Originally posted by Fatum:well, the goverment likes to pay out from it's left pocket into right pocket mah ....
I see nothing wrong with that, as long as all the fat cats are goverment fat cats .... and not private ones ....
but in e past, everything all given to e same contractor and it's all done alone.
I mean tis kind of thing is like the 1st party gets $100 paid, then later subcontract for $50 to pte operator. End up $50 profit made from taxpayers $$
forgot, many of the GLCs are runned by SAF retired high ranking officers
just got back from the neutered one's actual home, but i didn't go there with the neutered one
it was a movie + bitching session with the neutered one's sis
here's whats been happening, the neutered one wants to go bkk in june
up till now he still can't tell me if he wants to check in luggage or not (so i can't buy the ticket)
but i bought tix for everyone else already.
there is a high chance that the asshole will pull out of a trip he instigated... AGAIN
Originally posted by hisoka:Actually as long as they can meet the required services/quantity/quality, doesn't matter if they go and sub contract it. Nothing wrong with that business model.
The original contractor who bids for it dun even have the resources to do it.
In fact tis is hated upon in Bolehland, corruption and inefficiency
Originally posted by kopiosatu:just got back from the neutered one's actual home, but i didn't go there with the neutered one
it was a movie + bitching session with the neutered one's sis
here's whats been happening, the neutered one wants to go bkk in june
up till now he still can't tell me if he wants to check in luggage or not (so i can't buy the ticket)
but i bought tix for everyone else already.
there is a high chance that the asshole will pull out of a trip he instigated... AGAIN
an all guys hol?
Originally posted by sbst275:
but in e past, everything all given to e same contractor and it's all done alone.I mean tis kind of thing is like the 1st party gets $100 paid, then later subcontract for $50 to pte operator. End up $50 profit made from taxpayers $$
too bad. can't fault the guy for being smart.
but in e past, everything all given to e same contractor and it's all done alone.I mean tis kind of thing is like the 1st party gets $100 paid, then later subcontract for $50 to pte operator. End up $50 profit made from taxpayers $$
yes, however, there is a key difference between our "ali baba" model, and our northern neighbour's ....
is that our retired soldiers go work for those GLCs, as employees, it's just like a retirement job for them, lower ranked ones and warrant officers end up being discipline masters in schools, it's the same thing .... those GLCs in turn are owned by our goverment, so the $50 profit is not really taxpayer's money, cos it becomes taxpayer's profit too ......
whereas up north, the retired soldiers would form shell companies, pull a few strings, get a few fat contracts, and then proceed to fleece the goverment while subcontracting the meat out to the babas. Just look at their "speedpas" card for vehicular entry into malaysia, classic fat cat case ...
I would gladly take our model .....
Originally posted by cassie:an all guys hol?
no, got 2 girls
its a clubbing holiday
Originally posted by kopiosatu:no, got 2 girls
its a clubbing holiday
so presuming neutered one bails out, you'll be left with the 2 gals? one of whom is the lesbo? ![]()
so presuming neutered one bails out, you'll be left with the 2 gals? one of whom is the lesbo?
no lah
one is the neutered one's sis and her bf and the other is the sis friend
i know all of them
The original contractor who bids for it dun even have the resources to do it.In fact tis is hated upon in Bolehland, corruption and inefficiency
as I said subcontracting is fine. The earn the difference by coordinating the efforts of the smaller companies.
The alternative if the government needs to award to another company who may charge higher or give lousier deals. Or they have to split up the tender into smaller parts and give the sub contractors AND coordinate them. Not efficient at all.
That's assuming there's no kelong in choosing the particular vendor in the first place.
*pats stomach*![]()
Originally posted by hisoka:as I said subcontracting is fine. The earn the difference by coordinating the efforts of the smaller companies.
The alternative if the government needs to award to another company who may charge higher or give lousier deals. Or they have to split up the tender into smaller parts and give the sub contractors AND coordinate them. Not efficient at all.
That's assuming there's no kelong in choosing the particular vendor in the first place.
Actually the issue is in the first place, subcontract tis kind defeats the real purpose for e need of open tender.
