Originally posted by stellazio:btw kopi, whats the fried basil + pork rice called ah? the pork is the minced pork kind which is moosap am i right?
phat gaprow moo (watch the second word, don't say grapow because it means "bag")
fried - basil leaf - pork
yah it is minced pork
if u want to add an egg, say "sai khai dao"
add - egg - star
Originally posted by stellazio:thats one thing i hate going to thailand with the airforce.. everyday is a drinking day.. fark.. they buy the black label by the crates..
nothing to do, drink till hor yi see lor.
eh there's this side dish, pronounced as "Som Tam" or something like that.. anyone knows if it is pronounced like this, and the spelling if its correct? i missed this dish when i came back from phuket :(
Originally posted by Fatum:pad grapow if I remember ......
you know the food court opposite the SMU campus ? .... they have a very authentic version of that ..... thai stall owner ...
pssst... golden gem... check out the one opposite Alex hospital...
Too bad it's on the west side >___>
Originally posted by kopiosatu:phat gaprow moo (watch the second word, don't say grapow because it means "bag")
fried - basil leaf - pork
yah it is minced pork
if u want to add an egg, say "sai khai dao"
add - egg - star
lol ... I've been saying it wrong eh ? ... ![]()
this group of girls made me consume 2 shot glasses of their Red Label
it was rancid.
Originally posted by Fatum:lol ... I've been saying it wrong eh ? ...
don't worry
my friend has been saying it wrong too
and he stayed in thailand
he was explaining that phad grapow moo = fried bag pork
i had to tell him that he's been saying it wrong
anyway they sound really close so if u say it fast enough, dun think most people will notice
Originally posted by s0nic:eh there's this side dish, pronounced as "Som Tam" or something like that.. anyone knows if it is pronounced like this, and the spelling if its correct? i missed this dish when i came back from phuket :(
som tam... sticky rice? or was it the salad?
my memory is failing me...
Originally posted by s0nic:eh there's this side dish, pronounced as "Som Tam" or something like that.. anyone knows if it is pronounced like this, and the spelling if its correct? i missed this dish when i came back from phuket :(
som (falling tone) dtam (rising tone)
and every som tum tastes different at every province
Originally posted by kopiosatu:this group of girls made me consume 2 shot glasses of their Red Label
it was rancid.
red is horrific... i don't know how the people drink the stuff...
i'll stick to my single malts thanks...
but then, screw the scots... this is the way to go:

this beats whatever single malts i've ever had... and i've had many in my time!
who drank blue or green label before?
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
som tam... sticky rice? or was it the salad?my memory is failing me...
Som Tam is the salad.. freaking nice la. i had it almost everyday at phuket. lol
Originally posted by kopiosatu:som (falling tone) dtam (rising tone)
and every som tum tastes different at every province
oh thanks.. hmm does golden mile have it?
Originally posted by the Bear:
red is horrific... i don't know how the people drink the stuff...i'll stick to my single malts thanks...
but then, screw the scots... this is the way to go:
this beats whatever single malts i've ever had... and i've had many in my time!
but i must say that 100pipers is worse than red label
its like the staple poison at Chiangmai, going at a sick price 400THB per bottle.
i don't know why but after i started cosuming JD only, i can't take the taste of single malt.
not even macallan
Oh ya~~~ my cousin is coming over from HK and she asked me wat shld she bring over for me...
I have totally no idea wat I wanted from HK... ... ... Though I did ask her to bring over a roast goose in a vacuum pack~![]()
Originally posted by s0nic:
no idea
i refuse to look for overpriced thai food here no matter how much i crave for it.
I opened a bottle of Blue label 2 years back
no johnny walker for me ever again.
i had green label in philippines.
fark lah, i just can't tahan the taste.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:but i must say that 100pipers is worse than red label
its like the staple poison at Chiangmai, going at a sick price 400THB per bottle.
i don't know why but after i started cosuming JD only, i can't take the taste of single malt.
not even macallan
i haven't had JD in a long time...
i've got a normal bottle and a bottle of Gentleman Jack or whatever..
from now on i'm only buying the Suntory stuff when i can, and when it's not available, i'm then buying stuff to expand my collection... bought a nice bottle of good tequila (not the cheap rotgut) the last trip to the DFS
Originally posted by s0nic:
Som Tam is the salad.. freaking nice la. i had it almost everyday at phuket. lol
som tam... there's one eatery at east coast there have...
eh... the name i think is "2 fat men" or something like tat de... open until 2+ 3+ am... good if u wanted a late nite thai fix...
i haven't had JD in a long time...i've got a normal bottle and a bottle of Gentleman Jack or whatever..
from now on i'm only buying the Suntory stuff when i can, and when it's not available, i'm then buying stuff to expand my collection... bought a nice bottle of good tequila (not the cheap rotgut) the last trip to the DFS
i think i can still tahan hennesy ![]()
but that would look stupid with mixers
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:Oh ya~~~ my cousin is coming over from HK and she asked me wat shld she bring over for me...
I have totally no idea wat I wanted from HK... ... ... Though I did ask her to bring over a roast goose in a vacuum pack~
stop her...
AVA still will not allow roast goose from HK into Singapore
stop her...AVA still will not allow roast goose from HK into Singapore
oh shyt... thanks ah bear for the notice...
damn still haven't go get dinner yet.
time to take a stroll
oh yah.. one of these days i'll get a bottle of this stuff...

note the numbered bottle... each bottle is JPY75,000
if its numbered i dun think i'll ever open it
Originally posted by kopiosatu:I opened a bottle of Blue label 2 years back
no johnny walker for me ever again.
i had green label in philippines.
fark lah, i just can't tahan the taste.
i have 2 bottles of black label on my desk at home sia