Originally posted by fudgester:Wah lau.....
I was supposed to have a meeting yesterday at 3.30 pm..... but the prof in charge didn't turn up at all. So one of the other profs told everyone to go back to work; the prof in charge would certainly email us back and arrange for another meeting perhaps today.
So I dived back to work and didn't really get the chance to check my email again till this morning.... and as it turns out, just half an hour after we all left, the prof in charge emailed everyone again and called for an impromptu meeting.
And of course I didn't attend it, being too busy to check my email..... and so this morning, I got a pretty tersely-worded message saying 'There was a meeting yesterday which you somehow did not attend......'
What the....
i had the same prob a while back. thing is for efficiency and productivity, i try not to check my emails every 5 minutes - i do it about once every hour or so.
Originally posted by the Bear:send back an email saying you were told to bugger off and you are not glued to your terminal...
Yeah, well, I explained the situation nicely, saying that after the initial meeting was called off, I dived back into my work and couldn't really stay in front of my laptop..... which was true, since I decided to go to the workshop to do some stuff.....
I also offered to meet the prof in his office at any time of his choosing today or tomorrow.
Thing is, this is the prof in charge of the module that I'm helping to tutor, and the meeting was about tutoring responsibilities..... hope he's got the sense to not shoot my prof a bad email or something....
Originally posted by fudgester:Wah lau.....
I was supposed to have a meeting yesterday at 3.30 pm..... but the prof in charge didn't turn up at all. So one of the other profs told everyone to go back to work; the prof in charge would certainly email us back and arrange for another meeting perhaps today.
So I dived back to work and didn't really get the chance to check my email again till this morning.... and as it turns out, just half an hour after we all left, the prof in charge emailed everyone again and called for an impromptu meeting.
And of course I didn't attend it, being too busy to check my email..... and so this morning, I got a pretty tersely-worded message saying 'There was a meeting yesterday which you somehow did not attend......'
What the....
I actually missed a couple of meetings due to similar circumstances recently. I was on MC for 2 days and the prick calling for the meeting just assumed and no reply meant ok. I came back to work to find that I missed them and a nasty email asking me why. If that idiot had bothered even calling my office someone would have told him I was sick. ![]()
Originally posted by av98m:I actually missed a couple of meetings due to similar circumstances recently. I was on MC for 2 days and the prick calling for the meeting just assumed and no reply meant ok. I came back to work to find that I missed them and a nasty email asking me why. If that idiot had bothered even calling my office someone would have told him I was sick.
To me, the sucky part is the implication that I was shirking my responsibilities....
Basket, I already knew of the meeting one week beforehand, and yesterday I made sure to keep my schedule from 3.30 to 5 clear..... and as the other tutors would attest, I did show up at the correct venue and at the correct time....
I can't stick in front of my laptop all the time leh..... when the meeting was called off, I figured that the best thing I could do was to make full use of the time freed up....
today is thursday....2 days more to weekend..yay!!
i'm well hated by a few people whom i told off for missing things like meetings... i actually said this to a head of a section -
"i was not at my desk the past few days because i'm at the XXXX location doing the very work which should have been done by your section... and you are giving me grief for not attending the meeting which i heard you took credit the work done but you actually pushed to my section? did you really want me there?"
there were many others where my being bloody frank pissed off people.. some are in the senior management...
These days I can't be bothered because you just can't win if he is the boss
Even if you're right, you're wrong
I feel I get more peace and less agitated if I just keep quiet and filter things out or pretend it doesn't exsist
mmm... tat 3 mata and 1 soldier kena charged for robbery in Malaysia... It isn't on English press but only on Chinese press
Originally posted by sbst275:mmm... tat 3 mata and 1 soldier kena charged for robbery in Malaysia... It isn't on English press but only on Chinese press
How about the 1 Datuk who was caught as one of the heads of this loanshark ring
tis one got
even the Port Klang FTZ.. wa, use helicopter for own usage end up dunno reported as how much... somemore Tpt minister is from MCA, land developer is related to someone from MCA as well
tat PSC scholarship to nuture "China skilled" kaki macham becoming another elite scheme.. lots of e youngster's Chinese even if say Basic level, is terrible
End up soon Mother Tongue also end up become elite system.. hopefully not
Originally posted by sbst275:tat PSC scholarship to nuture "China skilled" kaki macham becoming another elite scheme.. lots of e youngster's Chinese even if say Basic level, is terrible
End up soon Mother Tongue also end up become elite system.. hopefully not
nowadays, you don't need to go to a chinese university to learn about the chinese, lol....
the PRCs would also be in the universities near you ... up and down the scale, from sungei road to the ivy league Unis ... ![]()
anyways, the goverment is mistaken .... brown-nosing to the chinese won't get you anywhere ... they have nothing to learn from us anymore .... and they won't be thanking us for any of the "help" we've given them ....
