it's amazing, the family politics that crops up, when it comes to weddings ......
I'm absolutely floored .... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:it's amazing, the family politics that crops up, when it comes to weddings ......
I'm absolutely floored ....
yeah I had relatives 'threatening' not to come if they sit on the same table... and I have relatives.. who are totally not close.. (but u know a lot of them we give the 'whole family invitation' literally arrive with 7-8 people.. but only confirm 2-3 days before the wedding.. so.. :D..... most impt thing is not let it affect you - its a wedding! Most of these people you would only see once in a bluemoon anyway! remain calm and smile :D
Anyway for ur throat.. I always felt best cure is salt gargle. Kill the bacteria!
SC, I thought the gargle for ulcer only??? ![]()
i love grapes grapes grapes.. the small seedless ones are damn yummy..
had a cupful of it :)
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:SC, I thought the gargle for ulcer only???
sore throat also can.. its very soothing after you tahan the salt gargle!
i feel like having honey now :)
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:i feel like having honey now :)
go have it with warm water
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:
yeah I had relatives 'threatening' not to come if they sit on the same table... and I have relatives.. who are totally not close.. (but u know a lot of them we give the 'whole family invitation' literally arrive with 7-8 people.. but only confirm 2-3 days before the wedding.. so.. :D..... most impt thing is not let it affect you - its a wedding! Most of these people you would only see once in a bluemoon anyway! remain calm and smile :D
Anyway for ur throat.. I always felt best cure is salt gargle. Kill the bacteria!
my brother only invited the relatives he likes for his wedding. hence, 1 table was enough to fit all of them. the other 20+ tables were friends. I'm not kidding ![]()
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:I'm a dummy when it comes to DSLRs, having used compacts for most of my life. But the mirrorless SLDs look attractive to me as a bridge to SLRs, and the low-light photos appear to be better too.
I can see how the GF1's low light performance would be a leap ahead of that of point-and-shoots, but ultimately the Four Thirds sensor isn't great at low light and I expect that it would only be a matter of time before you were dissatisfied with its low-light performance.
If you're looking to jump to DSLRs, I'd recommend just getting one instead of going via an SLD. Keep in mind that the lenses and other bits of kit wouldn't be compatible unless you stayed with Olumpus DSLR bodies, and to be frank they're good but not great.
All in all, speaking from experience, incremental improvements come with the risk of ending up being more expensive if you go whole hog. I went from this:

to this:

to this:

and finally to this:

