Originally posted by Fatum:well .... I was told I won't be called up for the same reasons too .....
so they reassigned me to PDF and revocated me ....
not that I mind of course .... the new gear's exciting ..... armour vests for every single soldier, who'd have thought the SAF is so rich now ...
well im in the airforce so i dont think ill be revocated to combat or army vocations..
the worst thing they can do to me is to transfer me to the new F15 squadron and send me for training again which will suck ass..![]()
damnit..even my no.4 is also the old one..but i doubt they'll give me the new pixelated ones..![]()
Originally posted by stellazio:well im in the airforce so i dont think ill be revocated to combat or army vocations..
the worst thing they can do to me is to transfer me to the new F15 squadron and send me for training again which will suck ass..
damnit..even my no.4 is also the old one..but i doubt they'll give me the new pixelated ones..
rubbish ..... lots of my new NS unit buddies were in the airforce ... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:rubbish ..... lots of my new NS unit buddies were in the airforce ...
WTF...oh cheebei, suddenly it seems that the squadron closing down isnt such good news at all..![]()
well are they pes C also? or are they combat fit? they could be former rps in the airforce or from ada..![]()
I have been on the holding list since ord ![]()
oh well, even if they suddenly decide to call me up, I'll also be happy cos it means I get to wear the new number 4! woohoo!
Originally posted by av98m:I have been on the holding list since ord
oh well, even if they suddenly decide to call me up, I'll also be happy cos it means I get to wear the new number 4! woohoo!
arent you a clerk? shouldnt you be wearing the no.3?![]()
that being said, clerks are also rarely called up for reservists..
Originally posted by stellazio:WTF...oh cheebei, suddenly it seems that the squadron closing down isnt such good news at all..
well are they pes C also? or are they combat fit? they could be former rps in the airforce or from ada..
they were PES C1 or C2, even PES Es ........
my new NS unit were made up of mostly old timers like us, some of whom ORD'ed 6, 8, 10 years ago and have kept deferring and deferring or never been called up since. Most showed up wearing old style no. 4s
there were cook, clerk, divers, as well as former infantrymen, guardsmen, tankees, storemen, signals and admin specs, technicians etc. There were navy techs, airforce techs too, etc. There were even commandos who deferred till their unit completed their cycles and they are now revocated to infantrymen.
They cobble us together and call us a POI battalion and we'd be in charge of guarding jurong island, changi airport etc etc .... I hear they are forming up at least 3 such battalions to free up other soldiers to populate the two new army divs, as well as to keep up with the demands of post MSK security.
Originally posted by av98m:I have been on the holding list since ord
dude .... why don't you call up ns.sg and request for it ? ....
treat it like a two weeks holiday .... and you're PES E, you won't have to worry about annual IPPT anyways.
Originally posted by stellazio:arent you a clerk? shouldnt you be wearing the no.3?
that being said, clerks are also rarely called up for reservists..
I wore both number 3 and number 4.
I will insist on drawing the number 4 if I am called up. Our number 3 looks like school uniform sia .
I know one airforce clerk who was called up at 35, he was very unhappy. ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:dude .... why don't you call up ns.sg and request for it ? ....
treat it like a two weeks holiday .... and you're PES E, you won't have to worry about annual IPPT anyways.
I'm C1L2, but excused from ippt ![]()
And no, I'm not crazy enough to do that!
what was your problem ? ....
C1L2 is pretty unusual ....
Originally posted by Fatum:they were PES C1 or C2, even PES Es ........
my new NS unit were made up of mostly old timers like us, some of whom ORD'ed 6, 8, 10 years ago and have kept deferring and deferring or never been called up since. Most showed up wearing old style no. 4s
there were cook, clerk, divers, as well as former infantrymen, guardsmen, tankees, storemen, signals and admin specs, technicians etc. There were navy techs, airforce techs too, etc. There were even commandos who deferred till their unit completed their cycles and they are now revocated to infantrymen.
They cobble us together and call us a POI battalion and we'd be in charge of guarding jurong island, changi airport etc etc .... I hear they are forming up at least 3 such battalions to free up other soldiers to populate the two new army divs, as well as to keep up with the demands of post MSK security.
oh yea, i heard that they're freeing up 6 SIR from all this guard duties so they're giving it all to nsmen..
wah fark man..knn, now i rather stay in the squadron list till im 40..![]()
so what? your reservist is just doing guard duties at those places ah?
