Originally posted by Fatum:we never really had it, despite whatever the MIW says ..... cos LKY always see the locals as a lower breed than foreign imports, that we were less capable and less entreprenuerial. That's why right from the start the focus was on attracting large foreign capitals instead of nurturing local industries. That's why today, all the big businesses in singapore are either MNCs or goverment linked companies, with a few sprinklings of sweet heart cronies like the few full services banks we have.
actually it's a necessary evil. The MNCs are ones who bring in expertise and so on to the country.
As for local industries, to think of it certain industries ought to be protected for some specific reasons. But e MIW here wun even care.
Anyways the talent policy also killed. Do you see the top scorers setting up businesses? Cos LKY always insist the govt or now these days MNC must take them. Who wants to be businessman?
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
better hope they dun relocated somewhere else >___>U pull in sooo much manpower for building purpose, once build finish then I hope they dun loiter ard...
there are hordes of them in the park behind my house every single night ..... some nights, every bench would be occupied by either a bangla or a tiong .....
only a little while ago the place would be deserted after dark ....
LF, just take it as if you dunno.
the guy might soon find out one.
Originally posted by sbst275:
actually it's a necessary evil. The MNCs are ones who bring in expertise and so on to the country.As for local industries, to think of it certain industries ought to be protected for some specific reasons. But e MIW here wun even care.
Anyways the talent policy also killed. Do you see the top scorers setting up businesses? Cos LKY always insist the govt or now these days MNC must take them. Who wants to be businessman?
is it really a neccessary evil ? .... you can acquire technologies and knowhow in other ways too, not just direct foreign investment. Why is it that taiwan was able to grow companies like acer and asus and benq and HTC and 1 in 4 chap is doing their own business ?
And, no, not really, I think many industries are protected in Singapore .... even when they are "liberalized" ... it only just mean that foreign companies have to partner up with a local GLC to get a slice of the pie .... just look at the local telcos, budget airlines, and our banks ... ![]()
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:They have "drive offs" in Singapore too? Surprising. I thought people there were universally law abiding.
Over here, the gas station pumps are almost always monitored with CCTVs set up to have the cars' license plates in view, so a "drive off" will usually result in the car's number being traced and the perp arrested. Drive-offs were really bad around here when gas prices were pushing US$4/gal. a few years back.
in singapore, most of the drive-offs are luxury car owners.
Originally posted by sbst275:LF, just take it as if you dunno.
the guy might soon find out one.
sometimes i dun want to know this kind of things.. :(
who with who for wat motive.. who with who because kana dump by previous.. who with who to grab before pple grab the guy,, who with who because he is highly demanded.... wtf siah.. what is the world become liao..
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:talking about that..was chatting with a lady friend that nite..
she told me she changed boyfriend liao..
reason: previous boyfriend is only a normal office worker and stay in hdb.
new found man is a private house (though stay with parents and 2 sisters married off liao). pretty good job (middle management) and he is sure to inherit the house when parents died. A GOOD CATCH and show off to friends....even she longed and loved the previous one.
i went..
*loss of words*
very common lah, amongst local women.
Originally posted by Fatum:is it really a neccessary evil ? .... you can acquire technologies and knowhow in other ways too, not just direct foreign investment. Why is it that taiwan was able to grow companies like acer and asus and benq and HTC and 1 in 4 chap is doing their own business ?
And, no, not really, I think many industries are protected in Singapore .... even when they are "liberalized" ... it only just mean that foreign companies have to partner up with a local GLC to get a slice of the pie .... just look at the local telcos, budget airlines, and our banks ...
gotta remember wat happened back then in 1965.
Taiwan is all because developed its people way before us. Dun forget all those simi R&D & science park idea came from ROC. Also they opened up very early, their kids went to US to study, got influenced and went back creating Tech co.
Over there everything is private.
Originally posted by av98m:very common lah, amongst local women.
only thing tat stops them from dreaming is the shotgun
gotta remember wat happened back then in 1965.Taiwan is all because developed its people way before us. Dun forget all those simi R&D & science park idea came from ROC. Also they opened up very early, their kids went to US to study, got influenced and went back creating Tech co.
Over there everything is private.
ho ho ! ... surprise ! ....
their kids went to berkley and MIT and went home to start tech companies ....
our kids went to berkley and MIT and come home to become millionaire civil servants ? ... ![]()
Originally posted by av98m:in singapore, most of the drive-offs are luxury car owners.
Well, I did tell you guys about that punk kid who owned a $160k Mercedes but then whined and b*tched in the New Paper about getting singled out for parking summons.....
Don't want to kena singled out, then just place a parking coupon lah.....
Can afford a $160k Merc, but cannot afford a $1 parking coupon.... haiz.....
only thing tat stops them from dreaming is the shotgun
! ....
Originally posted by Fatum:ho ho ! ... surprise ! ....
their kids went to berkley and MIT and went home to start tech companies ....
our kids went to berkley and MIT and come home to become millionaire civil servants ? ...
Alrdy said LKY's mind is all e atas ones must serve in civil service or SAF.
I wonder one fine day if economy is weak, got $$ to pay for all these scholars?
Originally posted by av98m:very common lah, amongst local women.
oei
Originally posted by fudgester:Well, I did tell you guys about that punk kid who owned a $160k Mercedes but then whined and b*tched in the New Paper about getting singled out for parking summons.....
I wonder where has e world gone to.
So just because buy expensive cars can go speeding, dun place parking coupon, beat red lights?
Originally posted by fudgester:Well, I did tell you guys about that punk kid who owned a $160k Mercedes but then whined and b*tched in the New Paper about getting singled out for parking summons.....
actually, the chap has half a point .... he was being singled out .... ![]()
but what's interesting is that the reporter managed to dig out an even younger chap who drives a merc too ..... 22 years old .... finance consultant was he ? ....
22 yrs old, that means barely out of NS .... how the hell did these people get all the money ? .... ![]()
crap
The Yankees and Brits are reducing their spending on education esp the universities!
Originally posted by ä¸�如就æ»:oei
its true what. you should listen to some of my female ex-classmates talk. as well as experiences of guys I know. omg.
Originally posted by Fatum:
! ....
correct ma.
YAYYYY~
Finally finish consolidating everything into the access...
But then -____- my boss dunno how to use access -___-
Gotta teach her how to generate simple query...
Originally posted by av98m:its true what. you should listen to some of my female ex-classmates talk. as well as experiences of guys I know. omg.
The unmarried ones right (althought not all are like that)
We are trying to talk one of our friends to divorce her useless husband who blackmails her emotionally, puts her down frequently, and lives off her -_-"
The unmarried ones right (althought not all are like that)We are trying to talk one of our friends to divorce her useless husband who blackmails her emotionally, puts her down frequently, and lives off her -_-"
been hearing because divorce hurts e woman more.
I mean over here, if divorce ppl always arrow e woman 1st.
The unmarried ones right (althought not all are like that)We are trying to talk one of our friends to divorce her useless husband who blackmails her emotionally, puts her down frequently, and lives off her -_-"
both.
some of my married friends regretted marrying their wives because they got more and more demanding and kept comparing them to richer and more successful men.![]()
I dun mind living off a rich wife myself. :P
been hearing because divorce hurts e woman more.I mean over here, if divorce ppl always arrow e woman 1st.
esp if they have kids.
Originally posted by av98m:both.
some of my married friends regretted marrying their wives because they got more and more demanding and kept comparing them to richer and more successful men.
I dun mind living off a rich wife myself. :P
"Your tail hath long been exposed~" ![]()