Originally posted by Fatum:cos ... giving them a treat out of pity is quite different from wanting to share your joyous occasion with them .....
it's still an idea in refinement of course ....
Don't quite see the difference leh. apart from the bible worship element, the reason you chose to target them for sharing is the same = pity?
You could still use the money and give them the food/money. Or maybe organise an activity to engage/entertain them (not a wedding) in commemoration of your signing up for the ball and chain. More practical and can let them share the joy as well.
i think it is a noble thing to do ....
giving out treats/money/food may not be the best way to celebrate a wedding....
it's a noble thing lah, but to specially target and invite them for the wedding dinner seems impractical and unproductive if not wasteful.
Originally posted by hisoka:Don't quite see the difference leh. apart from the bible worship element, the reason you chose to target them for sharing is the same = pity?
You could still use the money and give them the food/money. Or maybe organise an activity to engage/entertain them (not a wedding) in commemoration of your signing up for the ball and chain. More practical and can let them share the joy as well.
true enough, both actions are motivated by the same base feeling ....
but both are quite different things .... compare it to tossing 50 bucks into a tin can and going on your way or inviting the chap who's holding the tin can to warm and clean himself up in your house and asking him to eat at your table.
you may spend less than 50 quid doing the latter, but the emotional stake you put up doing the latter is vastly higher than doing the former.
and, the blessings we may get from, say, some old and lonely folks in a home would probably be more heartfelt than some father's sister's husbands brother who probably wouldn't even acknowledge you on the streets ......
Originally posted by hisoka:it's a noble thing lah, but to specially target and invite them for the wedding dinner seems impractical and unproductive if not wasteful.
ehh... well, if it bring joys to his wedding, he will have to plan it well. Once the effort put in, the old folks appreciate it, it is well worth it :)
he may have his reasons to share his joy with the old folks :)
tired.. am going to sleep liao.. damn it's past midnight...awww...
nite all :)
Originally posted by hisoka:Don't quite see the difference leh. apart from the bible worship element, the reason you chose to target them for sharing is the same = pity?
true enough, both actions are motivated by the same base feeling ....
but both are quite different things .... compare it to tossing 50 bucks into a tin can and going on your way or inviting the chap who's holding the tin can to warm and clean himself up in your house and asking him to eat at your table.
you may spend less than 50 quid doing the latter, but the emotional stake you put up doing the latter is vastly higher than doing the former.
and, the blessings we may get from, say, some old and lonely folks in a home would probably be more heartfelt than some father's sister's husbands brother who probably wouldn't even acknowledge you on the streets ......
evening...
The asswipes scholars are now going to copy Boon Lay by building a small bus int at Bedok... Sell it to private as a shopping mall and condo as well..
In any case, vivian said IR should not look for Singaporeans as we're low hanging fruit, should get more tourist..
yeah chaplang tourist are considered high end tourist to them as well
seriously esp for USS, most ppl in SEA can't even afford e tickets.. not to say e 'low market' Singaporeans
Then WTF did they let Universal Studios set up shop for? Family-friendly destination, my arse. They claimed that IRs were not just about the casinos when they wanted to sell us the idea, and just when we're sold on it, they backtrack.
I've lost count of the number of times that they've made things go tits-up through their words and actions. It can't bode well for the elections.
"What is your level of intelligence?" asks the banner on the right:

I see the number 21 but it's not among the answers. I hope that makes me a genius. ![]()
u see 21?
i see 74 leh
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:"What is your level of intelligence?" asks the banner on the right:
I see the number 21 but it's not among the answers. I hope that makes me a genius.
i just see girls in bikini posing now....
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Then WTF did they let Universal Studios set up shop for? Family-friendly destination, my arse. They claimed that IRs were not just about the casinos when they wanted to sell us the idea, and just when we're sold on it, they backtrack.
I've lost count of the number of times that they've made things go tits-up through their words and actions. It can't bode well for the elections.
i dunno wat they're thinking.
it's just like building e smaller bus int, and still claim it's big enough even though e mess at Boon Lay Int explode in front of them
Originally posted by sbst275:
i dunno wat they're thinking.it's just like building e smaller bus int, and still claim it's big enough even though e mess at Boon Lay Int explode in front of them
Something went wrong in the feedback loop. There's a smoker or a bootlicker somewhere.
KB: I see 74 as well.
Fatum: Wedding dinners. I refuse to go through that nonsense. Dinner was buffet style FREE seating. You sit with the person you like. Anyway, my mum is disappointed that I’m refusing to go take studio photos in a wedding dress and that I’m not going through the tea ceremony.
To me, ROM and I’m married. I compromised with the dinner buffet.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:u see 21?
i see 74 leh
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Something went wrong in the feedback loop. There's a smoker or a bootlicker somewhere.
now they're going to do it to Bedok Int.
to think abt it, I pre-empt feedback abt e JEMP long ago. Nothing was done, until e mess exploded.
I told them, why only use SMRT buses when SBS buses got so much laid up on weekend due to Sv 74, 154, 179A, 198 reduction in demand being student svs. Furthermore e shuttle bus queue exposed how useless e space consuming bendy buses are.
i see 74
wedding dinner .... lol
my folks are downstairs in conference with the BIL ..... discussing the seating arrangements for the dinner .... who sits with who .... who won't sit with who .... keeping people who don't get along apart .... juggling numbers ....
there's even a planning app on the lappie for this ....
and mind you, there are the "normal" tables, the buddhist vegetarian tables, the fashion vegetarian tables, the halal tables, the non beef tables ..... it's incredible ..... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:wedding dinner .... lol
my folks are downstairs in conference with the BIL ..... discussing the seating arrangements for the dinner .... who sits with who .... who won't sit with who .... keeping people who don't get along apart .... juggling numbers ....
there's even a planning app on the lappie for this ....
and mind you, there are the "normal" tables, the buddhist vegetarian tables, the fashion vegetarian tables, the halal tables, the non beef tables ..... it's incredible .....
they should have a steel cage in the middle of the place for them to settle any differences ![]()
Too bad most ppl can't have wedding dinners my way
That would solve a lot of problems
Haha
one of fatumnettes' friend held her wedding dinner at the rather atas indian restaurant at east coast .......
my stomach was barely warm after eating there, the servings were so small .....
I take my hat off TNT
This is not the first time they sent my documents somewhere else instead of to me
This time from Canada it ended up in Tel Aviv??? WTF!!!! Singapore and Israel is like so far away
Wedding = chapel + god + priest + bride + groom
Originally posted by elindra:Too bad most ppl can't have wedding dinners my way
That would solve a lot of problems
Haha
just need to be strong and put their foot down. my sis did just that.
it turned out to be like our usual family dinner - 2 tables in a private room in a chinese restaurant in a hotel. full stop.
for friends, a separate garden tea party.