Personally wikileaks was neither particularly helpful, nor exactly surprising in the leaked stuff.
But the image of Russian president playing robin hood to the Russian Alpha Dog batman is hilarious.![]()
OK MPB and I signed up for the OCBC Cycle thingy
And I'm playing with my new mouse
anyone tried the NEX-5 before..![]()
No idea when it comes to cameras
KNS I tried something new for my pedicure today and MPB said not nice :(
home... had a yummy salad dinner at javier & salad bar at cineleisure..
the potato salad shiok, the mash potato smooth and nice, the brussel sprout yummy and wedges good :) the chicken soup oso good siah.. the coleslaw i like,
and the service is very good..
one big plate for $8.90
i am going back again!
Ah LF went to Jap cemetery park before?
evening
didn't know NYT published an article over Bolehland's brain drain
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:Ah LF went to Jap cemetery park before?
nt yet leh.. wanna go with me? i'ts near my place somemore..:)
going to sleep liao.. tired.. tmr then post the orchard road pics :) christmas...![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:certain knowledge is not meant for everybody, spilling certain things out will have reprecussions beyond our comprehension. Society functions as such on a very basic level too, you will have certain views and opinions of people that you'd keep only to yourself, or you'd discuss with only a few confidantes, say one day someone spills out your msn conversation history to the world, and everyone else would know what you think of them, vice versa, warts and all, would there be trust between you guys ever again ?
And so it goes up the levels, certain knowledge would have strategic significance that could spell human lives, These dickheads have just made the world a more dangerous place, I doubt if they really understood, or cared, about what they are pretending to be standing for. It's like many of those clueless liberal arty farty types I met in the uni at my elective classes, weed smoking dandies whose favourite website was counterpunch.org and the likes.
And say if you argue, what harm could it do if the world now knows LKY thinks kim jong il is an adulation seeking flabby old fart, then the flipside would be, what good would it have done, in the name of freedom of information, either ? It's just pandering to people's curiosity and voyeuristic streaks, no ? Except that now, perhaps, people like LKY would be a bit more tight-lipped and circumspect, would divulge a lot less, and people and countries in the power game would be more suspicious and distrustful of one another. Remember, wars have been started because of mistrusts, misreadings and suspicions. These dicks are just casual and clueless anarchists, out just for the pleasure of fame and nose-thumbing at authority, nothing more.
And, I repeat again, as much as these air-filled flower-child type like to denigrate uncle sam as the hegemony seeking imperialist badass, there'll come a time pretty soon, when they'll remember uncle sam fondly, warts and all ............ just look today's rags, china squeezing nuts over the nobel peace prize. ......... remember this episode when china ascends to superpowerhood in the next decade .....
Whistleblowing's more often than not beneficial to the general populace. People in power need to reminded once in a while that they cannot get away with corruption. This sort of activity is not borne out of voyeuristic whims but of a distrust for authority which time and again ruins the lives of the people that it is supposed to serve by wiping out savings, destroying livelihoods and denying them better living conditions. You have mad hatters who have their misgivings for just one country, but many more people distrust politicians and the people who run the market as a whole.
It's naive to believe that politicians actually have any trust in one another, and as I've said, this information is probably old news to them thanks to espionage. They're more worried about this information going public and tarnishing their public image. US cables were released, but I don't believe that Wikileaks's beef is solely with that nation, as their past leaks have shown. No one of sound mind is saying that China's a saviour, an angel or a victim.
We are living in a world where people are disillusioned with the systems and constructs of society and are questioning the assumptions about and the trust placed in them. But no, I can't say what's the answer to all these ills and abuses.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Whistleblowing's more often than not beneficial to the general populace. People in power need to reminded once in a while that they cannot get away with corruption. This sort of activity is not borne out of voyeuristic whims but of a distrust for authority which time and again ruins the lives of the people that it is supposed to serve by wiping out savings, destroying livelihoods and denying them better living conditions. You have mad hatters who have their misgivings for just one country, but many more people distrust politicians and the people who run the market as a whole.
It's naive to believe that politicians actually have any trust in one another, and as I've said, this information is probably old news to them thanks to espionage. They're more worried about this information going public and tarnishing their public image. US cables were released, but I don't believe that Wikileaks's beef is solely with that nation, as their past leaks have shown. No one of sound mind is saying that China's a saviour, an angel or a victim.
