Originally posted by Rhonda:I do have a craving for some food from Singapore Chom Chom.
I have been extremely frugal, eating stuff from my pantry these days. It pays to be a packrat sometimes... I'm surprised how much instant noodles, canned chunky soup, and assorted canned food I have stocked up in my pantry!
Hey missy, have you tried the Old Town Kopitiam in Chinatown??? It's quite good. I took my cousin there last Friday and the Bak Kut Teh is much better there.
But if you prefer Singapore Chom Chom, SCC it is!
Yes, it's quite handy to have food in the pantry especially when you're sick at home like I was yesterday.
Originally posted by tare:
ni na bei!!! just cos i'm offline when u say tis doesn't mean i won't see it...
hisk... u dun think u can get away with tis too....
/panda claw both master and hisk into shreds
I never say you 40 plus leh..........
Originally posted by udontknowme:so, any chance i may be able to find a paid/unpaid job or internship of some sort when i get to singapore >.<
wat sort of job in which line are you looking for?
Originally posted by udontknowme:hurhur. i gots a very 'interesting' PM.
someone called me a babe!
hi udon babe ![]()
Originally posted by Rhonda:
Master and Hisk, you guys better run as fast as you can!
I don't want to have to clean up after tare's carnage!
Eee yerh... blood splatters, torn off body parts... eee yerh!
And oh, good morning, sayang panda!
Good to see you're so vigorous and energetic this morning!
morn missy! ![]()
tml will be my last day here in this job le... next wk onwards, i'll prob not be able to online often... well, at least until i settled in new job heheehehee....
i have until tml to settle all my work, which is highly impossible >.<
say i stress myself too much
Originally posted by honeymouse:Hey missy, have you tried the Old Town Kopitiam in Chinatown??? It's quite good. I took my cousin there last Friday and the Bak Kut Teh is much better there.
But if you prefer Singapore Chom Chom, SCC it is!
Yes, it's quite handy to have food in the pantry especially when you're sick at home like I was yesterday.
Didn't know you were sick!
Hope you're feeling much better now!
I think with the changes in weather conditions, lots of people have taken ill.
It's been warm, then suddenly chilly. It's that unpredictable time of year again when Summer is trying hard to hang on whilst Autumn is assertively edging in.
Last night, it felt so cold I think it's time to change my bedlinen to the Autumn/Winter collection liao! ![]()
Oh... I've never tried eating at that restaurant but I'm game for a try.
I went to Hawker's Cafe twice, once in each of their two branches. Verdict : Total waste of money - YUCKS! They have young PRC boys in their kitchen and both times, I thoroughly regretted eating at their restaurants. Never again. ![]()
I think I just take Singapore food for granted and eat Japanese, Pasta, Thai etc except for local food :P
morn missy!tml will be my last day here in this job le... next wk onwards, i'll prob not be able to online often... well, at least until i settled in new job heheehehee....
time realli flies ..
2 more days!
jia you!
and .. do as much as you can .. then at 6pm, you just say bye bye ..
hohoho
old town coffee and tea. yumm!!
i don't see what's wrong with unpaid jobs/internships. it's just part time anyway. and i don't desperately need the money (k, this is not really true). i just really want something to do. volunteering in singapore (based on the few stories i've heard) is shit because people (non-volunteers in the org, people running the org) don't respect you etc...and i know in certain hotels, they let people do internships in the kitchen for a couple of months. but they don't get paid.
and i like cats wayyy more than dogs.
Originally posted by ä¸�如就æ»:wat sort of job in which line are you looking for?
anything which'll take me?? hahaha. >.<
me pops says he'll try looking ard museums to see if they'll take interns...
Originally posted by hisoka:I never say you 40 plus leh..........
close to 40 ain't tat much better either! gggrrr~~~~
morn missy!tml will be my last day here in this job le... next wk onwards, i'll prob not be able to online often... well, at least until i settled in new job heheehehee....
You do. I've been reading your posts and you're overly concerned about how your replacement will perform. To be honest, that's really not something you should waste time worrying about. As long as you have done your part in handing over, whether or not the replacement performs well or liak bo kiu is really something between her and her bosses. Not your pasah liao!
Congratulations on your last day! You tong so long, very gwai, sayang panda! *pat-pats tare on the back! *throws snacks to sayang panda! ![]()
I wish you all the best in your new job! Hope your bosses and colleagues will be nice... and no more strange rules and perfume bombs! ![]()
Originally posted by udontknowme:old town coffee and tea. yumm!!
i don't see what's wrong with unpaid jobs/internships. it's just part time anyway. and i don't desperately need the money (k, this is not really true). i just really want something to do. volunteering in singapore (based on the few stories i've heard) is shit because people (non-volunteers in the org, people running the org) don't respect you etc...and i know in certain hotels, they let people do internships in the kitchen for a couple of months. but they don't get paid.
and i like cats wayyy more than dogs.
which hotel??
so cek ark!
Originally posted by udontknowme:anything which'll take me?? hahaha. >.<
me pops says he'll try looking ard museums to see if they'll take interns...
macdonald part time staff ![]()
anyway seriously if you're looking for an internship you should be emailing the companies now
Originally posted by elindra:I think I just take Singapore food for granted and eat Japanese, Pasta, Thai etc except for local food :P
Most 'Japanese' restaurants here aren't really authentic. One gets a bit tired of trying, only to get disappointed and wasting one's money so I've given up and stopped trying.
However, I seem to have taken note of three Japanese restaurants that appear to be pretty authentic so sometime soon, I'll probably drag one of my friends to go try them out. ![]()
You should see what a hopeless basket case I am when it comes to Prima food packs! Everytime I cook Mee Siam or Laksa using the Prima packs, I tell myself to ration so that I can enjoy over two days but I always end up eating them over two meals for the entire day.
