Well, not everyone who buys one of those cars can afford it and they are actually starving every month to feed the car
even if they can afford it (or so they think), that isn't the way to spend your salary
take home 2-4K a month, spend 1K+ on the car per month.
then if u lose your job? suck thumb?
if u wanna quit? u are stuck because u die die gotta pay for a car?
i might as well spend the 12K+ that i put into the car every year and put it into a decent investment earning at least 5-6% back.
Originally posted by the Bear:the only junior office in my branch is marginally smarter than a boulder...
and he'll have a shitload of things to do soon coz Mr Parkinson is back.. and he's like Mr Parkinson's runner
i wonder how much that smart boulder is paid ![]()
Originally posted by kopiosatu:i wonder how much that smart boulder is paid
quite a lot.. coz he's been in service pretty long...
i think his cancer treatment and his being mollycoddled by the senior management + being the mindless runner of Mr Parkinson has affected his grasp on reality... he has a shitload of things to do but a temp could do all that, and they're all pretty mundane and brainless things... like changing lightbulbs, printing and handing out forms...
i think between Mr Parkinson and him, on the basis of being unwell and a recovered cancer patient, HR has kept them in that section since 2003...
now the previous No.2 has thrown them into my section, and the current No.2 has instructed that the whole place they were looking after has to be revamped.. that is, torn down and reconstructed, they're going to be swamped with work.. we've got a new officer to actually do it, but we foresee Mr Parkinson hindering the whole project instead of helping...
FOURTEEN WORKING DAYS. I have to wait for a reply from CMPB to tell me if my deferment is green light or not. School starting soon leh.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:even if they can afford it (or so they think), that isn't the way to spend your salary
take home 2-4K a month, spend 1K+ on the car per month.
then if u lose your job? suck thumb?
if u wanna quit? u are stuck because u die die gotta pay for a car?
i might as well spend the 12K+ that i put into the car every year and put it into a decent investment earning at least 5-6% back.
As you can see the majority don't think that way
For a lot of youngsters the 1st thing to buy on their list is a car.
The new staff is amazed that how I manage worked on 1 desktop, 1 server, 1 laptop at the same time... tat's 3 monitors + tons of notes, papers on my desk to refer to... ![]()
@Cassie: Well, the marriage went smoothly already... ![]()
@Ah Bear: Our team have to do filing but everyone is trying to siam the work... Afterall, it's extremely tedious and they cant get the budget to hire a temp... I've did a suggestion to convert everything to e-filing though... Then again, they are fighting for budget to get a temp staff to scan ALL the files... Budget aside, I wonder if anyone even wants to do scanning the whole day EVERYDAY -____-
Originally posted by elindra:As you can see the majority don't think that way
When I leech money off NS, first thing I do is call up my friend in AIA to help me open a savings plan! ![]()
I got HM raving about the Salt Scrub from Mustafa too
Originally posted by Keii:FOURTEEN WORKING DAYS. I have to wait for a reply from CMPB to tell me if my deferment is green light or not. School starting soon leh.
it's the SAF...
Stupid And Fucked-up
what probably happens is that the NSF will receive it, then go for a canteen break
the next day, he'll give it to his chief clerk who will go for a canteen break..
the next day, the chief clerk will instruct the NUSAF clerk to process it... the NUSAF clerk will go for canteen break
the next day, the NUSAF clerk will tell the NSF clerk to process it.. he'll then go for a canteen break...
... and so on and so forth...
... and somehow, if a miracle happens, it'll actually get processed
Originally posted by the Bear:
quite a lot.. coz he's been in service pretty long...i think his cancer treatment and his being mollycoddled by the senior management + being the mindless runner of Mr Parkinson has affected his grasp on reality... he has a shitload of things to do but a temp could do all that, and they're all pretty mundane and brainless things... like changing lightbulbs, printing and handing out forms...
i think between Mr Parkinson and him, on the basis of being unwell and a recovered cancer patient, HR has kept them in that section since 2003...
now the previous No.2 has thrown them into my section, and the current No.2 has instructed that the whole place they were looking after has to be revamped.. that is, torn down and reconstructed, they're going to be swamped with work.. we've got a new officer to actually do it, but we foresee Mr Parkinson hindering the whole project instead of helping...
seems like alot of people at your place should just retire, they ain't helping at all ![]()
and the stupid garmen talks about productivity...
one uni student was talking to my friend (the supposed drummer cum analyst at barclays), she said "when i finish uni and get a job, i will buy a car"
my friend says "you don't know what you are talking about"
the girl says "ok mah, if earn 3K, can afford a car"
my friend says again "you still don't know what you are talking about"
I think anything less than a stable 5k a month is a no go for any sort of car in singapore .....
I dunno how fellows I know making 3 plus 4 a month can drive a spanking new lancer EX or mazda 3 and still manage ......
but then it's not about those chaps really ..... it's about the hordes of fellows driving mercs and beemers around .....
