Originally posted by deathwish:My colleague (female) stays smack in the middle of Geylang Lor 14
actually I like the nostalgic feels of geylang and of course the food.
Originally posted by SevenEleven:obviously you are at the odd nos lorong. It's it not as notorious as the even lorongs. I don't have to explain but i drove there to show my children what was going on
last year my family turned into one of the wrong lorongs in geylang while searching for a crab place ....
woah ! ... there were china aunties lined up on one side, and hoardes of banglas on the other, all eyeing each other across the road ....
that's the one I was trying to show her ... ![]()
Originally posted by SevenEleven:
with IR hub, it's just gonna to get worse. I bet
Oh yeah.... IR hub, Sports Hub, Arts Hub..... ![]()
All I gotta say is, if you try to be a Jack of All Trades, you may end up being a Master of None.
Heard from my colleague recently alot of police raiding in geylang due to H1N1
at least they head south....and might be contained in sentosa ...![]()
one admission ticket can last whole day there...![]()
Originally posted by deathwish:Heard from my colleague recently alot of police raiding in geylang due to H1N1
wait..isnt it supposed to be SARs (chicken), not H1N1 (pig) ![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:Oh yeah.... IR hub, Sports Hub, Arts Hub.....
All I gotta say is, if you try to be a Jack of All Trades, you may end up being a Master of None.
Master of all Jacks lor
Originally posted by Fatum:we should do something about this hub thing .... we need to go up market and do it properly, instead of attracting all the third class turds ....
think about it ....
we talk about being a financial hub ... wham ! ... barings collaspes in Singapore, they didn't cotton onto the hole till it happened ....
we talk about being a life sciences hub ... wham ! ... some ang moh professor conducts unauthorized human research here, cos he knows he would never have been able to get away with it in his home country ....
we talk about being an education hub .... wham ! ... we have people offering fake degrees from other universities, conning silly people who thought they could really earn a degree in 12 months ....
and so now, we're a vice hub ... but instead of going up market and branding ourselves ... we have kways running rampant all over the place and propositioning unkers at KFCs ...
haiz. its quite depressing when you put it that way ![]()
with our manufacturing industries leaving S'pore, I bet they can't think of anything other than F1, Casino and tourism
Originally posted by Fatum:last year my family turned into one of the wrong lorongs in geylang while searching for a crab place ....
woah ! ... there were china aunties lined up on one side, and hoardes of banglas on the other, all eyeing each other across the road ....
that's the one I was trying to show her ...
China Aunties?
The last time we went to Geylang, dunno which Lorong, the PRCs there are really good looking ones
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
wait..isnt it supposed to be SARs (chicken), not H1N1 (pig)
Well when Obama became POTUS swine flew rite leh
China Aunties?The last time we went to Geylang, dunno which Lorong, the PRCs there are really good looking ones
now you see them in people's park too
yahhh!!! i saw some really good looking hookers one night!!!! like, really really really good looking ones k. but it wasn't at geylang.
sports hub .... that means more imported talents from you know where .... remember the ping pong finals at beijing 08 ? ... it's really chinese A team against chinese B team isn't it ? .... and now, the other day in the newspapers, they even sourced the swimming pool life guards from there ! ....
what are the powers-that-be thinking ? .....
and ... ah ... arts hub .... one of my friend works in an art gallery, she's got a masters degree in fine arts ....
she tells me, her gallery no longer stocks local artworks anymore ..... why ? ... cos chinese artists are cheaper .... waaaaay cheaper .....
I was commenting that even to my untutored eye, some of the pieces at her place looks like turds to me .... yeah, she said wryly, but it doesn't matter, cos people who really have the money to buy any art, usually don't know turd about art anyways .... but it's a good scam .... thousand percent profit margins ... ![]()
organised crime perhaps? ![]()
I not sure which 1 but everytime i drive my colleague home, i see alot of them and some in real skimpy outfits....
organised crime perhaps?
legalised prostitution....legalised ah long.......
just pay your registeration fees and taxes
Orchard Shopping Centre udon?
Originally posted by udontknowme:yahhh!!! i saw some really good looking hookers one night!!!! like, really really really good looking ones k. but it wasn't at geylang.
where? ![]()
actually, sometimes, it's hard to tell if they're people heading out (to clubs)/heading home (from clubs)/hookers.
where?
chinatown some where. erm, can't remember a more exact location >.<
Originally posted by SevenEleven:with our manufacturing industries leaving S'pore, I bet they can't think of anything other than F1, Casino and tourism
it means we are farked .... all this financial hub thing is nonsense, really ... paper profits ... artificial wealth creation .... something for nothing ... no foundation that underpins it ..... haven't we learn anything from our former colonial masters ? .... once upon a time, the brits were the world's great manufacturers of machinery, from autos to aeroplanes .... once they let that go, wham ! .... second rate power .... it was not the letting go fo the colonies, nor the world wars that did them in, really .....
Originally posted by udontknowme:actually, sometimes, it's hard to tell if they're people heading out (to clubs)/heading home (from clubs)/hookers.
yeah ....hard to tell ... except that if you wake up the morning next to them, one would say "thank you for your business", the other would say "that was great ! can we do it again ?" ....
Originally posted by Fatum:it means we are farked .... all this financial hub thing is nonsense, really ... paper profits ... artificial wealth creation .... something for nothing ... no foundation that underpins it ..... haven't we learn anything from our former colonial masters ? .... once upon a time, the brits were the world's great manufacturers of machinery, from autos to aeroplanes .... once they let that go, wham ! .... second rate power .... it was not the letting go fo the colonies, nor the world wars that did them in, really .....
well, we could end up being maids in foreign land ![]()
actually, come to think of it, what the two really really good ones whom i met (and know for sure are hookers) wore were classy-er than what some poeple wear to the clubs...