Originally posted by hisoka:that ns boys shouldn't take public transport thread. it reached 29 pages..............
I did not even bother clicking on that topic.
Hahahahhaa
good morning everyone...
40 years ago, man landed on the moon... and for one moment, everyone looked on in awe..
tomorrow, there'll be an eclipse.. but in Singapore, we only get a partial eclipse... we're on leave and we'll wander over to the Science Centre to have a look ![]()
CB. Was just looking at my leave balance. I've only taken 3 days this year and I am still using last year's leave.
good mah .. can take more..
Originally posted by av98m:CB. Was just looking at my leave balance. I've only taken 3 years this year and I am still using last year's leave.
i've got 18 days left over from last year...
that's after deducting the leave i've taken in the next 2 weeks
Originally posted by ä¸�如就æ»:good mah .. can take more..
haiz. I need a nice long holiday.
ION Orchard will be opening today.
I'm gonna avoid that place like the plague for at least a few weeks until the hype dies down.
One thing about new shopping centers..... every time one opens, it suddenly goes on the list of 'Places to Make a Pilgrimage to Before I Die' of so many Singaporeans.
It happens every single time..... Vivo and Tampines 1 being prime examples.
last count of time-off in-lieu = 247 hours..
now who said being a sewer serpent was a cushy job? ![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:ION Orchard will be opening today.
I'm gonna avoid that place like the plague for at least a few weeks until the hype dies down.
One thing about new shopping centers..... every time one opens, it suddenly goes on the list of 'Places to Make a Pilgrimage to Before I Die' of so many Singaporeans.
It happens every single time..... Vivo and Tampines 1 being prime examples.
i think the talking bus is going there to observe the chaos... ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:i think the talking bus is going there to observe the chaos...
Seriously, what's so good about it?
Yeah, sure, there's a whole bunch of new retailers, but in the end, it ain't all that different from any run-of-the-mill shopping center.
I walked past the area last weekend. From an engineer's point of view, that building is crap. Glass exterior in a tropical climate? You need extra air-conditioning to counter the greenhouse effect. And I believe it costs more to use glass - I think uncle 7-11 can clarify?
And they put water fountains on the steps in front of the building.... not only are their drainage systems bad, but it effectively limits the usage of the steps! I am not gonna walk through vertical water jets in my best attire!
Originally posted by fudgester:Seriously, what's so good about it?
Yeah, sure, there's a whole bunch of new retailers, but in the end, it ain't all that different from any run-of-the-mill shopping center.
I walked past the area last weekend. From an engineer's point of view, that building is crap. Glass exterior in a tropical climate? You need extra air-conditioning to counter the greenhouse effect. And I believe it costs more to use glass - I think uncle 7-11 can clarify?
And they put water fountains on the steps in front of the building.... not only are their drainage systems bad, but it effectively limits the usage of the steps! I am not gonna walk through vertical water jets in my best attire!
garish obiang horrific stupidity?
hmmm.. looks like the planners and the owners didn't learn from the ass-plane-aid
Originally posted by the Bear:i think the talking bus is going there to observe the chaos...
no need lah.... av can update us tonite lor
Originally posted by fudgester:Seriously, what's so good about it?
I have to pass by that damned place everyday ![]()
good luck at the traffic fustercluck today
I have to pass by that damned place everyday
av good news!!! today is not the official opening.... yet. it's only the soft opening.... official opening in oct ![]()
it's just prolonging the agony isn't it? ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:it's just prolonging the agony isn't it?
x 2 ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:it's just prolonging the agony isn't it?
i thot it means today won't be as bad? cos only 70% open, oct then 90% open mah...
Originally posted by the Bear:garish obiang horrific stupidity?
hmmm.. looks like the planners and the owners didn't learn from the ass-plane-aid
The reason why the Esplanade got its durian spikes is to counter the greenhouse effect... the designers of ION definitely didn't learn....
Dollars to donuts say that the designers and the engineers behind ION had major disagreements over the design...... designers look for form, whereas engineers focus on functionality.... ![]()
Originally posted by tare:
i thot it means today won't be as bad? cos only 70% open, oct then 90% open mah...
then dunno when 100% open..
then the traffic insanity will happen 3 times
look on the bright side, u may find your bus packed with chiobu working at that place, the pretty promoters, rich lonely tatas, the creative guys...etc...
Originally posted by fudgester:The reason why the Esplanade got its durian spikes is to counter the greenhouse effect... the designers of ION definitely didn't learn....
Dollars to donuts say that the designers and the engineers behind ION had major disagreements over the design...... designers look for form, whereas engineers focus on functionality....
i thought architects were taught to figure out both? ![]()
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:look on the bright side, u may find your bus packed with chiobu working at that place, the pretty promoters, rich lonely tatas, the creative guys...etc...
rich lonely tai tais take bus?
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:look on the bright side, u may find your bus packed with chiobu working at that place, the pretty promoters, rich lonely tatas, the creative guys...etc...
I dun want packed buses ![]()
Lucky I'm not so close to the Ion ..
Maybe later if got time, I walk over to take a look .......