Pls la this is like more than 20 y rs ago. I was only 8 or 9 yrs old thenThat time we even have 1 cent coins
What is 5 cents man. And last time 5 cents can buy me 3 sweets leh. KNS give me 1 sweet and expect me to accept that as change.
I tried telling the aunty first that I want 5 cents not the sweet but got shooed away so yes she pissed me off too
if it's 20 yrs ago, yeah 5c was very big...
Originally posted by sbst275:
if it's 20 yrs ago, yeah 5c was very big...
I was only in primary school then
around 8 or 9
It is very big lor. It can get me a nice drink somemore
Why the hell would I want a sweet as change :x
Seriously this makes me wonder about charity these daysMaybe they need to bring back Sharity Elephant :P
I think it's the system about donations having a minimum sum etc is giving rise to idiots like that girl in AA would scolded her for not donating this voucher she has for free shoes instead of using it on herself.
This totally warped sense of donations is really -_-"
Donations should be given out of the heart and not forced and coerced out of people.
tat's why I'm worried abt e future in 10 yrs time when many of these kids grow up and run e country
Originally posted by fudgester:Then what if the kid himself comes from a poor family?
The school will simply ask fellow classmates to chip in, that's how things work these days.
But that's not the crux.
The issue is why the fark is there even such thing as a "minimum sum"?
That's not donation already if it's mandatory.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:
Exactly!He suggested KL....which me and the other fellow said no.
Basically, airplane too expensive (we are the super budget type), no car or license....bus and train = too long for him.
So we asked: wtf is it you want?
and he said: shopping!
Wa lao.
oki.. it sounded kindda of weird to me..
singapore not enough place to shop meh.. what u see in KL/HKG/BKK shopping mall, u have it here.
we dun have beautiful mother nature mountains, lakes, waterfalls, etc.. why pple must fly overseas to shop?
and worse, drag their boyfriends along and the guys sulked all the way.. hahaha
I've seen primary school kids asking strangers to donate so that they can fill up their donation cards :XI guess that is what they do
Supposedly that's what they are supposed to do...
Kinda like MLD. (Multi-level Donations)![]()
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
oki.. it sounded kindda of weird to me..singapore not enough place to shop meh.. what u see in KL/HKG/BKK shopping mall, u have it here.
we dun have beautiful mother nature mountains, lakes, waterfalls, etc.. why pple must fly overseas to shop?
I remembered going to KLCC... piangz it's like our Ngee Ann City but really things aren't cheaper there and tat Kinokuniya is so much smaller
oki.. it sounded kindda of weird to me..singapore not enough place to shop meh.. what u see in KL/HKG/BKK shopping mall, u have it here.
Coz not everyone appreciates nature?
My dad is the typical example
We cut short our holiday in Bali coz it's like beaches and nature nia and my dad was going crazy with bordem
He is the typical Singaporean who likes to shop and eat
2 days of nature and he is bored to death.
And hor not every one likes to cheong sua like you leh LF.
You ask me to go window shopping I'll sulk also.
No $$ see what?
But then it's about give and take...so sometimes really bo bian lor. Stick my hands into my pockets and window "shop".
lolbut it means you dun need to go Senai to take budget flights liao
yah lor.. that time, i still find the bus/cab $ and timing very confusing...
and my friends scare being robbed there too..
hahaa.
Supposedly that's what they are supposed to do...Kinda like MLD. (Multi-level Donations)
The whole problem is that it's teaching kids the wrong values!
The worst thing is that if you can't meet the minimum you get looked down upon or scolded or insulted!!!
And I know of cases where kids parents who gave the most are like treated extra special by the teachers etc
Anyway that is not how donations are supposed to work!!!
Coz not everyone appreciates nature?My dad is the typical example
We cut short our holiday in Bali coz it's like beaches and nature nia and my dad was going crazy with bordem
maybe i bring your dad to cheong sua... and play among the snow..
and probably set up mahjong table and play at the peak of glacier mountains at 4.200m .. something i have not done before..![]()
yah lor.. that time, i still find the bus/cab $ and timing very confusing...and my friends scare being robbed there too..
hahaa.
now they finally they want to learn from us how to plan KL's tpt system
Their bus routes are all centralised in KL (JB practices tis).. so if you wanna go from 1 surburbs like Klang Valley to PJ, gotta transfer bus at KL... tat's why e place is packed also...
they dun have bus svs like our 30 or 154 tat goes from East to West w/o entering CBD
Coz not everyone appreciates nature?My dad is the typical example
I love to go to natural reserves one.. see those wetland or sort
but I put it, I hate outfield life in army cos of my skin eczema ![]()
maybe i bring your dad to cheong sua... and play among the snow..and probably set up mahjong table and play at the peak of glacier mountains at 4.200m .. something i have not done before..
Hahahaha
My dad dunno how to play mahjong
My parents dun gamble one so they dunno how to play cards or mahjong save for Blackjack.
They dun drink or smoke either.
