Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:Jurong Point 2 Kopitiam?
yeah ... it's no longer there ?
i always thought all the ang pows go towards paying for the cost of the din? that's what my bro did with the dinner on my SIL's side and our end.
Well, my dad insists on a void deck wedding for me.....
Which probably means I'll have people like my father's cousin's neighbour's son's nephew's fishing buddy at my wedding....
*facepalm*
Originally posted by Fatum:well ....
apparently, this is the custom for old school ........
my folks asked for 16 tables for relatives and his old time teaching colleagues, but all the ang baos are going to the couple .....
if 10 tables, that means there'll be a sure loss of around 10 to 15k .....
*spews blood .....
don't worry....normally they won't keep it. this is "face" to them. ![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:Well, my dad insists on a void deck wedding for me.....
Which probably means I'll have people like my father's cousin's neighbour's son's nephew's fishing buddy at my wedding....
*facepalm*
i like your custom
Originally posted by ä¸�如就æ»:oh.. then not so bad. i thought the dad wants to take the ang bao of the entire dinner ..
not so bad ? .... ![]()
it spoils all my projections ! ... -__-"
there's the rock and wedding bands, the church wedding and buffet ... the honeymoon .... the wedding shoots and clothes ....
plus if my folks needed 16 tables for my sister's wedding dinner next month, they'd of course need at least 16 tables for mine too eh ....
16 plus 10 .... that's even before I add our own friends and colleageus and associates ....
it'll shoot to beyond 30 tables ....
*feels dizzy ...
Originally posted by fudgester:Well, my dad insists on a void deck wedding for me.....
*facepalm*
are we invited? ![]()
we'll go take pics for you too ![]()
*facepalm*
I've ended up at void deck weddings of people I don't even know. Just because they've seen my face in the lift or something and I was looking hungrily at the food.
Originally posted by Fatum:not so bad ? ....
there's the rock and wedding bands, the church wedding and buffet ... the honeymoon .... the wedding shoots and clothes ....
plus if my folks needed 16 tables for my sister's wedding dinner next month, they'd of course need at least 16 tables for mine too eh ....
16 plus 10 .... that's even before I add our own friends and colleageus and associates ....
*feels dizzy ...
cut down on some stuff lor ...
should do it within ur means
Originally posted by SevenEleven:i like your custom
Not me.... I hate the chaos and blare of Malay void deck weddings....
If I had it totally my way, we'd just have the solemnization followed by a small tea reception....
But nooooo.... for my parents, everything has to follow custom....
*feels dizzy ...
but you won yourself a fair maiden...
*feels dizzy ...
once in your life leh ![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:Not me.... I hate the chaos and blare of Malay void deck weddings....
If I had it totally my way, we'd just have the solemnization followed by a small tea reception....
But nooooo.... for my parents, everything has to follow custom....
marriage is never a 2 person affair ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:are we invited?
we'll go take pics for you too
Yeah... you guys are invited....
I'll ask you guys for your mailing addresses when the cards are out.... I can confirm the venue only 3 months before the actual day.....
I've ended up at void deck weddings of people I don't even know. Just because they've seen my face in the lift or something and I was looking hungrily at the food.
See what I mean? ![]()
really?
some things cannot cut down one mah .... -__-"
we wanted to do away with the whole wedding dinner actually, and just do with a church wedding and reception.
but since she's the only unmarried child left .... and my grandparents are getting old and my younger bro's got a long way to go .... it'll be the last "red occasion" for them .....
I don't think I have a choice ....
the only consolation is that we don't have to do up our house immediately ..... if not I'll have to tng kor ....
*feels dizzy ...
i suggest you guys elope
Originally posted by SevenEleven:
really?
when I was a young kid and still living in boon lay ![]()
normally those super grand wedddings 50 tables kind at 5 star hotels is parents pay one right..![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:i suggest you guys elope
i agree!
Originally posted by stellazio:normally those super grand wedddings 50 tables kind at 5 star hotels is parents pay one right..
well, look for yourself a rich bride ![]()
and I have to say, I enjoy malay weddings hell of a lot more than chinese weddings. the food is so much better, and there is less fuss/wayang. ![]()
instead of a big rock, get a smaller one
instead of going to an exotic place for honeymoon, go somewhere else nearer or delay the honeymoon until a bit later ..
this and that .. try to cut a bit if u cannot cut the wedding dinner la ...
where are u having the wedding dinner again? and when ??
Originally posted by stellazio:normally those super grand wedddings 50 tables kind at 5 star hotels is parents pay one right..
like her parents paying with fatum's ang pows? ![]()