Originally posted by tare:
this is the one along the road outside NUS ??the service was okie last time wat.... as for the loose coins... u might not be able to blame them.... i saw a no. of PRC paying for their meals in kopitiams and foodcourts with all loose coins.... and a meal is typically ard $5
Yes.... Clementi Road near NUS.....
If their service was good in the past, it has since gone down the drain.... the last time I went also, the bloody PRC (well, his accent sounded PRC) couldn't friggin' understand what 'one Milo Dinosaur, one soyabean' meant......
Oh, and the wrong drinks arrived. No surprise there.
And the bloody pratas took so long to arrive that we considered just plonking down our money and leaving. And the place wasn't even crowded to begin with.
okay.. another place not to go in future...
i'm sleepy..
i had still thought of dropping by the prata place one night for supper :x
the prata shop service was never good. But at least the food was ok then.
Originally posted by fudgester:Yes.... Clementi Road near NUS.....
If their service was good in the past, it has since gone down the drain.... the last time I went also, the bloody PRC (well, his accent sounded PRC) couldn't friggin' understand what 'one Milo Dinosaur, one soyabean' meant......
Oh, and the wrong drinks arrived. No surprise there.
And the bloody pratas took so long to arrive that we considered just plonking down our money and leaving. And the place wasn't even crowded to begin with.
this is wat happened when they flooded the kopitiams, and eateries with PRC .... they can't bloody understand our orders, and we can't bloody understand them when they try to repeat our orders!!!!
i ever tried to order a pepsi and the PRC gave me a blank face... $#%^@^@#$%@#$^%&#$$
one of the section heads just turned up when the whole meeting room of people were walking out..
"not 2:30 meh?"
"no lah... 2 o'clock!"
"AIYAH!! ALAMAK!!!"
this is wat happened when they flooded the kopitiams, and eateries with PRC .... they can't bloody understand our orders, and we can't bloody understand them when they try to repeat our orders!!!!i ever tried to order a pepsi and the PRC gave me a blank face... $#%^@^@#$%@#$^%&#$$
the PRC dun even understand the difference between kopi, kopi O and kopi O siew dai...
la la la
ahh.. the fer fer..
how are you now?
plotting revenge on the brat?
I suggest checking for HIV, AIDs, rabies etc as bear suggested
nah.
its ober..
i think my life is just too weird.
i ish staying at home today.
nothing should happen.
orh..
btw... people in my office are very happy about Aston's Specialties opening within walking distance ![]()
this is wat happened when they flooded the kopitiams, and eateries with PRC .... they can't bloody understand our orders, and we can't bloody understand them when they try to repeat our orders!!!!i ever tried to order a pepsi and the PRC gave me a blank face... $#%^@^@#$%@#$^%&#$$
I once tried to order 'one Pepsi, one Pepsi light' at a KFC outlet ....
The PRC counter fella didn't understand me at all.....
Then the Malay floor manager told him the order..... in Mandarin.
i need copious amount of coffee this afternoon
Originally posted by fudgester:I once tried to order 'one Pepsi, one Pepsi light' at a KFC outlet ....
The PRC counter fella didn't understand me at all.....
Then the Malay floor manager told him the order..... in Mandarin.
wtf is a pepsi light called in mandarin?! o.O
instead of us trying to learn mandarin, why can't they just learn English AND singlish??!!! they CAME here to work didn't they? >.<
wtf is a pepsi light called in mandarin?! o.Oinstead of us trying to learn mandarin, why can't they just learn English AND singlish??!!! they CAME here to work didn't they? >.<
bai si ke le = pepsi
pepsi light = bai si ke le deng/qing?
Why couldn't PRC learn english ??!?!??!?!?!?
why must they make us even explain wat's ms office, ram, harddisk, spyware in chinese ?!?!??!?!? ![]()
wtf is a pepsi light called in mandarin?! o.Oinstead of us trying to learn mandarin, why can't they just learn English AND singlish??!!! they CAME here to work didn't they? >.<
same question asked by many citizens in many countries which are overrun by immigrants, both legal and illegal..
the australians are asking why is it the immigrants speak in their own language and refuse to assimilate or even learn basic english... and the immigrants end up in their own enclaves
the americans are being overrun by mexicans.. and lately PRCs too..
here, no need to say..
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:Why couldn't PRC learn english ??!?!??!?!?!?
why must they make us even explain wat's ms office, ram, harddisk, spyware in chinese ?!?!??!?!?
frankly I blame the employers and also the customers, us. The employers should have employed people with the right skill sets, i.e.language.
the customers need to start voting with their wallets and feet. boycott the non-speaking places and only go for english speaking places. This will create the pressure.
i always believed that if you wanna grant citizenship or PR, the applicants should at least have a working knowledge of the national or common language
Originally posted by hisoka:frankly I blame the employers and also the customers, us. The employers should have employed people with the right skill sets, i.e.language.
the customers need to start voting with their wallets and feet. boycott the non-speaking places and only go for english speaking places. This will create the pressure.
boycott non english speaking places? hard... places like chinatown smithstreet have older folks running stall but they do not know how to speak english... It's not exactly fair to say boycott...
WDA SHLD at least provide basic english course for the PRC workface... Tat's wat i feel...
Originally posted by cassie:i always believed that if you wanna grant citizenship or PR, the applicants should at least have a working knowledge of the national or common language
Yupz but that's the PR issue which is somewhat different from the non-english speaking service staff problem.
And I really don't like their talk about providing english classes for the PRs and new citizens. I don't want to waste my money. If those people are sincere about coming into Singapore, they should jolly well be willing to pay for those courses themselves. If they can't afford it, I'm not sure we should be wanting them in.....
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:boycott non english speaking places? hard... places like chinatown smithstreet have older folks running stall but they do not know how to speak english... It's not exactly fair to say boycott...
WDA SHLD at least provide basic english course for the PRC workface... Tat's wat i feel...
I mean for those places where you expect english. like resturants and such. It's different from those ancient chinese stalls where you expect to converse in chinese. and truth is most of those older folks can understand english rudimentally enough to communicate.
strangely, if you read up on the places where bleeding heart liberals haunt, trying to new immigrants learn and assimilate into the current population is considered racist ![]()
Yeah....
The irony didn't escape me at all.... a Malay manager having to repeat the order to the PRC subordinate in Mandarin.
After all, it wasn't even a complicated order. It wasn't as though I was asking for ' Two piece meal, one thigh, crispy, one drumstick, original, upsize the drink, ice lemon tea, upgrade to cheese fries, add one Zinger with cheese......'
I seriously wonder how the PRC would handle that kind of order.