And hor he is a super fussy picky eater....actually not so bad now coz he dun wan to waste food but when I was much much younger if it's not nice he wun eat liao.
Originally posted by sbst275:I love to go to natural reserves one.. see those wetland or sort
but I put it, I hate outfield life in army cos of my skin eczema
For me a bit is ok la
Sometimes it's nice but not to much
Coz I have an aversion to dirt :x
The only thing is that having to clean tank filters kinda make me used to dirt these days but still :X
The whole problem is that it's teaching kids the wrong values!The worst thing is that if you can't meet the minimum you get looked down upon or scolded or insulted!!!
And I know of cases where kids parents who gave the most are like treated extra special by the teachers etc
Anyway that is not how donations are supposed to work!!!
MLM-stylised MLD.![]()
What to do?
The system is going the dog-eat-dog way.
Donations were never supposed to work that way...nor is it only at the school level. When I was still a NSF we also kena things like these, and the regulars too.
But when you're earning a little dough, it's a little easier to swallow, so I didn't say much.
But it's still the same, don't donate or donate too little and you get to meet the higher command.![]()
The system is obviously perverse and virulent.
maybe i bring your dad to cheong sua... and play among the snow..and probably set up mahjong table and play at the peak of glacier mountains at 4.200m .. something i have not done before..
I wanted to climb Kinabalu, but nobody seems keen on trying....sigh.
You ask me to go window shopping I'll sulk also.No $$ see what?
But then it's about give and take...so sometimes really bo bian lor. Stick my hands into my pockets and window "shop".
i dun really like to shop in KL. cos i kana a few incidents.
typical stereotyping everywhere..
my KL friends erhem..are not too well-off but they still don their funky clothes and dragged me to go shop in armani etc ..shops..
as usual, i was wearing my oversized worn-till-almost-got-hole old t-shirt, a cheapo bermuda and a cheapo flip flog...hair tied to a bun.. a typical auntie look with a cheapo waist pounch around my waist :)
the staff gave me a nasty look and ignored me...(maybe they think i am their maid)..hahaha..maybe i brought this upon myself..
they went goo goo gaa gaa on my friends (who wore very nicely)..until my friends want to buy something, they came to ask me for help..to help pay 1st (they paid me cash back), and when i wipped out my erhem gold card (during year 1996), the sales person turned their attention to me and started to be polite .. nb!!
MLM-stylised MLD.What to do?
The system is going the dog-eat-dog way.
Donations were never supposed to work that way...nor is it only at the school level. When I was still a NSF we also kena things like these, and the regulars too.
But when you're earning a little dough, it's a little easier to swallow, so I didn't say much.
But it's still the same, don't donate or donate too little and you get to meet the higher command.
The system is obviously perverse and virulent.
That is the sickening thing about it :X
And we wonder why we get emo kids these days are kids that are totally too cynical for their age :x
That is why we need the rare Idealist like Fatum around. Though we might not agree with him all the time but it's still nice to have someone that is idealistic around.
I wanted to climb Kinabalu, but nobody seems keen on trying....sigh.
me.. !!
but my knee caps give me problems.. cant climb !
but give me 1 year, let me train,...we go together??? if u dun mind an auntie yakakakakaking all the way up with u...
hahaha..
Actually what I really fear is e society ends up divided literally bet e heartlanders and e elites one day
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:i dun really like to shop in KL. cos i kana a few incidents.
typical stereotyping everywhere..
my KL friends erhem..are not too well-off but they still don their funky clothes and dragged me to go shop in armani etc ..shops..
as usual, i was wearing my oversized worn-till-almost-got-hole old t-shirt, a cheapo bermuda and a cheapo flip flog...hair tied to a bun.. a typical auntie look with a cheapo waist pounch around my waist :)
the staff gave me a nasty look and ignored me...(maybe they think i am their maid)..hahaha..maybe i brought this upon myself..
they went goo goo gaa gaa on my friends (who wore very nicely)..until my friends want to buy something, they came to ask me for help..to help pay 1st (they paid me cash back), and when i wipped out my erhem gold card (during year 1996), the sales person turned their attention to me and started to be polite .. nb!!
Lol that is very normal la
But I think these days go Malaysia dressing down and look poor is best :x
now they finally they want to learn from us how to plan KL's tpt systemTheir bus routes are all centralised in KL (JB practices tis).. so if you wanna go from 1 surburbs like Klang Valley to PJ, gotta transfer bus at KL... tat's why e place is packed also...
they dun have bus svs like our 30 or 154 tat goes from East to West w/o entering CBD
but i dun understand why their MRT so short lor..
i took their train system...and after a few stop, bor liao.. back to travel via traffic congesting roads.
what is the use??
Originally posted by elindra:Lol that is very normal la
But I think these days go Malaysia dressing down and look poor is best :x
i used to wear old torn tshirt and old long batik pants and lousy slippers and mesy hair.. i think nobody bother to rob me...haha..