I'm not even saying abt complicating construction of HDB flats tat needs diff smaller contractor to finish diff jobs but just 1 item - buses to ferry ppl
Originally posted by Fatum:yes, however, there is a key difference between our "ali baba" model, and our northern neighbour's ....
is that our retired soldiers go work for those GLCs, as employees, it's just like a retirement job for them, lower ranked ones and warrant officers end up being discipline masters in schools, it's the same thing .... those GLCs in turn are owned by our goverment, so the $50 profit is not really taxpayer's money, cos it becomes taxpayer's profit too ......
whereas up north, the retired soldiers would form shell companies, pull a few strings, get a few fat contracts, and then proceed to fleece the goverment while subcontracting the meat out to the babas. Just look at their "speedpas" card for vehicular entry into malaysia, classic fat cat case ...
I would gladly take our model .....
yeah la
but maybe sekali the private operator they group together can bid for lower amt for all we may know.
anyway in e past it was all self done by SBS, participants ferry and shuttle bus
Originally posted by SBS2601D:*pats stomach*
ooooooohhhhhhh target spotted!
but too bad...i'm gonna log out in 5. ok, hound you tomorrow then. ![]()
Circle Line from Dhoby Ghaut to Bartley to Marymount would start on Apr 17
Originally posted by sbst275:Circle Line from Dhoby Ghaut to Bartley to Marymount would start on Apr 17
yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!
ooooooohhhhhhh target spotted!but too bad...i'm gonna log out in 5. ok, hound you tomorrow then.
*makes a point not to log in tml*
yeah labut maybe sekali the private operator they group together can bid for lower amt for all we may know.
anyway in e past it was all self done by SBS, participants ferry and shuttle bus
well, I would rather a GLC handle it than some private bus operators .......
They should just do something about the packed trains....and I don't mean removing more seats!
On one hand, greater emphasis was placed on trains to ferry people, on the other hand they went to give us 3-car trains.
wtf!
Originally posted by Fatum:well, I would rather a GLC handle it than some private bus operators .......
least it's thru open tender system.
but really, w/ SMRT's tied committments, seems like going to see ali baba again
Actually the issue is in the first place, subcontract tis kind defeats the real purpose for e need of open tender.I'm not even saying abt complicating construction of HDB flats tat needs diff smaller contractor to finish diff jobs but just 1 item - buses to ferry ppl
the open tender is to award the whole contract. I don't see how the subcontracting by the vendor defeats the purpose.
We have to stop somewhere. Do you want the government to make sure the contractor also did an open tender for the subcontracting and also all the materials or items the contractor uses for the job?
Originally posted by SBS2601D:They should just do something about the packed trains....and I don't mean removing more seats!
On one hand, greater emphasis was placed on trains to ferry people, on the other hand they went to give us 3-car trains.
wtf!
actually the MRT still has some space for now, I mean e end carriages. But I dunno how long tis small space would be taken up as CCL starts.
Imagine Bus 22 & 24 removed, Paya Lebar office crowds forced to take CCL to Bishan and squeeze on NSL to AMK
Originally posted by hisoka:the open tender is to award the whole contract. I don't see how the subcontracting by the vendor defeats the purpose.
We have to stop somewhere. Do you want the government to make sure the contractor also did an open tender for the subcontracting and also all the materials or items the contractor uses for the job?
The thing w/ open tender is to ensure only those who can really do e job esp those requiring single items gets e contract.
I've alrdy menntioned, end up A party got e job say $150 per trip. So they subcontract to B for $100.. Might as well if B bid for e job, maybe $50 could be saved.
Tat's why sometimes private bus operators forever never able to get big jobs and improve their svs, everything SMRT take and subcontract it out. defeats e purpose of open tender
I dunno wat's abt wat PM Lee mentioned abt foreign talents end up on SC.
Come on la, end of e day we still need a mix of ppl from around e world.
The thing w/ open tender is to ensure only those who can really do e job esp those requiring single items gets e contract.I've alrdy menntioned, end up A party got e job say $150 per trip. So they subcontract to B for $100.. Might as well if B bid for e job, maybe $50 could be saved.
Tat's why sometimes private bus operators forever never able to get big jobs and improve their svs, everything SMRT take and subcontract it out. defeats e purpose of open tender
they only subcontract out part of the required capacity, neh ?
say I have 100 buses spare, the nearest competitor's only got 20, naturally, I'll get the job, even though the requirement's for 120 buses, so I'll subcontract part of it to the other chap .....
it makes sense, cos the organizers only need to chase after me, instead of two companies.save on half the headache.