Originally posted by Fatum:I dunno ...I imagine it wouldn't be much fun being poked by a cocktail sausage right ? ....
I suspect it may also be because they know to prey on the meatier ones ..... most local men don't have a preference for ghetto booties and thunder thighs, african men seem to go crazy over those .... such ladies may not have a ready defensive barrier should those consters come along ....
It used to be that indian men wanted to marry chinese girls because chinese girls are fair skinned and their children will come out fair skinned.
Now......its about fleecing. Sigh. Us fat short type are really in the wrong country.
my listing is for the very top floor .......
I was advising that it can fetch 700k at least ......
Originally posted by elindra:built to order ones are naturally more expensive lah .......
it's still possible to find below valuation flats nowadays .....
but yeah, the prices for some places are crazy ... I have a listing for one of those 25 stories point blocks at marine parade, facing the sea, the last transacted price for a sea view like that ? 700k ......
with that sort of money, I can still get a suburban condo somewhere, and still have money left over to totally renovate the place ....
These days the flats are all built to order lor
What makes it more special -_-" The new layouts usually sux, the rooms are way smaller and I get the stupid bomb shelter which is a waste of space
Ya la. I can consider myself lucky I actually bought my place below valuation
Please........this is hurting my eyes to read.
I am flat hunting you know.
And last night, ah sirs and some others were all discussing about properties.
Makes me want to weep for my current situation.
You know we were offered Laguna Park unit at around 550k back then but we didn't take it coz the place needed massive renovationsWe didn't take it and it was SEA view
you should have .... they just went en bloc recently right ? .....
you could have retired in a few months ..... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:my listing is for the very top floor .......
I was advising that it can fetch 700k at least ......
Aiya btw seaview is nice but a few considerations
But seriously at that point in time we were weighing the chances of en bloc and also the bank loan we needed to take
And then we thought then that seriosuly how often are we home to look out of the window and also how household items corrode much faster if near the sea
So after doing our sums, we figured no point stretching our finances
Originally posted by Fatum:you should have .... they just went en bloc recently right ? .....
you could have retired in a few months .....
Ya but at that point in time it didn't make sense to us coz en bloc is a gamble and it would really stretch us to pay the bank
No point living on hindsight
It's just not meant to be
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Please........this is hurting my eyes to read.
I am flat hunting you know.
And last night, ah sirs and some others were all discussing about properties.
Makes me want to weep for my current situation.
dont' worry lah ... I am keeping a look out for you .....you're not the only one looking for a house too ...
just be patient .... house hunting takes time .... don't be pressured by the boom. what you're looking for, you can still find below valuation ones ...
Ya but at that point in time it didn't make sense to us coz en bloc is a gamble and it would really stretch us to pay the bankNo point living on hindsight
It's just not meant to be
too bad I wasn't in the trade then and you didn't come to me, heee .....
you can check the en block potential of the place not just by industry rumours, but for example, someone's asking me to look for enbloc potential properties in district 11 as well .... all you have to do, is to go look at the URA master plan that's available for public viewing, the plot ratio would tell you how tall the developers can build, and whether it's worth while or not .... some cheapo walk ups are still cheap cos there's no en bloc potential, cos the plot ratio doesn't allow tall buildings, and developers would be foolish to buy at current prices if they can't flip build higher and flip more buildings onto the market.
We are having a food bonding session at the Icon Condo, several units there belong to a family of officers there.
Then another officer was telling us about how she had originally wanted to buy a unit there with her hub.
But they decided not to, so they got a hdb.
Then hor.....they realised that people are making money, buying those icon units and selling them even before its properly built.
And that started their discussion about properties......and I was weeping at the background when the more they talk.....the more I get depressed. So there I was sulking in a corner and messing with my handphone......
Edit: We are having a food bonding session on the 18th Sep.
Icon condo is located at tangjong pagar mrt.
and they were chit chatting last night at my ah sir's cubicle.
Originally posted by Fatum:too bad I wasn't in the trade then and you didn't come to me, heee .....
you can check the en block potential of the place not just by industry rumours, but for example, someone's asking me to look for enbloc potential properties in district 11 as well .... all you have to do, is to go look at the URA master plan that's available for public viewing, the plot ratio would tell you how tall the developers can build, and whether it's worth while or not .... some cheapo walk ups are still cheap cos there's no en bloc potential, cos the plot ratio doesn't allow tall buildings, and developers would be foolish to buy at current prices if they can't flip build higher and flip more buildings onto the market.
