Originally posted by the Bear:actually, i wonder if i can send some mee siam paste over?
coz the folks order the stuff from the wholesaler when the whole neighbourhood buys the stuff...
there's also mee rebus gravy paste, and laksa paste...
since it's a "bulk order" they even deliver it here
Yes please send!!!
I can get Prima here. Make that used to be able to get it easily. The local Asian supermarket has stopped carrying Prima so now, I have to get my fix via online order again. Sian ah!
Originally posted by kopiosatu:mandarin oriental, 4th floor.
the bill was 457.85 for 3
OMG!!!
anyway the steak was good
no need sauce, it was so thick and juicy that u don't need drinks to lube your throat.
my steak costs $115... and it better be good.
but it'll be my first and last time there ![]()
this one, i think it's Tung San...
=> Tungsan Food
i go check postage tomorrow at IMM ![]()
and... can we actually send foodstuff over there by mail? ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:I haven't gone down to HDB to select my flat yet ..... will do when I'm there ...
Thanks! I bet price there are super high still. Prices here have fallen but there is a slight uptick in several neighbourhoods.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:anyway the steak was good
no need sauce, it was so thick and juicy that u don't need drinks to lube your throat.
my steak costs $115... and it better be good.
but it'll be my first and last time there
Piangz, it had better be Kobe beef man, at that price. Sounds like Happy Valley prices. Is that joint still around?
Originally posted by jetta:Thanks! I bet price there are super high still. Prices here have fallen but there is a slight uptick in several neighbourhoods.
haven't you read about it?
HDB resale flats are ridiculously overpriced these days...
zora and i were looking at this place in Clementi West.. it's in the middle of nowhere... a 5 room place, over 30 years old...
valuation = $590k
owner wants at least $90k to $100k cash over valuation!
Originally posted by the Bear:this one, i think it's Tung San...
=> Tungsan Food
i go check postage tomorrow at IMM
and... can we actually send foodstuff over there by mail?
Seriously?? Pai seh leh. I thought you were joking.
I've received foodstuff from Sg twice since I moved here so I would assume it would be all right. To reduce the chance of accidental spillage, my Mum would slip a ziploc bag over anything that's liquid.
The only thing tat could make HDB resale prices to go down is if the PR quota is filled up for tat new town or town zone.
Originally posted by jetta:Piangz, it had better be Kobe beef man, at that price. Sounds like Happy Valley prices. Is that joint still around?
its not kobe.
its new york strip steak... cooked properly.
Originally posted by the Bear:haven't you read about it?
HDB resale flats are ridiculously overpriced these days...
zora and i were looking at this place in Clementi West.. it's in the middle of nowhere... a 5 room place, over 30 years old...
valuation = $590k
owner wants at least $90k to $100k cash over valuation!
Yes I have but I was wondering if it's gotten higher since my last update. So the two of you are going to make it permanent? Congrats! Half a million for a HDB unit is waaaay too much, IMHO. Sounds like what we went through here before the bubble burst. I hope that happens for you guys soon.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:its not kobe.
its new york strip steak... cooked properly.
Super damn expensive piece of strip. Unbelievable.
bubble won't burst anytime soon
not with the IR and stuff coming up and companies employing foreigners
Originally posted by jetta:Seriously?? Pai seh leh. I thought you were joking.
I've received foodstuff from Sg twice since I moved here so I would assume it would be all right. To reduce the chance of accidental spillage, my Mum would slip a ziploc bag over anything that's liquid.
i go find out tomorrow.. see how it goes coz if the cost is insane.. uhh... sorry lah..
but hey.. i think we've tortured you enough with our pics of our pigout sessions ![]()
so it's really not much ![]()
oh.. this pic is for the earthquake.. who wanted "da zha xie" which is actually hairy crab..

the roe was like... sea urchin and foie gras combined...
Originally posted by jetta:Super damn expensive piece of strip. Unbelievable.
at least tried once
no point paying for the same price for kobe and they screw up the cooking
besides, its more than 300g of steak
Thanks for the thought though. *fingers crossed* ![]()
So when will you be making a trip this way?
Originally posted by kopiosatu:at least tried once
no point paying for the same price for kobe and they screw up the cooking
besides, its more than 300g of steak
you shoulda watched Adam Richman on Man v Food last night..
he ate a 72oz steak.. that's 4.5lbs!! 2kg!!
and also a baked potato, a dinner roll, 3 breaded fried shrimp and salad... all in under 30 minutes!
Originally posted by jetta:Thanks for the thought though. *fingers crossed*
So when will you be making a trip this way?
don't think so in the near future... thoughts of more than 24 hours in a plane scare me ![]()
Adam Richman is a freak. ![]()
Yikes! I just felt a slight tremor!
Originally posted by the Bear:don't think so in the near future... thoughts of more than 24 hours in a plane scare me
Not if you travel by way of Japan.
whoa!!
hope it's just a minor one..
i gotta go sleep.. it's 2 hours past my bedtime and i've been running on empty for the past month...
have a great day over there... and everyone else, goodnight ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:you shoulda watched Adam Richman on Man v Food last night..
he ate a 72oz steak.. that's 4.5lbs!! 2kg!!
and also a baked potato, a dinner roll, 3 breaded fried shrimp and salad... all in under 30 minutes!
/me lub chin
we can go mortons, order the same thing
but bluejuice pay ![]()
Damn, another one!
Originally posted by kopiosatu:/me lub chin
we can go mortons, order the same thing
but bluejuice pay
KNS ![]()
*finds OPEN BUTTON*
*cannot find still*
oh well, what the heck, ..... i go sleep...![]()