Originally posted by Ferret:its ok.
you and i know the truth... no need to proclaim to the world...
You are delusional. ![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:
you see organisation like SAF... e organisation will never fail, and now the elite that runs it is in their own world. You see how e recent death case, he has HBP yet he's made to go for field camp... and I know of NSF w/ skin prob also made to go outfield...from young, a easy path has been developed for them once they're identified... they never have to go through difficult path to succeed.. and also they're isolated away from all groups of e heartlanders
e FTs, like I've said if they're willing to settle, adapt well and contribute, to me it's ok...
Same la I dun mind FTs who are willing to settle, adapt well and contribute
I dun think anyone will mind lor
seems tat CNA's Singapore news page is congested
Originally posted by elindra:Same la I dun mind FTs who are willing to settle, adapt well and contribute
I dun think anyone will mind lor
it's e elite class tat's more disturbing
many things are runned on paper now
Originally posted by Keii:
You are delusional.
What I find disturbing that in schools now there is this Singaporeans vs FT mentality too la
At this rate even if they wanna fit in also difficult
but most FTs who come to singapore consider the place they came from Home. and they feel more attached to that place. or for the case of my family, it's cos almost all our family members are in canada and it's just more convenient for us.
if they'll let us take multiple passports, my family would have taken the singapore one already....
[but then of course there'll be people talking about getting 'benefits' from both countries and running off to one when another is in trouble...etc ]
You are delusional.
.... too much mushrooms.
oh me head..... oh me paws... oh me whiskers...
Originally posted by udontknowme:but most FTs who come to singapore consider the place they came from Home. and they feel more attached to that place. or for the case of my family, it's cos almost all our family members are in canada and it's just more convenient for us.
if they'll let us take multiple passports, my family would have taken the singapore one already....
[but then of course there'll be people talking about getting 'benefits' from both countries and running off to one when another is in trouble...etc ]
well there's always ppl settle here for good... like my M'sian chinese friends..
Originally posted by elindra:What I find disturbing that in schools now there is this Singaporeans vs FT mentality too la
At this rate even if they wanna fit in also difficult
yeap... I always tell ppl, weren't our forefathers once immigrants tat came here to cari makan initially?
Originally posted by sbst275:
yeap... I always tell ppl, weren't our forefathers once immigrants tat came here to cari makan initially?
I dun like those freeloading FT too
But if we don't make them feel at home, even the good ones will leave
then schools should stop giving out the stacks of papers on the first day of school that show each person's place of birth etc. i've only been made to be 'odd' when i was in local schools.
and anyway, this whole issue is too complicated to be discussed in such a manner. hurhur.
can't wait for dinner!
I dun like those freeloading FT tooBut if we don't make them feel at home, even the good ones will leave
yeap
udon is in Singapore liao ar?
hoh hoh hoh
hearing from my sis, she's going to step foot on e poly campus she used to study cos e antique bldg is going to be torn down and a farewell party is set
Actually if you think about it, Singaporeans have different acceptance towards FTs from different countries
Malaysians are treated like Singaporeans seriously
Ang Mos are treated by gods by some idiots
Filippinos are treated ok. They are seen as the creative people (especially if they are not here as maids)
Indonesians are treated ok too
Indians are stereotyped as IT ppl and I think there are mixed feelings about them
BUT... for the PRCs, the feeling has been just bad
Originally posted by elindra:Actually if you think about it, Singaporeans have different acceptance towards FTs from different countries
Filippinos are treated ok. They are seen as the creative people (especially if they are not here as maids)
Indians are stereotyped as IT ppl and I think there are mixed feelings about them
PRCs, some are ok... but some really extreme, insist they're correct though ppl point out it's wrong
Originally posted by elindra:Actually if you think about it, Singaporeans have different acceptance towards FTs from different countries
I have nothing against those making their own way here.
Its those being given a free ride and red carpet treatment by the gahmen that irritates the hell out of me. E.g. scholarships for foreigners. And its not like these people even have to apply. They are identified in their home countries by MOE.
And things being what they are, if by some accident I have children, I'll make sure my sons never serve NS.
Originally posted by av98m:I have nothing against those making their own way here.
Its those being given a free ride and red carpet treatment by the gahmen that irritates the hell out of me. E.g. scholarships for foreigners. And its not like these people even have to apply. They are identified in their home countries by MOE.
reminds me of one letter article in PAP Times some yrs back...
when tat guy came to Singapore and went off for their scholarship in UK, he realised e pasture is greener outside
saying wants to get away from e scholarship
I dunno, but sometimes locals aren't even identified away from e elites and nutured... and we can have uni shunning late developers
I was never treated like one, but I have tons of idiots hanging around me. Then again, I'm half ang mo, that would probably make me a demigod. Jokes! ![]()
I was never treated like one, but I have tons of idiots hanging around me. Then again, I'm half ang mo, that would probably make me a demigod. Jokes!