Well my dad told us the en bloc potential is very high
But then again it boils down to cash too coz that time we just started out
If we buy at 550k it will really really set us back. And we have to borrow heavily then too
And it doesn't make sense to overstretch yourself to gamble in the sense
That is why now you can talk about on hindsight but what is not meant to be isn't meant to be. Just make yourself unhappy nia
Well my dad told us the en bloc potential is very highBut then again it boils down to cash too coz that time we just started out
If we buy at 550k it will really really set us back. And we have to borrow heavily then too
And it doesn't make sense to overstretch yourself to gamble in the sense
That is why now you can talk about on hindsight but what is not meant to be isn't meant to be. Just make yourself unhappy nia
I feel happy thinking about those assholes in the en-bloc committee who bought units to flip and their 3 failed attempts at my place. I hope they lost their shirts because of this.
Well my dad told us the en bloc potential is very highBut then again it boils down to cash too coz that time we just started out
aiyah, don't fret about it lah .... the halcyon days for en bloc are over liao .... there are many failed en blocs too .... another one just failed at diary farm area, a few families held out and refused to take the offer, so the rest missed out on around 2.5 mil each, at least .... so you'd have to factor that into the calculations too.
Originally posted by av98m:I feel happy thinking about those assholes in the en-bloc committee who bought units to flip and their 3 failed attempts at my place.
And imagine that we had overstretched ourselves and hope we make millions but instead of the en bloc going through, we're stuck with what is happening to your condo.
It's a really nasty position to be in
Originally posted by Fatum:aiyah, don't fret about it lah .... the halcyon days for en bloc are over liao .... there are many failed en blocs too .... another one just failed at diary farm area, a few families held out and refused to take the offer, so the rest missed out on around 2.5 mil each, at least .... so you'd have to factor that into the calculations too.
I'm not fretting about it
Originally posted by Fatum:aiyah, don't fret about it lah .... the halcyon days for en bloc are over liao .... there are many failed en blocs too .... another one just failed at diary farm area, a few families held out and refused to take the offer, so the rest missed out on around 2.5 mil each, at least .... so you'd have to factor that into the calculations too.
I certainly hope so! I lost count of the number of times I flipped the finger at the property agents handling the CSA signings at my place during the en-bloc craze.
I've lived in Marine Parade for over 20 years. Five-room, 19th storey, sea view from the balcony....
I know my dad can make a killing if he were to sell it now.... he bought it for $120K in 1988. Even after accounting for inflation, there's still a large profit to be made.
But he thinks of it as a nice place to live in, and will never sell..... and I agree. There are some things that money just can't buy.
Originally posted by av98m:I feel happy thinking about those assholes in the en-bloc committee who bought units to flip and their 3 failed attempts at my place. I hope they lost their shirts because of this.
I'm hoping more of those "investors" get their fingers and arms burnt off. serves them right for driving prices so high that I can't buy house now.....
but well, whatever properties you guys got, it's still a very good investment, cos my assessment is that property prices are going to stay up in Singapore the way things are going.
Cos the population target for Singapore's still not reached yet, foreigners, new citizens are pouring in all the time, they all need a place to stay. further more, after the financial crisis and scandals in recent times, people are scared to invest in such financial products and deriviatives nowadays ... and there are a LOT of cash rich people in Singapore .... so where better to park their money than in properties ? ....
and trust me, despite what the goverment says about a bubble forming, they won't dare do much about it .... cos for most singaporeans, the foundation of their wealth lies in their HDB flats .... it's their biggest asset. the goverment would have an untenable situation on their hands if they were to devalue the people's most valuable asset in the face of such discontent. And there's not much they can do too, really.
Originally posted by av98m:I feel happy thinking about those assholes in the en-bloc committee who bought units to flip and their 3 failed attempts at my place. I hope they lost their shirts because of this.
i think they're still holding out..
and the price hasn't dropped significantly ![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:I've lived in Marine Parade for over 20 years. Five-room, 19th storey, sea view from the balcony....
I know my dad can make a killing if he were to sell it now.... he bought it for $120K in 1988. Even after accounting for inflation, there's still a large profit to be made.
But he thinks of it as a nice place to live in, and will never sell..... and I agree. There are some things that money just can't buy.
I agree with you man
Like Simei, we don't have a seaview or a large shopping mall like Parkway
But it's nice and quiet neighbourhood and relatively convinient . We don't really wanna move to be honest unless it's for a way better location
And you really can't get flats with a nice basic squarish design anymore with reasonable space and without the stupid bomb shelter
....sulk....
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
Easy to make la
The crackling is you roast the meat par-cooked than you take it out to prick holes in the skin. There is actually an equipment for pricking the pork skin but you can use the fish scaling thingy with nails also
Than you pop it back in the oven