Originally posted by udontknowme:there's this shop called vom fass on the 4th floor of Ion. we were there on Sat. why didnt we see it!!!!!! =(
they sell good stuff!
what kinda stuff? clothes? shoes? furnishings?
-cowers in corner-
Originally posted by Ferret:-cowers in corner-
are you ok?
Originally posted by udontknowme:there's this shop called vom fass on the 4th floor of Ion. we were there on Sat. why didnt we see it!!!!!! =(
they sell good stuff!
That's the shop that sells alcohol, right?
hmmm...
CNA – 29 Sep 2009
Foreign population growth slows down
SINGAPORE: In A sign of things to come, the pace of growth of the foreign population in Singapore has hit the brakes.
After two years of double-digit increase and five years of an acceleration in the influx of non-residents - since the last time the Singapore economy had stalled - their numbers grew by 4.8 per cent from June last year to this June.
Still, it was enough to tip the total population to almost 5 million in a recession-hit Singapore.
The biggest jump - looking at the growth trends in recent years - was among permanent residents (PRs). After averaging an annual increase of 9.9 per cent over the decade leading up to 2000 - and smaller annual growth rates in the new millennium - the number of PRs grew 11.5 per cent, as of this June, from the year before.
The "period of uncertainty" that has clouded the world's economies - and by extension, has curbed the growth momentum in Singapore's non-resident population here of 14.9 per cent in 2007 and 19 per cent last year - is also the reason for the double-digit increase in the number of PRs here, said CIMB-GK economist Song Seng Wun.
"It's not unexpected ... These people could have become PRs to stay in Singapore or Asia to look for jobs. They ... are using Singapore as a launching pad," he told Today.
Singapore's population density is now 6,814 people per square kilometre, compared to 5,900 per sq km in 2000.
Mr Song said: "For the moment, Singapore's infrastructure is adequate. The infrastructure is continually being upgraded."
The Population Trends 2009 report published online yesterday by the Singapore Department of Statistics also showed that other trends in ageing and marriage in Singapore continue to hold steady.
The proportion of persons living alone now stands at 10 per cent, from 8.2 per cent in 2000 and 5.2 per cent in 1990.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:That's the shop that sells alcohol, right?
ahhhh
Originally posted by the Bear:hmmm...
CNA – 29 Sep 2009
Foreign population growth slows down
SINGAPORE: In A sign of things to come, the pace of growth of the foreign population in Singapore has hit the brakes.
After two years of double-digit increase and five years of an acceleration in the influx of non-residents - since the last time the Singapore economy had stalled - their numbers grew by 4.8 per cent from June last year to this June.
Still, it was enough to tip the total population to almost 5 million in a recession-hit Singapore.
The biggest jump - looking at the growth trends in recent years - was among permanent residents (PRs). After averaging an annual increase of 9.9 per cent over the decade leading up to 2000 - and smaller annual growth rates in the new millennium - the number of PRs grew 11.5 per cent, as of this June, from the year before.
The "period of uncertainty" that has clouded the world's economies - and by extension, has curbed the growth momentum in Singapore's non-resident population here of 14.9 per cent in 2007 and 19 per cent last year - is also the reason for the double-digit increase in the number of PRs here, said CIMB-GK economist Song Seng Wun.
"It's not unexpected ... These people could have become PRs to stay in Singapore or Asia to look for jobs. They ... are using Singapore as a launching pad," he told Today.
Singapore's population density is now 6,814 people per square kilometre, compared to 5,900 per sq km in 2000.
Mr Song said: "For the moment, Singapore's infrastructure is adequate. The infrastructure is continually being upgraded."
The Population Trends 2009 report published online yesterday by the Singapore Department of Statistics also showed that other trends in ageing and marriage in Singapore continue to hold steady.
The proportion of persons living alone now stands at 10 per cent, from 8.2 per cent in 2000 and 5.2 per cent in 1990.
tell you guys something funny .... a chap I know married a china wifey .......
after settling down for a couple of years in singapore, the wifey's male cousin decided to come over, get a job, get PR, etc .....
I asked him the other day what's the cousin's qualifications for PR, and what's he doing now ? ...... he "has" a masters degree in mechanical engineering .... and is banging away all day at a subcontract shipyard in jurong ....
I went "huh ?" .... then the chap explained "you really think he's got a master's degree ? ... LJ lah ! ... the fellow didn't even graduated from primary school in china, this is only for the PR application one lah ! ... but if anyone calls in to the university to check, you'll find his name there one, that's how they are .... "
dot dot dot ........
People's Republic of Corruption?
Originally posted by Fatum:tell you guys something funny .... a chap I know married a china wifey .......
after settling down for a couple of years in singapore, the wifey's male cousin decided to come over, get a job, get PR, etc .....
I asked him the other day what's the cousin's qualifications for PR, and what's he doing now ? ...... he "has" a masters degree in mechanical engineering .... and is banging away all day at a subcontract shipyard in jurong ....
I went "huh ?" .... then the chap explained "you really think he's got a master's degree ? ... LJ lah ! ... the fellow didn't even graduated from primary school in china, this is only for the PR application one lah ! ... but if anyone calls in to the university to check, you'll find his name there one, that's how they are .... "
dot dot dot ........
I wouldn't trust him to change a power socket, much less build a ship.....
How did he get it? He paid kopi money to the uni registrar?
If someone decides to request a copy of his Master's thesis from the uni..... how?