We are living in a world where people are disillusioned with the systems and constructs of society and are questioning the assumptions about and the trust placed in them. But no, I can't say what's the answer to all these ills and abuses.
oh, come on ... they leaked the cables out of a delight for michief and malice, that's all.
And now it's hit right at home,
http://sgforums.com/forums/3317/topics/417619
compromising our own country's foreign policies, can you still say it's directed solely at embaressing the US ? What good would such information have done ? Towards these dickhead's causes ? Does it goes towards assauging people's distrust of the US goverment ? What good would come out of this, really ? like I said, it's just a bunch of mischevious farktards who just thought it'll be fun to play a prank on the world's authorities, that's all. Whatever they pretend to stand for is just an afterthought for them to pretend to justify their crimes. They had their fun, people in other countries like ours pay for it.
I would love to see the main perpertrators shot, let's start with assange.
Originally posted by Fatum:oh, come on ... they leaked the cables out of a delight for michief and malice, that's all.
compromising our own country's foreign policies, can you still say it's directed solely at embaressing the US ? What good would such information have done ? Towards these dickhead's causes ? Does it goes towards assauging people's distrust of the US goverment ? What good would come out of this, really ? like I said, it's just a bunch of mischevious farktards who just thought it'll be fun to play a prank on the world's authorities, that's all. Whatever they pretend to stand for is just an afterthought for them to pretend to justify their crimes. They had their fun, people in other countries like ours pay for it.
That I agree.
Its discriminate info-giving at best, and the way they hand it out is machiam giving us lollipop.
On a more sinister side, its now obvious the shift of power now went over to the wikileaks people. They are now temporarily empowered with what I wouldn't even consider people power.
who are those coding up mirror sites and hacking at visa anyways ?
looking at those who've outed themselves, they are mostly a bunch of teenagers who learnt how to download a DDoS bot from a "security" forum they've googled up and thought it's so cool when clueless reporters identify them as "high-tech teenage hackers", that's all .....
but of course, to be badged as a bona fide pimpled rebel you must have a cause ....... and wikileaks came along .... I get to flip the bird at authority ! .... I'm sooooo cool ! woohoo !
like those pot smoking flower childs of the seventies, they don't realized that they are undermining the very societies that enable them to get away with such acts.
Originally posted by Fatum:oh, come on ... they leaked the cables out of a delight for michief and malice, that's all.
Okay, revealing what the leaders of countries think of one another may not be beneficial to us, but I still do not think relations will be compromised unless the said leaders are in denial. It's an editorial decision the site's operators made and they may not believe in discriminating the information that they get, but I still want them to expose shit like Trafigura and the Iraq war documents.
Getting Assange isn't going to stop Wikileaks, just as killing terrorist leaders hasn't destroyed the groups. What good does it do to keep the wool pulled over our eyes?
P.S. The title of this article is incredulous (and I don't believe in such 'person of the year' awards) but some of the things written resonate: http://www.deathandtaxesmag.com/39327/julian-assange-man-of-the-year/
let's start tonite's edition now. just back from a spot of grocery shopping.
=> A well-done steak isn't a food choice: it's a crime
i concur.. i support his views.. and he's fricken right!!
Originally posted by the Bear:=> A well-done steak isn't a food choice: it's a crime
i concur.. i support his views.. and he's fricken right!!
INDEED. THAT IS ANIMAL CRUELTY.
we were at CHIJMES last night for the last two acts of Jazz on the Lawn
this is Angelita Li.. she was amazing!!

this is the headliner.. Olivia Ong.. she's not very good ![]()
frankly, IMHO, she can't hold a candle to Angelita Li

Uh..... what if I told you guys that I like mine well done? ![]()
INDEED. THAT IS ANIMAL CRUELTY.
and how many "animals" did you partake in this weekend?
Originally posted by fudgester:Uh..... what if I told you guys that I like mine well done?
*drops anvil*
and how many "animals" did you partake in this weekend?
I wasn't counting but they were all eaten with respect and decency!
wokie, i'm off now. catch up tomorrow morning.