If I'd gone straight for the 5D from the get-go, I'd have saved a good couple of grand. If you figure you're going to get a DSLR, bite the bullet and go straight for it - you'll do yourself a favour.
Originally posted by Fatum:it's amazing, the family politics that crops up, when it comes to weddings ......
I'm absolutely floored ....
Vegas.
Mustang.
Elvis.
Nuff said. ![]()
my brother only invited the relatives he likes for his wedding. hence, 1 table was enough to fit all of them. the other 20+ tables were friends. I'm not kidding
Hahhahaa... I did that for my ROM - mainly friends, just some close relatives
but.. for the wedding ok la.. actually most of my relatives are fine and I know they come with good wishes - its usually those that we hardly meet (or never meet before!!!) that give problems one.
Hahhahaa... I did that for my ROM - mainly friends, just some close relativesbut.. for the wedding ok la.. actually most of my relatives are fine and I know they come with good wishes - its usually those that we hardly meet (or never meet before!!!) that give problems one.
if I get married there will be no wedding dinner. just ROM and lunch at sizzler's or something. with friends and parents/in-laws only. ![]()
if I get married there will be no wedding dinner. just ROM and lunch at sizzler's or something. with friends and parents/in-laws only.
As long as both sides parents are fine with it ba... I know many people like such small events and I also think its great! (I love my ROM by the beach.. FOC moreover.. just cater food can liao :P)
But... I'm also.. quite family oriented.. so I guess for the wedding, I don't mind going along with what my/his parents feel. It helps that both our parents are generally quite supportive and don't have weird demands.
Talking abt sizzlers though - tt day la after you posted abt it.. then in the end I dragged the hubby there for dinner.
I realised Suntec sizzlers is more expensive than the TPY one :( location I guess.
Is it me? I remember Kuishin Bo to be $$35++ and when I saw it this time, its become like $40++
And I remember Sizzler's salad bar ONLY to be about $15++.. and now its like $19++
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:Talking abt sizzlers though - tt day la after you posted abt it.. then in the end I dragged the hubby there for dinner.
I realised Suntec sizzlers is more expensive than the TPY one :( location I guess.
Is it me? I remember Kuishin Bo to be $$35++ and when I saw it this time, its become like $40++
And I remember Sizzler's salad bar ONLY to be about $15++.. and now its like $19++
well, but the salads still rock. I might be there tomorrow. ![]()
it's not even my wedding .... but my sister's, this weekend ....
but mine got dragged in cos I'd be responsible for "payback" .... ![]()
it's quite simple really ..... some pompus atas aunt's family is refusing participation cos one of the cousin's getting married too, early next year, less than six months away ....
they asked my folks over for "tea" last sunday.... my folks thought, okie, dun come nevermind, we'd like you to come, but you dun wan also bo pian ....... at least they know to do the right thing and pack a red packet .... but no ! .... instead of a red packet and some apologies and congrats, they said it's in the best interest of the cousin, not to have any "come, go" in the near future (we never had much "come go" anyways) ..... and then they asked my folks for some sort of "dui lian" ... some hokkien pan tang I think ... to give to the cousin getting married.
of course, all this are just petty things, my folks doesn't care about that of course ...... the kicker came when my sis messaged one of the elder cousins if he's coming for the wedding dinner .... the cousin replied "but I was told by my folks that your folks would not be happy to have me there" ... my sister was like "har ? " ... and showed the sms to my folks at the dinner table just now.
that blew it ! ..... my folks are boiling ! .... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:it's not even my wedding .... but my sister's, this weekend ....
but mine got dragged in cos I'd be responsible for "payback" ....
it's quite simple really ..... some pompus atas aunt's family is refusing participation cos one of the cousin's getting married too, early next year, less than six months away ....
they asked my folks over for "tea" last sunday.... my folks thought, okie, dun come nevermind, we'd like you to come, but you dun wan also bo pian ....... at least they know to do the right thing and pack a red packet .... but no ! .... instead of a red packet and some apologies and congrats, they said it's in the best interest of the cousin, not to have any "come, go" in the near future (we never had much "come go" anyways) ..... and then they asked my folks for some sort of "dui lian" ... some hokkien pan tang I think ... to give to the cousin getting married.
of course, all this are just petty things, my folks doesn't care about that of course ...... the kicker came when my sis messaged one of the elder cousins if he's coming for the wedding dinner .... the cousin replied "but I was told by my folks that your folks would not be happy to have me there" ... my sister was like "har ? " ... and showed the sms to my folks at the dinner table just now.
that blew it ! ..... my folks are boiling ! ....
WTF is "come, go" and WTF does your sister's wedding have to do with your cousin's?
Does not compute.
Originally posted by Gedanken:WTF is "come, go" and WTF does your sister's wedding have to do with your cousin's?
Does not compute.
HAHHHA 'come go' in chinese 'lai wang' hahahah
"come go" is "lai wang" directly translated .... ![]()
there's a chinese superstition that says that you cannot attend any funerals or weddings at least 6 months before your own .....
and people who got married recently should not attend your own .... cos it'll be bad for you .....
that's basically what all this was all about .... but I think it's just that aunt's family's excuse .... even my granny, the aunt's mother, thinks so .... and instructed us not to bother sending any gifts, cakes or roast pig portions over .... ![]()
me ? .... I've been instructed not to send over any invites to this particular branch of the family ..... ![]()
hahahah superstition is really very troublesome.
oh yah .... for my wedding .....
fatumnette and I are toying seriously about an alternative idea .....
in the bible, there's the parable of the great banquet, where jesus says to invite, instead of your friends and relatives and rich neighbours, the poor, the crippled and the blind .......
we're thinking of doing that, literally ... invite people from old folks homes, halfway houses, girls and boys home etc .... ![]()
after all, those relatives who matter, wouldn't mind anyways, and for those friends, we'll maybe arrange something at badens or something ....
the challenge would be to sell the idea to our folks of course ....
Originally posted by Fatum:"come go" is "lai wang" directly translated ....
there's a chinese superstition that says that you cannot attend any funerals or weddings at least 6 months before your own .....
and people who got married recently should not attend your own .... cos it'll be bad for you .....
that's basically what all this was all about .... but I think it's just that aunt's family's excuse .... even my granny, the aunt's mother, thinks so .... and instructed us not to bother sending any gifts, cakes or roast pig portions over ....
me ? .... I've been instructed not to send over any invites to this particular branch of the family .....
Man, I love it when that kind of thing happens. As it is I've got way too many relatives on my "just give me an excuse to knock you off my grudging acknlowledgement" list. ![]()
HAHHHA 'come go' in chinese 'lai wang' hahahah
I've been out of town for waaaaay too long to remember that. Just as well too, I might add.
Originally posted by Fatum:oh yah .... for my wedding .....
fatumnette and I are toying seriously about an alternative idea .....
in the bible, there's the parable of the great banquet, where jesus says to invite, instead of your friends and relatives and rich neighbours, the poor, the crippled and the blind .......
we're thinking of doing that, literally ... invite people from old folks homes, halfway houses, girls and boys home etc ....
after all, those relatives who matter, wouldn't mind anyways, and for those friends, we'll maybe arrange something at badens or something ....
the challenge would be to sell the idea to our folks of course ....
erm, why bother to invite them for a wedding, just ditch the excuse and treat them if you want to. but it'll be more practical to just give them money or food.
Originally posted by hisoka:erm, why bother to invite them for a wedding, just ditch the excuse and treat them if you want to. but it'll be more practical to just give them money or food.
cos ... giving them a treat out of pity is quite different from wanting to share your joyous occasion with them .....
it's still an idea in refinement of course ....