no ... I sent round mmses to torment people .... ![]()
In other news, I've figured that since I can't seem to find English muffins anywhere, I might as well make them myself....
Doesn't look too difficult..... make some dough, let it rise, fry it lightly....
*me rubs chin*
and I'm actually contemplating ordering a whole suckling pig from somewhere to eat in front of the TV during the weekend :P
Interesting situation:
I added this atas coffee house in my FB upon recommendation by a friend who said the coffee is really good. They serve gourmet coffee.
Yesterday I saw their status update: "Tip $1 for 2 lattes! Might as well just walk to the counter to tell us our coffee sucks! We run a decent biz here!"
Followed by comments like:
"so cheapskate!!"
"These people think they at KOPITIAM drink kopi see issit?"
"They abuse your quality!"
Now, I have never been there, don't know how much they sell their coffee for, and how exactly atas their environment is like - but bitching about a tip in a group made up of customers/ potential customers is really.. -facepalms-
So I added my comment
"So tell us, what is a decent tip? I added you based on a recommendation of a friend, and never visited you before."
This morning, the entire status update everything deleted liao. Got guts to bitch abt the tip, then tell me u want 20% or what lah!
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:Interesting situation:
I added this atas coffee house in my FB upon recommendation by a friend who said the coffee is really good. They serve gourmet coffee.
Yesterday I saw their status update: "Tip $1 for 2 lattes! Might as well just walk to the counter to tell us our coffee sucks! We run a decent biz here!"
Followed by comments like:
"so cheapskate!!"
"These people think they at KOPITIAM drink kopi see issit?"
"They abuse your quality!"Now, I have never been there, don't know how much they sell their coffee for, and how exactly atas their environment is like - but bitching about a tip in a group made up of customers/ potential customers is really.. -facepalms-
So I added my comment
"So tell us, what is a decent tip? I added you based on a recommendation of a friend, and never visited you before."
This morning, the entire status update everything deleted liao. Got guts to bitch abt the tip, then tell me u want 20% or what lah!
singapore doesn't practise the tipping system(well, it used to a long time ago). don't they already know that?
best to "unlike" them...
anyway, back from the doctor's... everything's fine except during my sis's visit, i've gained 2kg ![]()
will lose it quickly from next week.. doing shift duties again.. won't be eating much due to funny schedules
Originally posted by av98m:and I'm actually contemplating ordering a whole suckling pig from somewhere to eat in front of the TV during the weekend :P
Originally posted by av98m:singapore doesn't practise the tipping system(well, it used to a long time ago). don't they already know that?
the problem with "tipping" here is why should anyone tip when the "service charge" of 10% is already there
Originally posted by av98m:singapore doesn't practise the tipping system(well, it used to a long time ago). don't they already know that?
Maybe cos all those who visit are the atas people who enjoy tipping lor... the best part is from all the customers who jump on the wagon criticising the $2 tip as cheapskate. $2 not money meh! $2 also somebody's hard earned money what!
I find tipping such a mental strain. Just charge it into the total bill lah.. i am a simple person.
I think it was probably some kiddo waitresses bitching .....
some kid probably told their boss, "hey, you think it's a good idea to start a facebook group ? I can do it !"
boss: "sure, go ahead" ....
and so this kid runs the page and does whatever she wants with it .... while the boss gives her bits and snippets to update every now and then ....
Originally posted by fudgester:In other news, I've figured that since I can't seem to find English muffins anywhere, I might as well make them myself....
Doesn't look too difficult..... make some dough, let it rise, fry it lightly....
*me rubs chin*
Did u try the frozen section at Cold Storage?
Originally posted by Fatum:I think it was probably some kiddo waitresses bitching .....
some kid probably told their boss, "hey, you think it's a good idea to start a facebook group ? I can do it !"
boss: "sure, go ahead" ....
and so this kid runs the page and does whatever she wants with it .... while the boss gives her bits and snippets to update every now and then ....
so dangerous :O
Speaking of tipping, I sure had an interesting time working as a hotel bellboy during my vacation periods....