Originally posted by Fatum:nowadays, you don't need to go to a chinese university to learn about the chinese, lol....
the PRCs would also be in the universities near you ... up and down the scale, from sungei road to the ivy league Unis ...
anyways, the goverment is mistaken .... brown-nosing to the chinese won't get you anywhere ... they have nothing to learn from us anymore .... and they won't be thanking us for any of the "help" we've given them ....
also it's macham a way to make e elite scheme a bigger one
Cardboard now has to find a way of their own to survive. Anyway I doubt the elites here can see the potential failure of cardboard, same as they said abt sending students to Dubai being a successful case study
Originally posted by Fatum:nowadays, you don't need to go to a chinese university to learn about the chinese, lol....
the PRCs would also be in the universities near you ... up and down the scale, from sungei road to the ivy league Unis ...
the idiots up there think everyone must thank them for everything, even for farting...
i would think that when they realise how stupid and idiotic they have been, would be both comical and painful to watch...
Speaking of which....the govt still refuses to come clean about the Temasek debacle...
Now what does it mean, that they have "already been very open" to date?
Originally posted by sbst275:
also it's macham a way to make e elite scheme a bigger oneCardboard now has to find a way of their own to survive. Anyway I doubt the elites here can see the potential failure of cardboard, same as they said abt sending students to Dubai being a successful case study
don't talk about dubai or the arab businessmen ... it gets me flaming mad .......
in anycase, dubai is like an illusion, a mirage in the desert ... it has no industry, no underpinnings, it's only driven by oil money .... a gigantic modern day tulip scam ..... the way they are spending money, once the oil stops flowing, they'll go back to exporting dried fish and dates ....
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Speaking of which....the govt still refuses to come clean about the Temasek debacle...
Now what does it mean, that they have "already been very open" to date?
that is partially true too ..... I distinctly remember, it was during ho ching's watch that temasek started the practise of disclosing results periodically ......
before that, during his father-in-law's watch, no one had a clue .... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:don't talk about dubai or the arab businessmen ... it gets me flaming mad .......
in anycase, dubai is like an illusion, a mirage in the desert ... it has no industry, no underpinnings, it's only driven by oil money .... a gigantic modern day tulip scam ..... the way they are spending money, once the oil stops flowing, they'll go back to exporting dried fish and dates ....
how about the unimaginable ecological disasters they have caused with their idiocy building those "islands"
this could be their tower of babel
Originally posted by Fatum:that is partially true too ..... I distinctly remember, it was during ho ching's watch that temasek started the practise of disclosing results periodically ......
before that, during his father-in-law's watch, no one had a clue ....
So much for mourning about public apathy in politics here, if that's the way they go about.
Anyway....at least Dubai didn't turn into Sierra Leone.
I like the idea about how they were going to have air-conditioning for the sand on the beach of a new resort they were building .....
they remind me of the chaps in charge up north ... always gunning for meaningless, symbolic superlatives .....when the dust settles they'll realize it's just the oil money that's fueling the boom ... after which everything would fade away into the desert like a mirage ....
Originally posted by SBS2601D:
So much for mourning about public apathy in politics here, if that's the way they go about.
Anyway....at least Dubai didn't turn into Sierra Leone.
could easily have been...
the powers can survive without diamonds... they cannot survive without oil...
btw.. the people are starting to wise up about the saudis.. 1 saudi arrested in indonesia for financing the bombings.. bunch of saudis suspected for masterminding the iraqi bombings...
the iraqi bombings, someone was quoted on BBC radio that the saudis were petrified of a working democracy in iraq and the idea of democracy spreading through the arab world that they are trying to turn iraq into a chaotic mess just to maintain the status quo in saudi arabia
now look at this farker ......
he not only betrayed his country .... he's a stupid fark as well .... people were smuggling cigarettes worth 3 mil .... his take was only a few cartons of cigarettes worth 1k + ....
and since we're on governments...CM of penang issued a last minute invite to lunch tomorrow
Originally posted by Fatum:now look at this farker ......
he not only betrayed his country .... he's a stupid fark as well .... people were smuggling cigarettes worth 3 mil .... his take was only a few cartons of cigarettes worth 1k + ....
NS is not known to make one partucarly bright.![]()
Originally posted by cassie:and since we're on governments...CM of penang issued a last minute invite to lunch tomorrow
now we know cassie's actually some big shot there .... ![]()
the meal's not vegetarian, I presume ? ....