Originally posted by Fatum:tell you guys something funny .... a chap I know married a china wifey .......
dot dot dot ........
and these are the foreign talents we are supposed to welcome.... *roll eyes*
dot dot dot ........
anyway, this scam has been used in almost every country which takes in immigrants...
there was a scam in Australia which required the person to show proof of ability to finance himself...
so the person shows a bank statement of about $250k to the the immigration people..
after the guy gets his papers, the amount + fee is sent to the snakeheads which then loan the amount to the next applicant...
dot dot dot ........
I personally asked a person how she got an employment pass when she is hired as a sales assistant .. she said the company put her designation as Assistant manager and salary as $2500 but in actual fact she only paid much less than that ..
Singaporean companies also anyhow anyhow ..
Originally posted by fudgester:
I wouldn't trust him to change a power socket, much less build a ship.....
How did he get it? He paid kopi money to the uni registrar?
If someone decides to request a copy of his Master's thesis from the uni..... how?
ah chey ........ just say it's a taught master's lor ....
in any case .... I was told that you can easily get a thesis up to PhD level written for a fee there .... very popular with busy executives getting an MBA ....
got to remember that there are 25million new univeristy graduates in china every year and jobs for only 10% of them .... all these bright young chaps got to make a living somehow ...
and that person really got the PR???!!!!!
wtf. dont the immigration pple in Singapore check things really well?
i had to go renew mine a short while ago. and SO MUCH SHIT HAPPENED because I had to prove some shit to them. and i've already been a PR for so many years.
Originally posted by udontknowme:and that person really got the PR???!!!!!
i had to go renew mine a short while ago. and SO MUCH SHIT HAPPENED because I had to prove some shit to them. and i've already been a PR for so many years.
what to do?
the guy gets the PR because, there is no way for the immigration people to prove that it is a scam.. especially when the registrar of the university is corrupt..
this would involve proving that the university is corrupt..
loads of others who got their degrees through hard work would fight tooth and nail to uphold it...
and if you just throw the guy out, some bleeding heart liberal will call this "unfair" and all kinds of other shit...
just look at what happened in Calais... the authorities move in to clear out the illegal immigrant camps and the liberals move in to defend the illegals from the cops..
pUrrs.
gook gook.
uh hur hur hur
hmm...yeah...actually, it's not TOO difficult to lie =p
i could have done so too by tweaking a few things so as not to have to deal with all that shit.
BUT IM A GOOD HONEST PERSON. ![]()
Originally posted by Ferret:pUrrs.
gook gook.
uh hur hur hur
for the ferfer
=> for ferrets
note the 2nd question ![]()
Originally posted by udontknowme:and that person really got the PR???!!!!!
udonie .... it's really not that much different in canada too you know .... infact, I'd say it's much worse ....
you let in anyone from say, somalia or sudan or afghanistan, and ten years down the line, you'd have the entire clan over .....
a malaysian friend of mine (small lynn, the one that came over the visit me in singapore last year), just failed to get her work permit in alberta renewed even though she's got a master's degree in biochemistry and is working as a biotech researcher at a univerisity. cos the rule says that you either get your PR within that time or you get out after the three year work permit expires, and her PR is still being processed ...
Of course, if Canada would rather let in some uneducated, non english speaking chaps who still believes in female circumcision for his wife, or have no compunction about killing his daughter for some perceived dishonour, than some english speaking girl who's got her canadian tertiary education through canadian tax payer's money, it's really her loss ... best part of all, many of those "refugees" are nothing like that .... it's all the local chieftains and warlords and head honchos that gets themselves and their families a bolt hole first ... while most of the real refugees are still stewing in their shitholes there ....
I've been helping lynn find a job here at biopolis ......
Originally posted by Fatum:udonie .... it's really not that much different in canada too you know .... infact, I'd say it's much worse ....
you let in anyone from say, somalia or sudan or afghanistan, and ten years down the line, you'd have the entire clan over .....
a malaysian friend of mine (small lynn, the one that came over the visit me in singapore last year), just failed to get her work permit in alberta renewed even though she's got a master's degree in biochemistry and is working as a biotech researcher at a univerisity. cos the rule says that you either get your PR within that time or you get out after the three year work permit expires, and her PR is still being processed ...
Of course, if Canada would rather let in some uneducated, non english speaking chaps who still believes in female circumcision for his wife, or have no compunction about killing his daughter for some perceived dishonour, than some english speaking girl who's got her canadian tertiary education through canadian tax payer's money, it's really her loss ... best part of all, many of those "refugees" are nothing like that .... it's all the local chieftains and warlords and head honchos that gets themselves and their families a bolt hole first ... while most of the real refugees are still stewing in their shitholes there ....
I've been helping lynn find a job here at biopolis ......
no other way out for your friend? all means exhausted?
Originally posted by the Bear:
thats proper ferret behaviour.
and uh. we need to plan another dinner.
a feel good friday session.
or a LIFE IS GOOD dinner.
this fri mmmkaays ?
Originally posted by cassie:no other way out for your friend? all means exhausted?
well, I think she got jaded about the whole thing ...... her folks would rather her migrate to singapore anyways.
Her degrees are all with high honours ... I'm sure Singapore would be glad to have her ... Any nice singapore chaps would like to be introduced to her ? .... I say we got to get her a singapore man and lock her down here ..... ![]()
i'll go ask zora later today...