You're born in Singapore
That makes you Singaporean
And yeah for ppl stuck in the colonial period will treat you like a demigod
LOL
For the PRCs, they have their country men and the government to blame.
The way alot of them behave and demand things to be done their way do not endear them. As that australian guy said the last time. This is our country and you either adapt or ship out, don't expect us to change for you.
And of course the singapore government giving tonnes of free scholarships to them doesn't help either.
was referred to this v v v interesting site... www.fmylife.com
damn funny loh.
here's a few selected picks :
Today, I wanted revenge on the rabbit who ate my garden's plants. When he returned, he was standing next to my brand new above-ground swimming pool. I pull out my 22. rifle and shot at it, but the bullet missed and popped a hole in my pool. 15,000 gallons of water flooded my basement. FML
Today, was my music recital. I was playing and sneezed really loud into my saxophone which made the mouthpiece blurt out of my mouth. I have a neck strap and as the saxophone came back towards me the mouthpiece hit me in the head. I knocked myself out in front of the audience. FML
Today, my boyfriend invited me over so I went, not thinking anything of it. To my surprise, he broke up with me. I was pretty upset, and as I was leaving his mom hands me a box. When I got home I opened it. His mom baked me a break up cake. FML
Today, my boyfriend of 2 years took me to get a tattoo done with his name on. He paid for it. After it was done he told me it was over between us and he thought it'd be a nice reminder of him for me. FML
Today, I found out my parents joined the mile high club. While I was on the plane. FML
Today, I was working at a grocery store and a man came to my register to ask for the price of a mop. I took the mop from him to scan it without realizing the pole was between his legs. I hit him in the crotch with the pole. FML
Today, I received my passport in the mail. They got my birthdate wrong. Then I picked up my birth certificate that I had sent in with the application. Turns out my parents have been celebrating my birthday on the wrong day for 16 years. FML
Today, I saw an elderly man fall in a crosswalk, so I jumped off my bike to help. As I helped him across, the light turned green. At that point I noticed my phone had fallen out of my pocket in the street and was run over by several cars. I then watched across a 6 lane street as someone stole my bike. FML
more funnies :
Today, I had drunk sex with a girl that I barely know. I didn't have a condom and was nervous about getting her pregnant, but she assured me that I could pull out. Right when I was about to pull out, she wrapped her legs around me and yelled : "BE MY BABY'S DADDY!" I couldn't get out in time. FML
Today, my husband of 9 years announced he was gay. He insinuated that he was only able to achieve erections because I looked like a man. FML
Today, I was rejected from the University of Washington. My dad has been a professor there for 30 years, and is on the board of admissions. FML
Today, I was at a club with my girlfriend of only two weeks. As we were dancing, another woman grabbed my ass from behind me and squeezed. I yelped and turned around to see my mother as the culprit. My girlfriend punched her. I found out my mother is a Cougar and my girl has a mean right hook. FML
Today, I took the bus to work and a sweet old lady got on after me and sat next to me. Halfway to work, she fell asleep and her head was on my shoulder. Trying to be nice, I gently tried to wake her up before my stop came. She wasn't sleeping. I let a dead woman lie on me for 30 minutes. FML
Today, my wife went to the hospital because she had been gaining weight recently and had missed her period the last three months. We thought it was menopause. Turns out she's pregnant. I've been sterile since the day I was born. FML
Hope i ish notch flooding =x
Today, I spent $160 on a spa package for me and my best friend because her boyfriend just broke up with her, and she has been really upset for the past week. Turns out her boyfriend broke up with her because she had been cheating on him. With MY boyfriend. FML
Today, my best friend slapped me and called me a some colorful words before telling me that she never wanted to talk to me again because I supposedly slept with her boyfriend. Not only am I a virgin, but I'm a lesbian. FML
Today, I went up to a secluded mountain my boyfriend took me to for our first date. As I saw another couple hooking up in the bushes, I phoned my boyfriend to tell him someone found our secret spot. His Bob Marley ringtone started playing from the bush. FML
Today, my friend had to take my cat who has a tumor to be put down when I wasn't home since I couldn't bare to take him myself. I have two cats. He took the wrong one. FML
Today, my parents were out so I invited my girlfriend over. It was the afternoon, and things started to heat up.We were having sex, and I was about to finish. Then I looked through the window, to see a construction worker (who was fixing the house next to mine) giving me a thumbs up. He's her dad. FML
Today, an old girlfriend from years ago wanted to have lunch. Seeing as I had nothing to do, I went with her.She introduced me to her son. Apparently I am the father. My son is 6. FM
Today, my mom walked in on me looking at a 1978 playboy. She asked if I found it in the basement. I said yes.Then I realized she was the centerfold. FML
Today, I decided to use my mentor's advice. I told her I had been having some trouble controlling my anger, she told me to throw rocks at trees. I threw a rock at a tree, very hard. It bounced back hit me above the eye.I'm still pissed as shit. FML