Originally posted by kopiosatu:seems like alot of people at your place should just retire, they ain't helping at all
and the stupid garmen talks about productivity...
what to do?
just like the gabrament.. knn, lau lee should be retired and spending his retirement lurching around mumbling BRAAAAAINSSSSS by now...
Originally posted by kopiosatu:one uni student was talking to my friend (the supposed drummer cum analyst at barclays), she said "when i finish uni and get a job, i will buy a car"
my friend says "you don't know what you are talking about"
the girl says "ok mah, if earn 3K, can afford a car"
my friend says again "you still don't know what you are talking about"
Originally posted by Keii:
When I leech money off NS, first thing I do is call up my friend in AIA to help me open a savings plan!
AIA lost money for me.
nabei.
i'm using manulife + personal overseas investments for now.
i signed up with manulife because i could throw in a lump sum and draw money anytime i want... i've been adding occasionally and buying more funds to gain more.
AIA's lumpsum requirement is higher, at that time i couldn't afford putting in that amount. either way, i lost money with them. tamade.
Okay...
time to knock off...
Maybe I'll bring my mom to everton de tze char to eat... they got the best san lau hor fun in singapore IMHO...
Heck... I seemed to know every possible makan location near/on SGH due to my previous work there ![]()
Originally posted by kopiosatu:AIA lost money for me.
nabei.
i'm using manulife + personal overseas investments for now.
i signed up with manulife because i could throw in a lump sum and draw money anytime i want... i've been adding occasionally and buying more funds to gain more.
AIA's lumpsum requirement is higher, at that time i couldn't afford putting in that amount. either way, i lost money with them. tamade.
I don't know how your plans work, but he's got this plan for me, youths/student plans, flexible enough, with (to me lah) good returns in that given timeframe. ![]()
i will not get a big bike or a car until my passive income pays 100% for it.
if everything goes really well, then that should be in 2-3 years time, muahahahaha~
at most tahan 10 more years and build more funds.
Originally posted by Fatum:I think anything less than a stable 5k a month is a no go for any sort of car in singapore .....
I dunno how fellows I know making 3 plus 4 a month can drive a spanking new lancer EX or mazda 3 and still manage ......
but then it's not about those chaps really ..... it's about the hordes of fellows driving mercs and beemers around .....
i made sure i had enough to pay off the car as soon as possible.. because i need the car to protect my back from the hordes using public transport...
what i don't get is how come people can keep changing cars?
KNN like Mr Parkinson.. from what i heard, it's his accursed family which makes him work (really.. the bastard family actually MAKE him work instead of letting him retire because they "need the money")
and since i've been here (4.5 years) he's changed cars 2 times already.. each car is not the cheapo type car i have.. if i'm not wrong, he's driving a Nissan Cefiro or whatever 2 litre or 2.5 litre car...
and the guy has Parkinson's Disease, a pinched nerve which he went to surgery to correct, and he walks with a goddamned walking stick if he's not in a wheelchair!!!
Originally posted by Keii:
I don't know how your plans work, but he's got this plan for me, youths/student plans, flexible enough, with (to me lah) good returns in that given timeframe.
you still gotta choose the funds to invest in right?
mine was an investment plan, not much of a savings plan.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:you still gotta choose the funds to invest in right?
mine was an investment plan, not much of a savings plan.
Ah, mine got a minimum monthly 'deposit' of sorts. It's more of a savings plan.
i made sure i had enough to pay off the car as soon as possible.. because i need the car to protect my back from the hordes using public transport...what i don't get is how come people can keep changing cars?
KNN like Mr Parkinson.. from what i heard, it's his accursed family which makes him work (really.. the bastard family actually MAKE him work instead of letting him retire because they "need the money")
and since i've been here (4.5 years) he's changed cars 2 times already.. each car is not the cheapo type car i have.. if i'm not wrong, he's driving a Nissan Cefiro or whatever 2 litre or 2.5 litre car...
and the guy has Parkinson's Disease, a pinched nerve which he went to surgery to correct, and he walks with a goddamned walking stick if he's not in a wheelchair!!!
he's allowed to drive ? ... ![]()
i made sure i had enough to pay off the car as soon as possible.. because i need the car to protect my back from the hordes using public transport...what i don't get is how come people can keep changing cars?
this is what happens
slave to his lifestyle
i definitely don't wanna end up that way
working so that i can afford simple things like a meal or paying the bills
if i'm sick i rather chill ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:he's allowed to drive ? ...
yah.. the %#% was indignant that we questioned him about it.. because he keeps insisting that LTA passed him..
i keep clear of the roads whenever i know he's driving...
anyway, it's the best time of the workday! it's time to go home!
i think i shall go for popeyes tomorrow.
maybe i should just finish up the last 2 photos and have the whole day free tomorrow