Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Good morning. Any big plans for Sunday?
nothing big
but it's shocking over e BA strike. Good reminds me of wat LKY did to BA when SQ wasn't given landing rights into London.
Originally posted by sbst275:
nothing bigbut it's shocking over e BA strike. Good reminds me of wat LKY did to BA when SQ wasn't given landing rights into London.
What did LKY do to BA?
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:What did LKY do to BA?
Tat was in Paya Lebar days.
When LKY knew tat the British was not giving SQ landing rights, he told ppl at Paya Lebar to handle BA planes slowly. The ang mohs are obviously incensed and went to look for LKY.
He told e ang mohs if you can't give SQ landing rights, why should we be serving them? They later on gave SQ its landing rights
MG, anyways Abott's milk powder are now made in Singapore ![]()
oh yeah, do you know 1 of CMA CGM's ordered vessel of 14,000 TEU size has been auctioned off? Simply because CMA CGM is unable to pay for it. It's in serious debt
Tat was in Paya Lebar days.When LKY knew tat the British was not giving SQ landing rights, he told ppl at Paya Lebar to handle BA planes slowly. The ang mohs are obviously incensed and went to look for LKY.
He told e ang mohs if you can't give SQ landing rights, why should we be serving them? They later on gave SQ its landing rights
I would never have imagined LKY responding in such a petulant manner. Very reminiscent of a spoiled child throwing a tantrum when he does not get his way.
Originally posted by sbst275:MG, anyways Abott's milk powder are now made in Singapore
oh yeah, do you know 1 of CMA CGM's ordered vessel of 14,000 TEU size has been auctioned off? Simply because CMA CGM is unable to pay for it. It's in serious debt
So who ended up buying the vessel? One of their competitors, I take it?
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:I would never have imagined LKY responding in such a petulant manner. Very reminiscent of a spoiled child throwing a tantrum when he does not get his way.
but gotta remember those days lots of protectionalism going around.
Very few nations like us opened up to e world for investment.
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:So who ended up buying the vessel? One of their competitors, I take it?
Yesh
*me mysteriously appears in a puff of smoke*
Happiness is a 21.1 km Sunday morning run followed by nasi lemak for breakfast.
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:I would never have imagined LKY responding in such a petulant manner. Very reminiscent of a spoiled child throwing a tantrum when he does not get his way.
but in this case I think it was perfectly warranted, he was fighting for the interest of singapore then ....
Yesterday I saw the ravage transformer usb drive at the otaku house in iluma..

I was so surprised to find that it only costs $38.80...It doesn't even cost so cheap in us dollars when u try to find it online...![]()
Originally posted by The man who was death:Yesterday I saw the ravage transformer usb drive at the otaku house in iluma..
I was so surprised to find that it only costs $38.80...It doesn't even cost so cheap in us dollars when u try to find it online...
then you should buy it and stick it online ... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:then you should buy it and stick it online ...
no way..i'm keeping it for myself....unless someone wants to pay more than 50 us dollars for it....![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:but in this case I think it was perfectly warranted, he was fighting for the interest of singapore then ....
I believe he only fought for SQ's landing rights. Otherwise he left it alone to survive.
Ironic, many co during tat time like SQ, SBS were expected to survive on their own. Tat led them to spur to innovate.
Did remembered SBS announced in 1983 tat they were looking into farecard system to improve productivity.
I believe he only fought for SQ's landing rights. Otherwise he left it alone to survive.Ironic, many co during tat time like SQ, SBS were expected to survive on their own. Tat led them to spur to innovate.
Did remembered SBS announced in 1983 tat they were looking into farecard system to improve productivity.
for airlines i think it's quite a different ball game. SQ is our flag carrier. Other countries play by the same rules too, landing rights is a country to country game of quid pro quo, you scratch my back and I'll scratch yours, if you don't let me land my planes, why should I let you do so ? .... I think it's perfectly acceptable, infact, right, to squeeze their nuts.
Originally posted by Fatum:for airlines i think it's quite a different ball game. SQ is our flag carrier. Other countries play by the same rules too, landing rights is a country to country game of quid pro quo, you scratch my back and I'll scratch yours, if you don't let me land my planes, why should I let you do so ? .... I think it's perfectly acceptable, infact, right, to squeeze their nuts.
yeap. to think of it, back then lots of protectionalism policy played. Very few nations like us opened up.
now it's w/ the Transpacific Kanagroo route ![]()
I heard wat Qantas say SQ is subsidised I tak boleh tahan. Furthermore tat AirAsia boss accusing the same thing.
They forgot wat LKY mentioned at e beginning of SQ.
yeap. to think of it, back then lots of protectionalism policy played. Very few nations like us opened up.now it's w/ the Transpacific Kanagroo route
I heard wat Qantas say SQ is subsidised I tak boleh tahan. Furthermore tat AirAsia boss accusing the same thing.
They forgot wat LKY mentioned at e beginning of SQ.
quantas is a good example of a screwed up airline that would not have survived if not for goverment arranged route monopolies .....
another good example is air canada. Service is terrible to non-existent ... but other than the carriers from the other two NAFTA countries, airlines of any other countries can only land at vancouver and toronto, domestic routes have to be via domestic carriers.
Originally posted by Fatum:quantas is a good example of a screwed up airline that would not have survived if not for goverment arranged route monopolies .....
another good example is air canada. Service is terrible to non-existent ... but other than the carriers from the other two NAFTA countries, airlines of any other countries can only land at vancouver and toronto, domestic routes have to be via domestic carriers.
I remembered abt Canada's case, streamie mentioned abt it.
Partly because of SQ, tat Air Canada kpkb. Eventually SQ quit Canada's market.
I remembered abt Canada's case, streamie mentioned abt it.Partly because of SQ, tat Air Canada kpkb. Eventually SQ quit Canada's market.
that is a bloody pity ... now I'd have to stick to cathay when I visit .... and I don't really like cathay ... they tend to lump me for some reason with old ah peks and aunties who doesn't speak a word of english and I always have to play translator for them with the air-stewardesses.
Originally posted by Fatum:that is a bloody pity ... now I'd have to stick to cathay when I visit .... and I don't really like cathay ... they tend to lump me for some reason with old ah peks and aunties who doesn't speak a word of english and I always have to play translator for them with the air-stewardesses.
huh?
Cathay dun have english speaking crew?
hey.. someone jumped on to the tracks yesterday and was hit by a train.. is the guy mincemeat or what? the news reports just say he was hit
huh?Cathay dun have english speaking crew?
they do, but you know hongkies ..... they look at people down the tip of their noses, especially if they think you don't speak honglish ....
Originally posted by Fatum:quantas is a good example of a screwed up airline that would not have survived if not for goverment arranged route monopolies .....
You know, I'll never ride Qantas unless I urgently need to go to Sweden to pick up my Nobel Prize and all the other airlines have crashed all their planes.
Looking at all its safety record..... I swear, if it wasn't for its name, I'd have mistaken it for some banana-republic airline flying Soviet-era Antonovs....
Originally posted by the Bear:hey.. someone jumped on to the tracks yesterday and was hit by a train.. is the guy mincemeat or what? the news reports just say he was hit
yeah .... bloody inconsiderate fellow ......
Originally posted by Fatum:they do, but you know hongkies ..... they look at people down the tip of their noses, especially if they think you don't speak honglish ....
I see