Believe you guys have heard that my possum is back at our place...
We recently found out that this possum is the "child" of the mama possum that used to lived in our wall. The one that has been living at the front since we got back from overseas is not the same one as before.
How did we know that? We found a dead possum (much bigger one) in our backyard on the weekend. Usually, possum is territorial so very rarely you will have 2 possums hang out in the same area. So we guess that might be the mum. So sad. Must be the heat and not getting enough water. Anyway, hubby buried her in the backyard and even made a cross with a word "RIP" on it.
A day after we buried mama possum, the little possum had gone missing. We were quite worried and hope we didn't find another dead possum in the backyard considering the hot weather we had. But at the same time we thought it might be a possibility that the little possum had gone and taken over his/her mum's dwelling.
Anyway, it was raining quite hard this morning and guess what. The possum is back again. Both hubby and I feel so relieved that the little possum is back safe and sound! ![]()
Originally posted by ä¸�如就æ»:which hotel??
so cek ark!
Hanor!! It's exploitation of labour!
After working here, I don't think it'll be easy transitioning back to Singapore's working conditions. There's hardly any employee rights. I like working here where there are strict anti-bullying policies and Unions. Things aren't exactly peachy here all the time but I feel a bit more 'secure' with strong and effective union backing and workplace laws. Australia is huge on workplace safety. Employers also do not dare to exploit their employees because they will end up in hot soup!
Originally posted by honeymouse:Believe you guys have heard that my possum is back at our place...
We recently found out that this possum is the "child" of the mama possum that used to lived in our wall. The one that has been living at the front since we got back from overseas is not the same one as before.
How did we know that? We found a dead possum (much bigger one) in our backyard on the weekend. Usually, possum is territorial so very rarely you will have 2 possums hang out in the same area. So we guess that might be the mum. So sad. Must be the heat and not getting enough water. Anyway, hubby buried her in the backyard and even made a cross with a word "RIP" on it.
A day after we buried mama possum, the little possum had gone missing. We were quite worried and hope we didn't find another dead possum in the backyard considering the hot weather we had. But at the same time we thought it might be a possibility that the little possum had gone and taken over his/her mum's dwelling.
Anyway, it was raining quite hard this morning and guess what. The possum is back again. Both hubby and I feel so relieved that the little possum is back safe and sound!
Awwww... poor mama possum!
Maybe she just died of old age!
Looks like the two of you are already resigned to unofficially 'adopting' the baby possum as your house mascot!
It just might be a peaceful co-existence afterall. Maybe leave some titbits and water for the baby?
Take photos!
Originally posted by honeymouse:Believe you guys have heard that my possum is back at our place...
Anyway, it was raining quite hard this morning and guess what. The possum is back again. Both hubby and I feel so relieved that the little possum is back safe and sound!
maybe the bigger possum was killed off by the smaller one when the smaller one tried to take over the territory?
TAKE PICTURE OF BABY POSSUM PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! =D =D
unpaid internship when it comes to working in the kitchen is not that uncommon i think. especially higher class ones. but really, being underpaid etc is not that uncommon at all in north america. especially in smaller companies. sure, canada has lots of laws about this. but since when do people follow them. there are always loopholes.
Originally posted by Rhonda:Didn't know you were sick!
Hope you're feeling much better now!
I think with the changes in weather conditions, lots of people have taken ill.
It's been warm, then suddenly chilly. It's that unpredictable time of year again when Summer is trying hard to hang on whilst Autumn is assertively edging in.
Last night, it felt so cold I think it's time to change my bedlinen to the Autumn/Winter collection liao!
Oh... I've never tried eating at that restaurant but I'm game for a try.
I went to Hawker's Cafe twice, once in each of their two branches. Verdict : Total waste of money - YUCKS! They have young PRC boys in their kitchen and both times, I thoroughly regretted eating at their restaurants. Never again.
Think I am still recovering from the trip..... It may not be a good idea to come straight to work the next day after being back. Lots of things going on within the company (colleagues made redundant), etc So probably stress related. Anyway, feeling better now. Thanks! ![]()
It's indeed getting cold. I turned on the heater for the first time last night since November. The night before it was so warm I had to keep the fan running. Oh well, that's Melbourne for you!
When are you free to meet up?
Originally posted by hisoka:maybe the bigger possum was killed off by the smaller one when the smaller one tried to take over the territory?
I was watching a National Geographic documentary just now and I really love the lives led by the biologists - exploring different natural environments trying to discover new species and finding out more about the survival of the flora and fauna. ![]()
I bought this fasinating hardcover book on the Sea Creatures of the Deep. I really love looking at photos of the fluorescent deep sea creatures! They are so pretty and yet, so alien! ![]()
So tired
I wanna sleep
Originally posted by hisoka:maybe the bigger possum was killed off by the smaller one when the smaller one tried to take over the territory?
No injuries.....
Initially we thought it was killed by our neighbour's cat but there wasn't any sign of injuries etc..... We were short of doing an autopsy on her though! ![]()
Originally posted by udontknowme:TAKE PICTURE OF BABY POSSUM PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! =D =D
unpaid internship when it comes to working in the kitchen is not that uncommon i think. especially higher class ones. but really, being underpaid etc is not that uncommon at all in north america. especially in smaller companies. sure, canada has lots of laws about this. but since when do people follow them. there are always loopholes.
Well, over here, as far as I know, it's illegal to flout such rules and employers can really get into serious legal trouble. The minimum wage guidelines are strictly implemented. That is, unless one is an illegal immigrant working in one of those dodgy organisations that Immigration is always after. ![]()
I'm surprised that Canada is lax about it...