Originally posted by fudgester:Siao.... 3k still want to buy a car, much less a BMW....
The FS and I are seriously considering cycling to and from the MRT each day.
No kidding.
i won't mind that but i am betting my bike would be stolen
Originally posted by fudgester:Siao.... 3k still want to buy a car, much less a BMW....
The FS and I are seriously considering cycling to and from the MRT each day.
No kidding.
Get a mini bike! Else very sian when your bike get stolen :(
the main reason I don't cycle to mrt is just afraid of bike theft too
I'd rather walk. cycling=high chances of getting killed by knn motorists.
My bike got stolen.. but.. uhh.. the thief returned it 3 months later, padlocked using my old number padlock.. without changing the number code..
so I rode it back home.
i once had the crazy idea of cycling to the office till i saw the traffic
mmm.. pig feet stew...
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:My bike got stolen.. but.. uhh.. the thief returned it 3 months later, padlocked using my old number padlock.. without changing the number code..
so I rode it back home.
wow. o.O
Originally posted by av98m:wow. o.O
Yeah it was surreal when I saw my little pink bike again.
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:My bike got stolen.. but.. uhh.. the thief returned it 3 months later, padlocked using my old number padlock.. without changing the number code..
so I rode it back home.
you sure it wasnt one of your friends borrowing it? you're extremely LUCKY!
It's all about how you lock your bike, and what lock you use it with.
Cable locks are definitely out. Those things can be easily defeated with a hacksaw or lockcutters.
Anyway I'll buy an inexpensive bike, like those at Giant and Carrefour.
you sure it wasnt one of your friends borrowing it? you're extremely LUCKY!
uhh not for 3 months without telling me I guess..
It's very weird I tell you.. I even had people 'leaving' me Ang Ku Kueh in my bike basket before...
but yeah! :D I'm luckkyy!
Now I use a huge stainless steel bike chain with those 'rectangle' lock with a bar on top type. It's heavy like hell but.. think you need one of those massive cutters to cut through it.
Originally posted by av98m:I'd rather walk. cycling=high chances of getting killed by knn motorists.
I would cycle on pavement. Sorry to pedestrains, but I value my life more
Originally posted by fudgester:It's all about how you lock your bike, and what lock you use it with.
Cable locks are definitely out. Those things can be easily defeated with a hacksaw or lockcutters.
Anyway I'll buy an inexpensive bike, like those at Giant and Carrefour.
you think that would make a difference ? ....
I often see bikes with missing saddle seats and missing wheels .... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:you think that would make a difference ? ....
I often see bikes with missing saddle seats and missing wheels ....
At least those are less expensive to replace.
A dummy alarm or GPS tracker shell is also a deterrent.
Originally posted by Fatum:you think that would make a difference ? ....
I often see bikes with missing saddle seats and missing wheels ....
Aiyoh.... how you lock is also important.....
Whenever I've had to lock my bike outdoors, I always use two heavy-duty hardened steel alloy chains.
One chain locks the front wheel and the frame together. One more chain locks the rear wheel and frame together.
It would take a really determined thief with multiple hacksaw blades and plenty of spare time to break both chains.
As for the bike saddle, there's nothing that can be done about that.... all I gotta say is, don't be like my brother who bought for his bike a friggin' expensive saddle made of titanium and kevlar. Really!
Originally posted by hisoka:I would cycle on pavement. Sorry to pedestrains, but I value my life more
and i value my life even more! so that leaves me with an option of being run down by a cyclist or a car (if i need to get outta your way)?
well, regardless, I'm suspicious of the effects of bike saddles on men .......
whenever I ride bikes for too long, some important bits down there go numb ......
just look at lance armstrong ...... testicular cancer
you can remove the saddle..
so the thief would be sodomised if he tried to ride away with the bike ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:well, regardless, I'm suspicious of the effects of bike saddles on men .......
whenever I ride bikes for too long, some important bits down there go numb ......
you're obsessed man, really obsessed.
I once borrowed my brother's bike with that titanium/kevlar saddle for a cycling session with the Whinehouse kids.
After locking the bike when we stopped, I actually removed the saddle and took it along with me wherever I went. My bro told me to do so. ![]()
Anyway, the next morning, my rear end was in pain.... that Kevlar-lined seat was so damn friggin' hard. I don't know what the hell possessed my brother to buy that. ![]()
Originally posted by av98m:you're obsessed man, really obsessed.
well, it's an important consideration, no ? .....
especially so for me since mine would be deployed operationally by next year ....
Originally posted by Fatum:well, it's an important consideration, no ? .....
especially so for me since mine would be deployed operationally by next year ....
you're obsessed ![]()
btw... them ciggies cause hell of lot more damage than anything you can think of ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:well, it's an important consideration, no ? .....
tell that to cyclists and motorcyclists.
Originally posted by Fatum:well, regardless, I'm suspicious of the effects of bike saddles on men .......
That's only one case out of thousands of competitive cyclists, nevermind those who cycle as part of their training or daily commute.
As for smoking, there was Nat King Cole and his lung cancer - which actually took his life.