Originally posted by av98m:I'm C1L2, but excused from ippt
And no, I'm not crazy enough to do that!
call em when you're 38 or 39.. so you just go back and do 1 time and get to draw your new uniform..![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:what was your problem ? ....
C1L2 is pretty unusual ....
damaged nerve on left hand. i can't even use a stapler with that hand sia.
%#)&*%@
i'm 40 and they still won't officially discharge me...
still have to report when i'm leaving the country ![]()
Originally posted by stellazio:oh yea, i heard that they're freeing up 6 SIR from all this guard duties so they're giving it all to nsmen..
wah fark man..knn, now i rather stay in the squadron list till im 40..
so what? your reservist is just doing guard duties at those places ah?
from what I hear, this would be one of the new types of battalions at the PDF brigades, along with coastal defense battalions, attack battalions etc.
and yeah, guarding those facilities during peace and war time. the difference is that there'll be support weapons attached too. SAWs, 203s, GPMGs, LAWs etc.
I think most people were pretty happy at the briefing ... you do your part without having to chiong too much sua .... best of both worlds ...
Originally posted by the Bear:%#)&*%@
i'm 40 and they still won't officially discharge me...
still have to report when i'm leaving the country
cos you're a civil serpeant ? ... ![]()
half of my section mates are civil servants too .... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:from what I hear, this would be one of the new types of battalions at the PDF brigades, along with coastal defense battalions, attack battalions etc.
and yeah, guarding those facilities during peace and war time. the difference is that there'll be support weapons attached too. SAWs, 203s, GPMGs, LAWs etc.
I think most people were pretty happy at the briefing ... you do your part without having to chiong too much sua .... best of both worlds ...
actually I wouldn't mind pulling this type of guard duty...except for the sad fact I'm excused rifle. if not I dun mind walking around with my new number 4s rifle, oakleys and posing sia.
Originally posted by Fatum:cos you're a civil serpeant ? ...
half of my section mates are civil servants too ....
dunno...
i don't go squat in the unit either...
each time i appear for my reservist, i get asked wtf i'm doing there... a combat medic who is not medically fit to be in a combat vocation... so i get thrown into the med centre to lobo there for 2 weeks... which i appear at 9 and get dismissed at 3:30 everyday...
or told to go to the bunk and sleep...
the S1 is an idiot because he's the one who asks me wtf i'm doing there ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:
dunno...i don't go squat in the unit either...
each time i appear for my reservist, i get asked wtf i'm doing there... a combat medic who is not medically fit to be in a combat vocation... so i get thrown into the med centre to lobo there for 2 weeks... which i appear at 9 and get dismissed at 3:30 everyday...
or told to go to the bunk and sleep...
the S1 is an idiot because he's the one who asks me wtf i'm doing there
but dont you enjoy it? sure beats being in the office doesnt it? and you're getting paid too..![]()
first ICT would be ops training I think .... a bit of FIBUA, rules of engagement, survillence etc .....
but next year would be actual deployment for sure ... if it's jurong island I plan to bring my fishing rods and crab traps along ...
Originally posted by Fatum:first ICT would be ops training I think .... a bit of FIBUA, rules of engagement, survillence etc .....
but next year would be actual deployment for sure ... if it's jurong island I plan to bring my fishing rods and crab traps along ...
actually it sounds fun. so you really did call them up arh? to volunteer for reservist?
Originally posted by av98m:actually it sounds fun. so you really did call them up arh? to volunteer for reservist?
yeps ... just tell them that you've not been called up for a long long time and you want to start your cycle asap and not when you're nearly 40, they'll quickly find a place for you. And it probably won't be a too chiong sua unit either.
but you may end up in one of the attack battalions and you'll run around with a rifle all day at the BCTC ....
time to go home
Originally posted by Fatum:yeps ... just tell them that you've not been called up for a long long time and you want to start your cycle asap and not when you're nearly 40, they'll quickly find a place for you. And it probably won't be a too chiong sua unit either.
but you may end up in one of the attack battalions and you'll run around with a rifle all day at the BCTC ....
you seem to be very free now
I'm not on reservist now if that's what you're thinking ...
I only went back for a 1 day briefing .....
the actual ICT's in october ....