Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:i am still clueless about cooking
wat oil is good for wat hah?
like deep frying with what food, stir fried with wat food, salad?
These days the oil bottle labelling would tell you
Palm oil (I recommend for home cooking use Duck, Vesawit, Cabbage brands as they're e better grade ones), Soy bean oil (Soyalite, Knife & Golden {Both from Lam Soon's}) & blended oil (Knife & Red Cock) are suitable for deep frying.
If you dun mind e cost, then as like pinky has said, go for the Yellow Cock pure groundnut oil. 2lit bottle cost like $9.20
Stir frying and salad goes well w/ Canola oil & Sunflower oils. Olive oil is good for salad dressing as well. I would recommend Naturel brand though as it has 1 speical Canola + sunflower blended varient.
Beats me abt corn oil cos I've always thought of them being sticky.
Originally posted by av98m:I can't believe you want to be a chef! :P
alamak.. all got to start somewhere somehow...
dun want to be a chef, i want to be housewife :)
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:alamak.. all got to start somewhere somehow...
dun want to be a chef, i want to be housewife :)
you should go take cooking classes or just dig up internet recipes and do trial and error. google can answer most of your questions.
Originally posted by av98m:you should go take cooking classes or just dig up internet recipes and do trial and error. google can answer most of your questions.
she could start with the McNuggetini or the Ham Daiquiri ![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:
These days the oil bottle labelling would tell youPalm oil (I recommend for home cooking use Duck, Vesawit, Cabbage brands as they're e better grade ones), Soy bean oil (Soyalite, Knife & Golden {Both from Lam Soon's}) & blended oil (Knife & Red Cock) are suitable for deep frying.
If you dun mind e cost, then as like pinky has said, go for the Yellow Cock pure groundnut oil. 2lit bottle cost like $9.20
Stir frying and salad goes well w/ Canola oil & Sunflower oils. Olive oil is good for salad dressing as well. I would recommend Naturel brand though as it has 1 speical Canola + sunflower blended varient.
Beats me abt corn oil cos I've always thought of them being sticky.
*jotting them into my little notebook* ![]()
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:*jotting them into my little notebook*
on a side note, if unsure palm oil is your best friend. bao gar liow
but salad dressing get better soft oils la ![]()
not palm oil.. if unsure, lard is good for almost everything ![]()
except your cholesterol levels, that is ![]()
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:i am still clueless about cooking
wat oil is good for wat hah?
like deep frying with what food, stir fried with wat food, salad?
salad - for tossing veg only, right? olive oil or grapeseed oil
grapeseed oil...i saw that :)
on a side note, if unsure palm oil is your best friend. bao gar liowbut salad dressing get better soft oils la
i was at cold storage yesterday... looking at the oil thingy... amazing varieties...
hopefully the new mall (nex) quickly oki lah.. i can get everything there hopefully :)
my house evo is naturel one :)
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:i was at cold storage yesterday... looking at the oil thingy... amazing varieties...
hopefully the new mall (nex) quickly oki lah.. i can get everything there hopefully :)
Taka Cold Storage?
yeah e variety is amazing. But for myself I only look for Lam Soon's brand of oils except Soyalite
i'm traumatised by the New Paper ![]()
effing MP in there talking about teaching its child about sexuality.. i think the child would probably take a vow of celibacy after that thing talked to whatever child about sexuality
Originally posted by the Bear:i'm traumatised by the New Paper
effing MP in there talking about teaching its child about sexuality.. i think the child would probably take a vow of celibacy after that thing talked to whatever child about sexuality
we have a bunch of caring MPs ![]()
Originally posted by SevenEleven:
we have a bunch of caring MPs
you should go see the picture..
it was scary.. almost the Ho Ching level of scary ![]()
Taka Cold Storage?yeah e variety is amazing. But for myself I only look for Lam Soon's brand of oils except Soyalite
and i saw the varieties of dressings ..mayo, thousand, hollandise, blue cheese...wahhh!!!.
there are some pretty cute MPs around .... like josephine teo for example .... she was seated at the next table with her leg boys a little while back at lunchie .... I couldn't help staring .... ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:
you should go see the picture..it was scary.. almost the Ho Ching level of scary
oh yeah speaking of ms ho, one of her investee banks is in news in KL
how much did she lose this time ?
Originally posted by Fatum:there are some pretty cute MPs around .... like josephine teo for example .... she was seated at the next table with her leg boys a little while back at lunchie .... I couldn't help staring ....
ok, time to go get something to eat
then its wala wala tonight
gotta pay cover charge ah?
hot hot hot
Originally posted by Fatum:how much did she lose this time ?
not exactly lose $...yet but it's kinda scandalous if the CEO of the bank is on extended leave pending an internal probe
inside story is branch renovations went to a related party
economy beehoon, best.
i am contented
I cannot stop sneezing ...yelppp!!..