Originally posted by Keii:Another fellow 'artist' who's all airs. NATO one lah, think they atas designer ah. Go art school, come out, work in a professional design field then come back and talk ah. Don't 'express opinions' based on internet readings, hearsay and other people's experiences.
he says i have a narrow view of photography ![]()
well actually i'm narrow, down the portrait path, but i am open to new ideas, not 1/2 f*ck images.
why the f*ck do i wanna look at 1/2 f*ck event / food / insect shots when i have no interest in that in the first place?
Originally posted by kopiosatu:i still don't understand why people must critique, and the people who critique are not industry old birds.
i personally think that everyone has their own eye. if u like photos, as a beginner... COPY
then when u get better, STEAL.
Damn right.
Here's what we should look out for, when the old birds talk, we listen. The others talk, they may have points, and if it's constructive and it makes sense. Heck, why not.
One bloody true quote in the visual design industry.
"Bad artists copy, good artists steal." Pablo Picasso
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Give him a link to your website--that should shut him up for good!
Yah, looks like yesterday's stock market rally has fizzled out, and I keep reading in the financial papers that we haven't quite hit rock bottom yet. Hang in there with your investments, though--the Obamessiah has promised to pull us out of this slump!
i rather not. judging from his replies, he is quite... camera geek level, so no point.
my investments dropped 40%.
how long more do i have to tahan??? people in SG all transferred funds, i think i'm one of the kukus who hang onto the global fund... hoping US will pull out of it
Originally posted by kopiosatu:he says i have a narrow view of photography
well actually i'm narrow, down the portrait path, but i am open to new ideas, not 1/2 f*ck images.
why the f*ck do i wanna look at 1/2 f*ck event / food / insect shots when i have no interest in that in the first place?
Narrow? I don't think it's called narrow. More like you have a focus and interest. You wanna use the term narrow?
He's narrow. All he knows are photography terms. What about the 'eye' for visuals. What about the end result.
If he's taking a sports shot, is he gonna tinker all the bloody tools to get the perfect shot? He'll never get a single shot, if he does, it'll be bad.
Heck, throw him a camera. He'll never be able to grasp it.
Originally posted by Keii:
Damn right.
Here's what we should look out for, when the old birds talk, we listen. The others talk, they may have points, and if it's constructive and it makes sense. Heck, why not.
One bloody true quote in the visual design industry.
"Bad artists copy, good artists steal." Pablo Picasso
crap snap thrives on negativity
and the positives are not helping people improve either ![]()
its like they just say "nice shot" then they put a thumbs up... to a photo that clearly be improved.
but by giving that kind of positive feedback, the fella has a higher chance of feeling like he has "reached the level"
Originally posted by kopiosatu:crap snap thrives on negativity
and the positives are not helping people improve either
its like they just say "nice shot" then they put a thumbs up... to a photo that clearly be improved.
but by giving that kind of positive feedback, the fella has a higher chance of feeling like he has "reached the level"
I think they'll just crumble, crash and burn if they recieved really good constructive criticism. Pack up their bags, sell their cameras and never touch photography again.
Originally posted by Keii:Heck, throw him a camera. He'll never be able to grasp it.
take LF's gaffer tape and tie to his hand. ![]()
btw, my friend who's a graphic designer submitted some work last time and the fella looked at the work and said "you're using a mac right?"
my friend was like -_-" wtf has the computer gotta do with the output ![]()
Originally posted by kopiosatu:take LF's gaffer tape and tie to his hand.
btw, my friend who's a graphic designer submitted some work last time and the fella looked at the work and said "you're using a mac right?"
my friend was like -_-" wtf has the computer gotta do with the output
Fail. ![]()
Let bigots be bigots. ![]()
Originally posted by Keii:
I think they'll just crumble, crash and burn if they recieved really good constructive criticism. Pack up their bags, sell their cameras and never touch photography again.
i'd love that but the industry old birds are busy earning money ![]()
Originally posted by kopiosatu:my investments dropped 40%.
how long more do i have to tahan??? people in SG all transferred funds, i think i'm one of the kukus who hang onto the global fund... hoping US will pull out of it
I had an interesting talk with my financial advisor last week. He mentioned that, historically, market turnarounds usually happen not long after companies trim their workforce through massive layoffs to reduce their payroll burden. He predicted a surge in layoff announcements within the next few months, to be followed by a gradual economic recovery as companies return to profitability.
What he said may be true, but it doesn't ameliorate the anguish of the common investor who sees that his portfolio is currently worth about half of what it was two years ago...
few months~ by that time... 80% loss?
then after that its the slow climb to break even
Originally posted by kopiosatu:few months~ by that time... 80% loss?
then after that its the slow climb to break even
If it ever comes to that, think of it as a buying opportunity! ![]()
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:
If it ever comes to that, think of it as a buying opportunity!
that's what i'm thinking.
the moment it can climb, it'll be low enough
i can pump more money!!
won ton noodles inhaled
noodles thru the nose.. that's new
so early open door tonight? anyway still grappling with excel model
I'm back from dinner and the rendering is about 85% done. It's taking up so much memory that when I shake the mouse to activate the screen, it's almost time for it to go back to sleep awake when it finally lights up.
And I'm now faced with that question that appears on the forums so often - what kind of present do I get for a friend's birthday? She's from Mexico and we're not that close. ![]()
$2 angpow ![]()
i love air crash investigation but its always repeated.
Gosh, that took 1 hour and 40 minutes! The overnight estimation was way off the mark then. It was based on the worst-case scenario, which happened to my other classmate.
Now for the second picture...(I've logged onto 2 computers)
home.. dinner eaten..
tired ![]()
damn man, feel like going out.
good for u guys.. me stuck in office... 9pm call.
the fella making complaints about his employer isn't giving up even though he got banned multiple times
Originally posted by kopiosatu:damn man, feel like going out.
stay at home, lie on bed, save money ![]()