Originally posted by sbst275:evening
tat cardboard's Shanghai Expo 2010 language translation flop and joke is now everywhere.
so what's the translation ?
Originally posted by Fatum:so what's the translation ?
they used e English pronounciation to translate it directly.
Anyway, in Malaysia this occurs
Farmway kena w/ 2 'PLUS' toll. The land owner go make a road block, put up signboard telling everyone who needs to pass by to get to their plot to pay RM10 & RM5 respectively (500m away from each other) of 'toll'.
The govt went to remove it once, but the whole nonsense went back
now it got onto our papers
oh yah
today went to buy Cadbury chocolate. It's only to realise the Malaysia one is more expensive than the Aussie made ones.
Who says Malaysian made items are cheap?
dinner's getting a bit boring. need some new dishes.
like ..... meat ?
it's evening...and i am still cleaning my room
awww...
Originally posted by sbst275:oh yah
today went to buy Cadbury chocolate. It's only to realise the Malaysia one is more expensive than the Aussie made ones.
Who says Malaysian made items are cheap?
Malaysia is not cheap ... even for singkies ... I had a plate of kopitiam nasi kandar for dua puloh ringgit ... and a taxi driver chappy tells me an orpid worker takes home about 800 ringgit a month starting, 1.8k a month with degree, how to live with that kind of inflation ? ![]()
so far, only Chinese media captured it
like "Good morning" becomes �的猫� (old cat literally)
Originally posted by Fatum:Malaysia is not cheap ... even for singkies ... I had a plate of kopitiam nasi kandar for dua puloh ringgit ... and a taxi driver chappy tells me an orpid worker takes home about 800 ringgit a month starting, 1.8k a month with degree, how to live with that kind of inflation ?
that why they eat at home always... they survived actually..
go to the roadside mama stalls, 3 ringgit niah..
Originally posted by Fatum:Malaysia is not cheap ... even for singkies ... I had a plate of kopitiam nasi kandar for dua puloh ringgit ... and a taxi driver chappy tells me an orpid worker takes home about 800 ringgit a month starting, 1.8k a month with degree, how to live with that kind of inflation ?
actually Malaysia can't stand to e world competition. They just kept necessity prices artifically low, and I think so for wages ever since 1980s. Their govt whole day think of those wat's not, like tat bak kut teh now.
now Malaysia can't even afford to subsidise its people, hyperinflation to come soon. My relative they thinking of working in Singapore riao.
I realised even big Malaysian co aren't competitive anymore
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
that why they eat at home always... they survived actually..go to the roadside mama stalls, 3 ringgit niah..
LF, to them RM3 also very bitter. Here 1 noodle also $3, but e wages level?
my relative now realises actually how better life is provided for in Singapore. last time they ever told my dad, here cars ex, need to take MRT or bus to travel, no freedom.
Tat's why over there those 5L cooking oil sells. But one thing, here we can afford to buy sunflower, canola or soya oil. Over there, ppl mostly buy palm oil
That's why the SC ppl till to tis day say M'sia how good than S'pore. I dunno want to cry or laugh.
The subsidy wun be there forever, and recently tat fuel restriction got Singkies dare to go to MCA and kpkb. beri suay.
The taxes there is scary. Corp tax rate is still 26% and comes GST
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
that why they eat at home always... they survived actually..go to the roadside mama stalls, 3 ringgit niah..
I highly doubt you can find any 3 ringgit meals in KL proper, even roti canai is satu ringgit. but on yah, the nyona place I told you about, go check out the tagged pictures on my facebook, it's called old china cafe ... very retro, very stylo, very authentic ...
Originally posted by sbst275:
LF, to them RM3 also very bitter. Here 1 noodle also $3, but e wages level?my relative now realises actually how better life is provided for in Singapore. last time they ever told my dad, here cars ex, need to take MRT or bus to travel, no freedom.
Tat's why over there those 5L cooking oil sells. But one thing, here we can afford to buy sunflower, canola or soya oil. Over there, ppl mostly buy palm oil
jialat leh...:(
Originally posted by SBS2601D:
goodness
though I'm not in for caning in today's world, but e article is over-rated
Originally posted by sbst275:
actually Malaysia can't stand to e world competition. They just kept necessity prices artifically low, and I think so for wages ever since 1980s. Their govt whole day think of those wat's not, like tat bak kut teh now.now Malaysia can't even afford to subsidise its people, hyperinflation to come soon. My relative they thinking of working in Singapore riao.
I realised even big Malaysian co aren't competitive anymore
actually, if their goverment actually get their act together, Singapore would be pretty farked liao ...
they've got everything, oil, gas, timber, lots of arable land ... but just like many other countries around the world, those who've inherited the most, are least able to take care of it ....
On the positive side, our neighbour up north is nothing like a failed state or anything, and isn't in danger of that anytime soon.![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:actually, if their goverment actually get their act together, Singapore would be pretty farked liao ...
they've got everything, oil, gas, timber, lots of arable land ... but just like many other countries around the world, those who've inherited the most, are least able to take care of it ....
their oil is running out though.
hard to say la. Either back then probably PAP gained power, Malaysia became a bigger industralised country. Or we're still in Malaysia and doomed. Or like wat you said. Lots of things could have happened la.
I think Tungku let us go probably he knew we would succeed under equal rights.
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:jialat leh...:(
but palm oil isn't tat bad after all though.
deep frying is still best to use palm oil. cheap and good.
Originally posted by Fatum:like ..... meat ?
npoez...unless i wanna end up with a massive headache.
old china cafe in chinatown right? i find the interiors too dark and gloomy - gives me the creeps.
i am going to rest liao...
nite pple :)
I swear that the Chinese-grown oranges in AMK FairPrice Xtra were painted with luminous paint... I've never seen oranges with such an intense hue. The German rye bread is very nice though it's dense and expensive.
mmm.. recently got a reply from Fairprice
They said they created duplicating outlets because if end up another supermarket chain or mini mart takes over, Fairprice's market share would plunge and no one w/ social enterprise motto would keep profiteering at bay
I think open market system w/ variety of goods can keep profiteering at bay effectively.
It does not surprise me tat their avg turnover per outlet's been plunging w/ more and more of such duplicating outlets
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:I swear that the Chinese-grown oranges in AMK FairPrice Xtra were painted with luminous paint... I've never seen oranges with such an intense hue. The German rye bread is very nice though it's dense and expensive.
do a simple substance test? LOL