Originally posted by Fatum:l think the issue is even simpler than that .....
I mean ... look ... we know how kiasu and kiasi singaporeans are ... and the SAF is no exception ... what is the one thing that the SAF, or indeed any goverment body, is most afraid of ? .... complaints, bad publicity, right ? ....
and what are the most sensitive issues in singapore ? ... race and religion, right ? ....
would any SAF commanders risk dicking around on this issue ? ... would any SAF officer risk his ass and his career just to say no to this kid out of bloody-mindedness, say no just to be petty about it ? ... highly unlikely right ? ....
further more, this chap has stirred up a lot of shit before liao, apparently, they have appealed to MPs, ministers, Goh Chok Tong, and even to the President ! ...... for the SAF to still play hardball, to charge the fellow ... they must know that their case and reasons are solid ...
trust me, there's something fishy about this young chap .... he must have been insubordinate, played punk or thought it was his father's army or something,.....the SAF would never dick around on religious issues, and that's something that those stupid dickheads in those threads didn't think about ...
Not to be racist but even MPB and HM tells me that as Indians, they don't like the Indian Hindus because the majority are real asses and can really make a mountain out of a molehill.
Originally posted by elindra:Not to be racist but even MPB and HM tells me that as Indians, they don't like the Indian Hindus because the majority are real asses and can really make a mountain out of a molehill.
ok, usual proviso but i do agree with him on that point. somehow things get melodramatic.
And they are still going on about their brahim caste.
HM told me his family is of the brahim caste and guess what, he married a muslim girl and converted his religion.
I still think those guys are playing the religion card. It's not like he is not entitled food. He's given dry rations for those days out anyway.
And they are still going on about their brahim caste.HM told me his family is of the brahim caste and guess what, he married a muslim girl and converted his religion.
I still think those guys are playing the religion card. It's not like he is not entitled food. He's given dry rations for those days out anyway.
I suspect that he's now playing punk and wants to claim extra privileges like staying out or booking out everyday or something ....not eating cookhouse food is entirely normal .... often, we'd get the drivers on their runs out of camps to go tah bao anyways, and later, towards ORD, we'd go eat out by ourselves with some of the officers too, no big deal, you give and take, and it works both ways ... but if you try to claim privileges like entitlements, then, of course, you'd get slapped down, big time ...
the fellow is also not very bright .... raise a stink like this, and you put the authorities in a spot they can't climb down from easily, and they will, of course, squeeze your nuts harder in turn .....
ENJOY....ECLIPSE....it is beautiful......!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ngez9Fa16I
Originally posted by Fatum:I suspect that he's now playing punk and wants to claim extra privileges like staying out or booking out everyday or something ....not eating cookhouse food is entirely normal .... often, we'd get the drivers on their runs out of camps to go tah bao anyways, and later, towards ORD, we'd go eat out by ourselves with some of the officers too, no big deal, you give and take, and it works both ways ... but if you try to claim privileges like entitlements, then, of course, you'd get slapped down, big time ...
the fellow is also not very bright .... raise a stink like this, and you put the authorities in a spot they can't climb down from easily, and they will, of course, squeeze your nuts harder in turn .....
If Mindef caves in to this asshole they open the floodgates for all the other malingerers who decide to get a free ride using their religions.
Originally posted by av98m:If Mindef caves in to this asshole they open the floodgates for all the other malingerers who decide to get a free ride using their religions.
if you notice ... malingers tend to seek affirmation in each other .... just look at those who are supporting the chap in that thread ... ![]()
And they are still going on about their brahim caste.HM told me his family is of the brahim caste and guess what, he married a muslim girl and converted his religion.
it's not that difficult to get a vegetarian fare. it's a matter of give and take.
hungry, and finished reading a book.
going out to jurong point for makan, movie and then a appointment with property agents to discuss my requirements.
still a bit too early to be doing this, but heck. at least something to do then sticking myself at home, crying my eyes out and dragging myself thru depression.
its a lovely cool weather today.
Originally posted by Fatum:if you notice ... malingers tend to seek affirmation in each other .... just look at those who are supporting the chap in that thread ...
yeah. for those who are not yet enlisted, I feel sorry for their future mates. ![]()
hopefully this will serve as a warning to those wanting to pull the same stunt. ![]()
like he's going to be able to order takeout from his temple when outfield anyway. Can you imagine what will happen if people like him are all excused from combat vocations and given special privileges because of religion?
Errrmm....jehova witness?
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Errrmm....jehova witness?
those fellows go squat inside DB for 2.5 years .....
it's not that difficult to get a vegetarian fare. it's a matter of give and take.
Oh no he doesn't just want vegetarian fare
He wants vegetarian fare that has already been offered to his gods!
Anyway, from his supporters, they are ppl who keep preaching the caste system
Differences between a normal hindu and a bramin hindu -_-"
To us, a hindu is a hindu
Originally posted by Fatum:those fellows go squat inside DB for 2.5 years .....
and they don't whine and write letters to everybody about it.
Oh no he doesn't just want vegetarian fareHe wants vegetarian fare that has already been offered to his gods!
no prize for guess what kind of hindus his supporters are ....
I was told, incidently, by a hindu friend of mine, that many of these fellows look down on indians of other religions too ... because in india, most often, it's the lower castes that converted to another religion because of the discrimination tney face in their assigned life stations within the hindu caste system ....
so they decide to opt out, by switching to another religion ....hell, I would too I suppose ... it's stupid to think yourself some superior sort of human being just because of who you were born as .....
and they don't whine and write letters to everybody about it.
write letters ? .....
go click on the petition site .... I think that chap is raising a lot of stink among indian hindus ... fellow's trying to rally the world ! ... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:no prize for guess what kind of hindus his supporters are ....
I was told, incidently, by a hindu friend of mine, that many of these fellows look down on indians of other religions too ... because in india, most often, it's the lower castes that converted to another religion because of the discrimination tney face in their assigned life stations within the hindu caste system ....
so they decide to opt out, by switching to another religion ....hell, I would too I suppose ... it's stupid to think yourself some superior sort of human being just because of who you were born as .....
these clowns should just pack their bags and migrate to india.
Originally posted by Fatum:no prize for guess what kind of hindus his supporters are ....
The kind that other indians cannot tahan :P
And I heard this from 2 indians who are very close to me wor :P
Oh no he doesn't just want vegetarian fareHe wants vegetarian fare that has already been offered to his gods!
is this backed up with some scripture or something? what happens if he takes "uncleansed" food?
also, say in a war and if he's kidnapped by the enemy, what happens then? starve rather than eat?
Originally posted by Fatum:write letters ? .....
go click on the petition site .... I think that chap is raising a lot of stink among indian hindus ... fellow's trying to rally the world ! ...
I'd hate to be the people at Mindef who had this shit dumped on their laps. ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:those fellows go squat inside DB for 2.5 years .....
free food, stay and what else?
Originally posted by cassie:is this backed up with some scripture or something? what happens if he takes "uncleansed" food?
also, say in a war and if he's kidnapped by the enemy, what happens then? starve rather than eat?
Honestly I think it's all BS
I think any god will understand the limitations and you have done yr best to adhere.
It's just an excuse la
It just struck me. Surely this asshole is not the first hindu priest to ever serve NS? How did the others survive?
actually, such things happen in other countries too, playing the religious card to chao keng ...
the quickest way to chao keng in israel, for example, is to declare yourself a religious student or orthodox jew .....
so you go about wearing a black suit, bowler hat and cute curly sideburns for 3 years while other people guard your ass .... and become a ham and shellfish eating jew after that ....