was what i remember her telling me .. she was quite happy when she got that recipe.
the recipe that i used to have needs a lot of stirring. i remember i would stand over the pot, and have a book open and i read while i stir. .
Good thing was NZ weather is so cool that i find it nice to stand beside the stove..
I forbade myself from cooking during the recent heatwave.
I stocked up with food in the evenings when the weather was cooler, and stayed home during the day. Next summer I'll just go watch movies in the cinema the whole day to enjoy the air conditioning. ![]()
Argh! Look at the time! OK, I had better go off to sleep now otherwise tonight's shift will be a challenge! Bye peeps!
okies...going to sleep now.
And btw, I did the half morning off at a shopping mall known as Memorial Mall.
Came home with a pair of cheap but really ugly crocs, its a design that I am sure is never repeated ever again for crocs manufacturer. I might just really got a really limited edition pair in that pale pink that is my size at W5.
2 pairs of boots and a wedge heel, plenty of Estee Lauder make up and skin care sets.....and some more Lush items like a shampoo shower gel; silky underwear powder & a solid perfume.
morning lah club30s !
Originally posted by Rhonda:That's what I thought... EASY?!!
I remember grandma got flushed cheeks from being near the heat and the almost ceaseless stirring. Once, she tried to enlist my help in stirring, but I was a toddler and even after standing on my favourite red plastic stool, I still couldn't reach it, so I got shooed away.
I remember a large bunch of pandan leaves tied up in a knot thrown inside too. And grandma made grandpa get the coconuts and eggs from the market.
Last time, people do most of the prep work themselves. We had live chickens that grandma / grandpa had to slaughter and I was forbidden to ever watch the process. I always squatted in the bathroom watching the chooks before they got slaughtered and grandma always said, "Siow! The guay will tok your eyes, then you know!" (in Hokkien)
I guess the stirring could be automated with a fan or something?
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:okies...going to sleep now.
And btw, I did the half morning off at a shopping mall known as Memorial Mall.
Came home with a pair of cheap but really ugly crocs, its a design that I am sure is never repeated ever again for crocs manufacturer. I might just really got a really limited edition pair in that pale pink that is my size at W5.
2 pairs of boots and a wedge heel, plenty of Estee Lauder make up and skin care sets.....and some more Lush items like a shampoo shower gel; silky underwear powder & a solid perfume.
wah! more shoes...you going for imelda's record izit?