I know I can't expect everyone to like me, and I'm not expecting it too, but it really feels like they're not keen to interact with me unless they absolutely have to, and that's how it's been since day one. Only one person bothered enough to say hi and talk to me, and the rest just sort of behaved as though I was transparent (until we bumped into each other at the washroom or pantry).
Originally posted by MooKu:I just started work, and I don't think I'm getting along very well with the people I have to work closely with :\ Another colleague helpfully suggested I should try to take more initiative to go talk to those colleagues and ask them out for lunch (they disappear the moment it's 12! and they don't go for lunch together), but some of them have been a little unfriendly so far, and... one has even openly shown distrust in me. I've been receiving the barest minimum of guidance... and... goodness, I just feel so sad working there.
If I should provide details... just lemme know okie... :\
*pat pat* hugz
Originally posted by MooKu:I know I can't expect everyone to like me, and I'm not expecting it too, but it really feels like they're not keen to interact with me unless they absolutely have to, and that's how it's been since day one. Only one person bothered enough to say hi and talk to me, and the rest just sort of behaved as though I was transparent (until we bumped into each other at the washroom or pantry).
is this your first few days in the company ?
Originally posted by MooKu:I just started work, and I don't think I'm getting along very well with the people I have to work closely with :\ Another colleague helpfully suggested I should try to take more initiative to go talk to those colleagues and ask them out for lunch (they disappear the moment it's 12! and they don't go for lunch together), but some of them have been a little unfriendly so far, and... one has even openly shown distrust in me. I've been receiving the barest minimum of guidance... and... goodness, I just feel so sad working there.
If I should provide details... just lemme know okie... :\
I once told myself that if I didn't like someone I'm working with, and the person too, shows no partcular liking also, then I'll maintain the relationship as a purely working one.
I couldn't have been more wrong.
You should try harder in your overtures towards those who you feel harbour resentment towards you. It helps a lot! Not only because you might be able to win him over, but because, also in the practical sense, you might win support from other colleagues who might be watching. They're most probably aware of any frictions and might sympathise with you in that way.
Originally posted by Fatum:that would depend on what your role is ......
when I was working in pluto, some of the ang mohs were even worse, smile at you and stab you behind your back ... that's worse ....
at least you know where those fellows stand ....
but then of course ... you're there to work, not to make friends ... can't make the whole world like you, got to remember that ...
It's really difficult cos I need so much help, but initially it came in very, very limited doses... and when I ask the wrong person, I get talked to as though I've completely no common sense (that's how I feel).
Yea loh, they're like really there to work and not to make friends. Someone I know in the company actually told me something like "XXX is sort of my friend in the office lah" and the context of our conversation implied that the rest were purely colleagues.
Why so terrible one :\
I'm having trouble handling this.
Originally posted by cassie:Is this yr first job?
Anyone joined the firm at the same time you did?
yes... no...
I've been told most of them have been working there for quite long (min 3 years) and the turnover rate is very low...
it's like that..
there will be some who are terrible, some who are nice...
only by gritting your teeth, and going forward, trying to engage people, will you know the difference..
those who are terrible, are colleagues.. those who are nice, will eventually become your friends...
it's stressful in the beginning.. but give it a go? it does get easier after a while..
Originally posted by MooKu:It's really difficult cos I need so much help, but initially it came in very, very limited doses... and when I ask the wrong person, I get talked to as though I've completely no common sense (that's how I feel).
Yea loh, they're like really there to work and not to make friends. Someone I know in the company actually told me something like "XXX is sort of my friend in the office lah" and the context of our conversation implied that the rest were purely colleagues.
Why so terrible one :\
I'm having trouble handling this.
just be thick skinned ......
and you got to learn more on your own then .... most stuff is something you can pick up by yourself ....
people do hate to mentor other people, especially when it's at the expense of their own productivity ...
i'm going to sleep..
hang in there my niece.. ![]()
Thank you all so much... I feel a bit better now, hearing from people who've been through this stage. I'll keep working hard on it...
Goodnight bearie...
Originally posted by Fatum:just be thick skinned ......
and you got to learn more on your own then .... most stuff is something you can pick up by yourself ....
people do hate to mentor other people, especially when it's at the expense of their own productivity ...
that's never crossed my mind, but makes sense. ![]()
I must say that I was pretty lucky in my 1st job. I came away from that place, with colleagues becoming real friends..
but then my current job is totally different. I initiated lunch with different groups of people at 1st because when i started, i was a one-man show in my dept .. so i felt quite alone too.. anyway .. after these years in my current job i still feel lonely, coz these colleagues definitely can't progress into real friends.. but its alright la..
YES~~~~ SHINING FORCE 2 COMPLETED!!!!!
Evening guys! Trust the weekend went well for everyone?
Originally posted by cassie:Evening guys! Trust the weekend went well for everyone?
nothing much actually. well at least i didn't work! had din yet?
Originally posted by cassie:Evening guys! Trust the weekend went well for everyone?
no fair, u greet guys only. ![]()
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:no fair, u greet guys only.
no leh! how are you dearie?
Ok, time to shower and start on dinner. Catch up in a bit.
great...mj dead...our sales including his album surge 4x.... ![]()
tmr will be a 5x busy monday processing day!! arghhh!! yelp !
sian, weekend is over.
tomorrow must work
Originally posted by kopiosatu:sian, weekend is over.
tomorrow must work
I more sian than you!