I noticed that the most generous tippers were wedding couples, and the most cheapskate were businessmen. ![]()
One businessman from India once gave me 30 cents.
Basket. Like that might as well don't tip sia!
Did u try the frozen section at Cold Storage?
Already tried Cold Storage, Giant, Shop N Save, Fair Price Finest, and Marks and Spencer.
I give up. Gonna make my own.
At least I can use wholemeal flour or something. And I can make the muffins as big or as small as I want them to be.
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:so dangerous :O
yeps, but this story sounds plausible doesn't it ?
after all, why would any boss of an "atas" coffee house be bitching about a dollar tip ? ... he's raking it in from 8 dollar coffees and service charges anyways .....
plus, tips normally go into a common pot for the serving stuff ....
many businesses lack a coherent social media strategy anyways ... I'm running a few facebook groups for other people as well right now ....
Errr u should frame up that 30 cents
Most India Indian businessmen from what I know, it's very very hard to even squeeze out 1 cent out of them. 30 cents to them is very large
Hahah ok
Originally posted by the Bear:
the problem with "tipping" here is why should anyone tip when the "service charge" of 10% is already there
that's why countries that do not have this practice don't have service charge.
but its an unspoken rule in those countries that you have to tip around 15 to 20 percent of your bill, otherwise the waiters end up making less than the minimum wage.
the big joke is that 'service charge' in singapore goes right into the pockets of the owner, and none is given to the staff.
Originally posted by Fatum:yeps, but this story sounds plausible doesn't it ?
after all, why would any boss of an "atas" coffee house be bitching about a dollar tip ? ... he's raking it in from 8 dollar coffees and service charges anyways .....
plus, tips normally go into a common pot for the serving stuff ....
many businesses lack a coherent social media strategy anyways ... I'm running a few facebook groups for other people as well right now ....
yaa but again lor.. so dangerous! Imagine if boss offends said employee!
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:
I've always wanted to do that, but haven't done so :P
Originally posted by fudgester:Speaking of tipping, I sure had an interesting time working as a hotel bellboy during my vacation periods....
I noticed that the most generous tippers were wedding couples, and the most cheapskate were businessmen.
One businessman from India once gave me 30 cents.
Basket. Like that might as well don't tip sia!
Maybe its the exchange rate also.
I remember going to UK when I was much younger, feeling obliged to tip and not sure HOW MUCH I'm supposed to give. And even when I am tipping 1 pound, I'm thinking :O $3 gone! $3 gone!
Originally posted by av98m:I've always wanted to do that, but haven't done so :P
Ya I know its like I've always wanted to go to a shop and just tell them "ok.. one of everything on the menu pls! Thanks!"
The closest I have ever been to was when I went to a Cafe with a whole bunch of colleagues, and they allowed me to go and order a slice of every cake available to share :D
I still remember when I had an R&R weekend in bangkok during NS ....
we were lining up to check out at the counter .....
there's this india indian gentleman (bollywood accent) at the desk, dressed in a suit, he was in full froth yelling at the counter staff cos housekeeping informed the desk that most of the beer and liquor mininatures have been consumed .... and he didn't want to pay .... insisting that he didn't touch anything .....
keep going on and on and on ........
till I think the desk offered to let the tourist police mediate in the matter ......
he was a very unhappy man taking out his wallet .... still yelling that he could have gotten a lot more drinks at the 7-11 down the streets, so why would he want to drink anything from the fridge ? .....
lol ......
Good morning...
Originally posted by av98m:I've always wanted to do that, but haven't done so :P
get a full size porky .... .
it's more worth it .... at some place it's even cheaper, ironically, than a baby piggy .....
remember how we were ketok'ed by kian seng when we went for the shark's head and the crab ? ....
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:Ya I know its like I've always wanted to go to a shop and just tell them "ok.. one of everything on the menu pls! Thanks!"
The closest I have ever been to was when I went to a Cafe with a whole bunch of colleagues, and they allowed me to go and order a slice of every cake available to share :D
I've always wanted to say "no no, I want the WHOLE cake, not 1 slice. and yes, I'm eating it here. and no, I'm alone. " :D