Originally posted by Fatum:I compare owning such machines to owning a ferrari in Singapore .....
Nice to have, turn others green, shiok to use .... but for fark ?
of course, the answer would be .... just so you can ....
By the way, this friend of yours.... what kind of cooling did he use?
I can imagine that it would at least be water-cooled.... I don't see how his machine can survive the summer heat without it. ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:I compare owning such machines to owning a ferrari in Singapore .....
Nice to have, turn others green, shiok to use .... but for fark ?
of course, the answer would be .... just so you can ....
It makes more sense than a ferrari seriously
Originally posted by fudgester:By the way, this friend of yours.... what kind of cooling did he use?
I can imagine that it would at least be water-cooled.... I don't see how his machine can survive the summer heat without it.
cooler master V8 ....
he says he just turn off the heating during the winter ....
he haven't got to summer yet ....
I dunno ..... I'm a software guy, not an hardware guy ...... I don't get that excited by dream hardware specs ....
but why on earth would you need so many monitors for ? ..... they probably watched hacker once too often .....
Watered cooled...
My bro com used to be cooled by engine coolant which we buy from petrol kiosk...
The wierdest cooling systems I've seen is water-cooled, by running the water thru a fishtank...
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:Watered cooled...
My bro com used to be cooled by engine coolant which we buy from petrol kiosk...
The wierdest cooling systems I've seen is water-cooled, by running the water thru a fishtank...
can do that at pinkie's house ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:cooler master V8 ....
he says he just turn off the heating during the winter ....
he haven't got to summer yet ....
My dua sen..... I think he'll be screwed in summer.
Cooler Master v8 has a heat dissipation rate of 180 W.
For comparison, a good clothes iron can emit a power of 1500W. And you can't exactly heat a room efficiently with a clothes iron.
Bottom line? He needs something more efficient than air cooling.
Originally posted by fudgester:24 GB of RAM? WTF?!?!?!
I remember reading about a local gamer whose computer setup takes up an entire HDB bedroom. He had nine (or 16) monitors for him to play flight simulators.....
...... and a liquid nitrogen cooling system in his CPU.
that's the one that boots up winxp in 0.2s?
Originally posted by the Bear:that's the one that boots up winxp in 0.2s?
Can't remember.... It was a few years ago in the Digital Life section of the Straits Times, when they were doing a feature on local hardcore gamers....
i was watching something where they pushed the power button and it was ready.. ![]()
contrast that to the time when in the office, i pushed the power button, went out, ate breakfast, had coffee, came back and it almost ready for me to click on my Lotus Notes ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:i was watching something where they pushed the power button and it was ready..
contrast that to the time when in the office, i pushed the power button, went out, ate breakfast, had coffee, came back and it almost ready for me to click on my Lotus Notes
that sounds like what i was doing every night before i left in the last 2 weeks...on windows 7
Sigh..... one of my students sent his friend to my office to pick up his past assignments.
So this buddy happily waltzes into my office and calls out 'WHERE IS THE TUTOR FOR CLASS XXX?????'
I ordered the fella out of the office and berated him for not showing proper manners.
Freak lah.... even if the fella doesn't know my name, he should at least politely ask someone in the office instead of hollering out and disturbing everyone! ![]()
i wonder.. because the new recruits at work now all behave as if they are the centre of their own universes...
and most of them have this attitude of entitlement..
Originally posted by fudgester:24 GB of RAM? WTF?!?!?!
I remember reading about a local gamer whose computer setup takes up an entire HDB bedroom. He had nine (or 16) monitors for him to play flight simulators.....
...... and a liquid nitrogen cooling system in his CPU.
24 GB of RAM? smlj. Windows can't even utilise that much. Can it?
Originally posted by fudgester:Sigh..... one of my students sent his friend to my office to pick up his past assignments.
So this buddy happily waltzes into my office and calls out 'WHERE IS THE TUTOR FOR CLASS XXX?????'
I ordered the fella out of the office and berated him for not showing proper manners.
Freak lah.... even if the fella doesn't know my name, he should at least politely ask someone in the office instead of hollering out and disturbing everyone!
so did the "actual" student show up to collect his work yet?
Check this out:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa366778%28v=vs.85%29.aspx#physical_memory_limits_windows_7
Windows 7 does support that amount of memory..... surprise!! :D
Originally posted by cassie:so did the "actual" student show up to collect his work yet?
I gave the marked assignments to the fella..... then I gave him a bloody tongue-lashing....
I don't care who he thinks he is, but you just don't waltz into your someone's office without an appointment and holler for the person you're meeting without even knowing his name or what he looks like.
I'm not trying to exhibit a superiority complex here, I'm just saying that what he did was akin to an office worker waltzing into the company's management offices and hollering 'WHO'S THE HEAD OF THE DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE??????'
how much memory did you expect? just curious
*sneaky grin*
hey there SC! how was school today?
tiring... very very tiring :(
I'm struggling not to fall asleep....at my desk now kekek
but I guess u r still at work?! So I better don't complain so much...
24GB RAM? Sounds like it'll do my renderings in double-quick time. ![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:My dua sen..... I think he'll be screwed in summer.
Cooler Master v8 has a heat dissipation rate of 180 W.
For comparison, a good clothes iron can emit a power of 1500W. And you can't exactly heat a room efficiently with a clothes iron.
Bottom line? He needs something more efficient than air cooling.
well, we'll see .... it says there i7 extreme is one of the supported processors for the V8 though.
maybe i should tell him to get some fire insureance .... ![]()
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:tiring... very very tiring :(
I'm struggling not to fall asleep....at my desk now kekek
but I guess u r still at work?! So I better don't complain so much...
just got home! whew! whew!
morning everyone~~~
TGIF~~~