Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
I still love the char siew from tiong bahru market... the part they use is "bu jian tian"...
I never heard of the chinese name like that
But is it a small lump of meat?
just finished lunch
I never heard of the chinese name like thatBut is it a small lump of meat?
supposely i asked ard, it's suppose to be somewhere near the armpit area... supposely the most prized of all char siew... and indeed... it's my fav char siew...
Originally posted by cassie:just finished lunch
i ate a very terrible ipoh horfun...
it was so bad that I have to spend additional money on a blueberry cheese tart and a lemon cheese tart... both tart also taste equally terrible... zzzzzzzzz... i shld have stick to cai png... cheaper -___-
supposely i asked ard, it's suppose to be somewhere near the armpit area... supposely the most prized of all char siew... and indeed... it's my fav char siew...
It's not armpit la
It's the collar. Collar Butt is the most prized of all char siew. This is the neck area.
I think they just called it another name.
Armpit is between the Shoulder and Front Hock and I don't think you wanna use the meat there to make char siew
Another part some places use for char siew is the Jowl (chin)
It has a very crunchy fat and a very nice tender crunchy meat in the center.
The nice part of the fat is that it's tasty & crunchy but not oily and eat liao wun jialak.
Very few places use this part though
Originally posted by elindra:It's not armpit la
It's the collar. Collar Butt is the most prized of all char siew. This is the neck area.
I think they just called it another name.
Armpit is between the Shoulder and Front Hock and I don't think you wanna use the meat there to make char siew

ehh... apparently it's the part between the shoulder and the belly... a quick search with yahoo links to Ieat with pics...
ooooh I love char siew
make me wanna char-siew noodle for tonight's dinner... half fat less thin...ones..
*burps pancake with butter, maple syrup, banana slices.....*
*happiness* ![]()
That is the collar butt -_-"
Pigs don't have necks per se so the whole area. Just that is the bottom collar butt.
Yes collar butt got diff price one also.
I would show you pictures of a pig carcess but I am too lazy to scan it in
i ate a very terrible ipoh horfun...it was so bad that I have to spend additional money on a blueberry cheese tart and a lemon cheese tart... both tart also taste equally terrible... zzzzzzzzz... i shld have stick to cai png... cheaper -___-
where were these from? obviously not CBTL. ![]()
oh BTW, when i was in HK, my friends had the most amazing braised cow's cheek - apparently it was so tender.
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:*burps pancake with butter, maple syrup, banana slices.....*
*happiness*
you made, right? brought from home?
we made in the office:)
I have some very nice Canadian Pork Prime Ribs at home.
Was hoping to cook them this weekend but since I will be away I guess they will have to wait till the CNY holidays
Maybe I keep them for V’day :P
mum say dun eat pork outside now.... like minced pork or wat, cos she say dunnoe if they got mix pig head meat inside or not... apparently i can't eat tat... -_-"
Originally posted by tare:mum say dun eat pork outside now.... like minced pork or wat, cos she say dunnoe if they got mix pig head meat inside or not... apparently i can't eat tat... -_-"
i was about to get ground pork to do a dish leh...
noooooooooooooooooo...........
Buy my HOBA brand Canadian Minced Pork la :P
100% no pig head inside.
It’s real minced lean meat. Not spare parts wor
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
i was about to get ground pork to do a dish leh...
noooooooooooooooooo...........
erm.. i can't eat pig head meat, u can wat... -_-"
haiz... life is short, why be so rich.., just eat more......
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_485355.html
Originally posted by av98m:ooooh I love char siew
the best 2 char siew lies closer to ur side av -___-
jalan bukit merah and tiong bahru market... and I can only go either one when I'm visiting SGH on my off day for some reason... since tiong bahru market ones get sold out by ard 2-3 pm... -___-
the best 2 char siew lies closer to ur side av -___-jalan bukit merah and tiong bahru market... and I can only go either one when I'm visiting SGH on my off day for some reason... since tiong bahru market ones get sold out by ard 2-3 pm... -___-
But you really very eng
Actually go all the way there to eat char siew
I don't think I will do that unless I'm in the area
I told my boss de boss we might be doing the wrong things for years... showed him the proof... he thought abt it, did a facepalm and asked me to totally forget that portion... another stuff get swept under the carpet~ ![]()
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:haiz... life is short, why be so rich.., just eat more......
Tycoon Ng Teng Fong dies
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_485355.html
u need to be rich so u can eat more wat LOL
But you really very engActually go all the way there to eat char siew
I don't think I will do that unless I'm in the area
for food, nowhere is too far... only except when i'm working then no time go far...
afterall sgh is surround by good food... there's also a rather hidden kopitiam under the hill near everton road surrounded by HDB... the 3 lao hor fun is one of the best i eaten and the slice fish isssssss shooooo fresh >.< the cai png is definately one of the best around...
The akira resturant which is @ Link hotel near SGH is very terrible though... though the place looks nice...